We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Addis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoly Addis Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yoly Addis Hotel
Save
You added Yoly Addis Hotel to your Saves list
Mike Leyland Street | P.O.Box 5668, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 119 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Addis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you want to avoid the highly priced major chain hotels in Ethiopia's capital, Yoly is a good alternative. Less than 10 min from the airport and near to many embassies and other destinations in the city, this relatively small boutique hotel offers friendly service, spacious and clean rooms with nice furniture and hardwood floors (no old carpeting!), decent bathrooms as well as free internet and breakfast. Beds are good, the only thing that could disturb your sleep are noises from the residential neighborhoods but this can be an issue in many Addis hotels. I made the reservation request through their website and got fast response. They sent a car to pick me up at the airport - the return transfer is not included but a taxi costs only about US$ 6. My room did not have AC but the windows open and nights in Addis are cool so the room temperature was fine for me.

An ATM is in the building, several restaurants, coffee shops etc nearby (turn right when you step out of the hotel). Several small bars to the left are of the red-light type, so don't get too close as a single male unless you know what you might be getting into. But everything is peaceful and safe, I never had any security problems in Addis. The building in which the hotel occupies the floors 5-7 has its own 24 hour security.

Room Tip: Yoly describes the room types on their websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had a prearranged booking but when I arrived I was informed that the initially agreed price was increased by more than 30 USD. This was quite disappointing and in my opinion very unprofessional. The hotel had my e mail address and could have easily informed me of the change. Apart from this problem the place is good overall. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It also had a stove although with no cookery I wondered what guests are supposed to do with it. The reception is at the fifth floor right on the corridor to the rooms. I found this rather awkward particularly with so many girls at the reception who are giggling whenever a guest comes in and gets out. The restaurant has very little choice and no Ethiopian food. The breakfast is very basic and perhaps too basic for the price they are charging. Despite this however I would definitely consider staying there again if they promise not to increase the price upon my arrival.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is in a very good location. It has good view especially from the terrace lounge. Nice service. The hotel also offers good spa services. The disc on the second floor is nice place to hang out on weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The hotel is clean and the staff are very help full. I recomend this hotel as one of the best
Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Well, I always judge a business or company by the way they present themselves on their website, and Yoly Hotel has a halfway decent website, while the pictures could be a little clearer its not bad. My wife had her uncle book the hotel room, and I stayed in this suite for a total of 7 days, its a new hotel so everything was sparkling clean, nice carpet beautiful furniture and a very nice shower and bathroom. Lots of hot water it was very nice with the exception of one major issue, and I have found this to be true at a few hotels in addis ababa. The bed was hard as a rock, litterally it was like somebody took clean white sheets and laid them over a slab of cement, it was square and aestheticlly pleasing but you would have to be dead to rest comfortably on it. Its a shame because i ended up sleeping on the couch most nights which severly dampened my stay with my wife. The staff was great and the location is pretty decent its close to bole and several other ameneties, also they provide a breakfast buffet every morning, but this is not an american style hotel. While they are trying it is just not there yet. Oh yeah, I was on the 8th floor and could still hear the club bumpin all night long, that sucked, but I think they have since closed the club. Oh yeah the internet didnt work well, and make sure you bring cash cause their visa machines was down everyday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

the ladies at reception just sit around and talk with each other file thier nails and look pretty dont answer phones and are rude. Rooms are very beautiful though

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yoly Addis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoly Addis Hotel

Address: Mike Leyland Street | P.O.Box 5668, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel service ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoly Addis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.