We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mirgul from Turkey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 21555, Kazanchis Business District | Kirkos Subcity 17/18, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Addis Ababa
istanbul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mirgul from Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

i have stayed in radisson hotel for several times and everytime i feel great and excellent!
All of the people are so hospitality and you feel home...
I can highly recommend to you to stay in Radisson blue when you come to Addis

thanks for eveything...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    94
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
18
6
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had no pick up when we arrived to Addis airport after transAtlantic flight although it was prearranged. After waiting for almost 2 hours and multiple phone calls they sent a van.
We also arranged a van to bring us back to the airport at the end of our trip. When we got to the front desc, 4 hours after arrangement was made, the staff had no knowledge of it.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Restaurant has a good breakfast buffet as well as dinner options and buffet. The service in the restaurant is slow so keep it in mind when ordering a la carte.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Radisson Addis for three days in November 2012. My overall impression is that the hotel is excellent. That is, of course, as it should be. However, there have been a few things that me and my colleagues who stayed there felt should be improved. The first one is that the airport shuttle was not in place when we arrived despite prior confirmation from the concierge. The management claimed the shuttle was there but we apparently didn't get it and had to settle for a 1980s old rickety taxi cab. Next problem was the reception desk where we had to wait standing for nearly half an hour as one of the receptionists was dealing with a guest and the other reception was not attended by anyone. This was a really frustrating experience especially as there aren't even some armchairs where we can rest while waiting. Then there is the problem with the parking. As the hotel is located along a busy street there are very few parking spots. The hotel offers valet service but it is not convenient to use valet service when you are staying at the hotel and need to use your car frequently. Lastly I personally found the location of the bar not appealing particularly if you want to sit at the stools. There is a door to the kitchen right next to the bar and hotel staff are frequently going in and out behind you carrying large trays. That not only ruins your night but could very well ruin your suit if one of them accidentally trips and spill a bottle of oil on you. Despite these however the rooms are superb and the location is very central. At the rate of USD 265 we paid it is not particularly cheap especially as that didn't include breakfast for which we had to pay an extra 20. We were of course duly informed of this so no complaints in that regard but visitors should check if their rate included breakfast or not.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Have just spent 6 nights at this hotel and it has been a most comfortable stay. Staff are polite and friendly. Front desk efficient. Above all the manager is keen to ensure that guests have a good experience. The only downside is that there is a gym but no swimming pool. Overall though, very good and not as expensive as the Sheriton.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent service and very comfortable. Staff are all polite to a fault. Lunch buffet is excellent. Great wi-fi in rooms, too. Front desk staff are verfy polite and I found them to be efficient and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in Addis. It has the slowest reception-staff on earth. Both on in-check and out-check. The hotel had mixed up the written reservation for me and gave me a no-show status and cancellation..... Nice outside bar area and buffet

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a total of 4 nights at the Radisson Blu in Addis in Oct/Nov 2012 and will definitely go back to this hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet is a dream, rooms are spacious and well appointed, ATMs are available in lobby (including cash withdrawal on credit card). There is also a bar with creative drinks and a coffee shop. Laundry service is efficient and able to handle sensitive materials.
Best of all: I got to keep my room on checkout day till 6 p.m., without additional charge! Hotel is also well situated for Great Ethiopian Run - just 10 minutes' walk to the start.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Address: P.O. Box 21555, Kazanchis Business District | Kirkos Subcity 17/18, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#1 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa is ideally located in the heart of the Ethiopian capital, also known as the capital city of Africa and host city for the African Union. This Addis Ababa hotel is perfect for meeting delegates to the United Nations Conference Centre (UNCC), which is situated next door. A stylishly modern hotel, the Radisson Blu Addis Ababa offers a vibrant feel and top-of-the-line amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet access, flat-screen television and plush surroundings. Guests can also enjoy on-site international dining, a fitness centre and chic lounge. Four upscale treatment rooms also allow guests the utmost in relaxation at the Rainforest Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.