We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Blu Addis is excellent value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 21555, Kazanchis Business District | Kirkos Subcity 17/18, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #2 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Radisson Blu Addis is excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a total of 4 nights at the Radisson Blu in Addis in Oct/Nov 2012 and will definitely go back to this hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet is a dream, rooms are spacious and well appointed, ATMs are available in lobby (including cash withdrawal on credit card). There is also a bar with creative drinks and a coffee shop. Laundry service is efficient and able to handle sensitive materials.
Best of all: I got to keep my room on checkout day till 6 p.m., without additional charge! Hotel is also well situated for Great Ethiopian Run - just 10 minutes' walk to the start.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    91
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
18
6
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is the newest in Addis Ababa and seems to be catching on. Provides free internet and very good amenities in the rooms. The shower is not well designed and water leaks out on the bathroom floor in all the rooms. The food prices are high but the food is good. The room does not have a separate bed sheet, other than the duvet which makes sleeping quite cumbersome if one is not cold. My biggest problem is with the system of check-out - it simply does not function. The front desk people seem to want to help but it seems that they are unable to since the system is the worst I have seen or the check-out clerks have not been trained properly on it. We nearly missed our flight due to the myriad problems which came up at the check-out. Sheraton Addis is a bit costlier but could be a better option for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very good hotel for business trips. Proper new Radisson Blu that could be in any european city, so you know what to expect if you have stayed at Radisson hotels before.
Very well managed, very good service.The manager even had the time to sit with us during breakfast to ask questions about what we think and what could be improved, so management really considers feedback from guest.
Excellent internet connection and best connection in Addis hotels.
Very good value for money if you consider next hotel up is the Sheraton.
Breakfast is very good and very similar to other Radisson hotels I've stayed.
The rooms are modern, on the small side, but it depends on how much time you spend in your room.
The SPA is very good. I was happy with the service
Only down point is that they could do with a nicer outside area, you feel walled in and it is very small.
No swimmingpool
I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jkt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Late check out policy scheme is just a marketing gimmick,

When u ask the reception they will reply u with a nasty face n unfriendly one! Hey for u ppl at the reception READ ur hotel promotion , no need to reply us with a unfriendly face and only say IMPOSSIBLE SIR!

Remember we are paying for ur service and no need that nasty face, u could just say politely n xplain it is not available due to the availability , we r an educated guests, we understand if IT IS NOT AVAILBLE.

Overall the service are excellent only the ppl at the reception need to understand that we stay at radisson blu are paying n not staying for free.

Room Tip: Forget bout the late check out don't even bother ask them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good property overall that is only surpassed in terms of comfort and service by the Sheraton, which is pricier. Certainly a breath of fresh air from Hilton.

Good breakfast and overall dining options. Nice conference room facilities. Slow but friendly check in / check out. Very attentive staff overall to the exception of night Manager who could use a bit of friendliness or at the very least politeness when alerting a frequent guest that hotel will charge half a day rate for late check out. This is the “hot” new property in town and it seems as though management is not yet empowered to use discretion when applying such policy (if hotel is full I understand but if not would expect a commercial gesture for a repeat customer or at least politeness).
Lack of choice in Addis means that I will be back until I can find a better option, a nice and new property is no substitute for customer service.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First let me start by saying that I will write this review based on Ethiopean standards, not European. It is my second time in Addis, and I have stayed in 4 hotels, in total (from 4star o guest house).

The Radisson, is really nice, the staff polite, standards are very high, it is clean, the food is good and the breakfast offers a wide choice. Of course don't expect to find the perfect bread or croissant, somehow they dont taste the same as the butter does not taste the same. This may not necessarily be good or bad. Just different. I tried the spa and I was happy, although the maniciour place is rather small and grim.

wi-fi works very well, the room although not super big it was of good size (our room must be one of the small ones) nonetheless when you see the crisply ironed sheets and a bathroom with tab and shower, dry cleaning, nice big TV etc etc etc, you are very much content. At least I was. My husband isnt overly fussed with these things.

Overall a veyy enjoyable experience. The only bad thing was the pillows. Very fluffy, I could not relax in them. Too big.

Room Tip: I really fo not know which rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Colney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A good alternative to the Sheraton which dominated the luxury hotel scene in Addis Ababa for a good few years. I liked the modern design and very comfortable bed and bedding material of super quality. Can't beat a good night sleep and I slept better in this hotel than the Sheraton in which I frequently stayed for the last five years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Address: P.O. Box 21555, Kazanchis Business District | Kirkos Subcity 17/18, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
#1 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#1 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa is ideally located in the heart of the Ethiopian capital, also known as the capital city of Africa and host city for the African Union. This Addis Ababa hotel is perfect for meeting delegates to the United Nations Conference Centre (UNCC), which is situated next door. A stylishly modern hotel, the Radisson Blu Addis Ababa offers a vibrant feel and top-of-the-line amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet access, flat-screen television and plush surroundings. Guests can also enjoy on-site international dining, a fitness centre and chic lounge. Four upscale treatment rooms also allow guests the utmost in relaxation at the Rainforest Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Rezidor, Tingo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.