We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Ethiopia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Global Hotel

Global Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Global Hotel to your Saves list
Global Hotel
Debrezit Road | PO Box 255465, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for Ethiopia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I do not know what whould you expect from a developing country but even though Global does not meet Western Standards, it is a decent Hotel close to Airport and center. Rooms are large enough with sufficient hygiene, had hot water and some English Chanels on TV probably broadcasting from Mid East. Ther is also an Italian eatery and a grill right next to the Hotel, which the restaurant and breakfast did not satisfy at all.

Furnishing ws old, business center was okay and staff was quite helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
4
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oman
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I have Just returned from Addis Ababa, checked in the Global on 23 Jan 10, room 607 was initially allocated to me. The shower never worked, water was trickling and no constant hot water supply. After complaining the hotel tried to fix it but still did not improve. Another room (603) was given the next day, shower slightly better. I found the rooms not very clean, the paint on the walls run down, towels are dirty. Generally the staff are trying hard to please but with the conditions that the rooms are, its a loosing battle. I am very surprised that the hotel is graded as 4 star!!! As most of the hotels are fully booked due to an AU summit I had to cut short my visit. The printer in the business center never worked.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Hotel used only on nights before flights back home, so I cannot write a complete report.
Even if the structure is old, rooms are clean, bathrooms are really ok and well equipped, cleanliness is appropriate. Breakfast and dinner are in the mid-range, but restaurant and bar are nice above all for the interior decorations.

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Global Hotel is great! I went there with my boyfriend and two colleagues of him, first for two nights and after a tour to the North of the country for two other nights, always in a twin bed double room with private bathroom and a little balcony. The rooms had a good size and were always clean, the price was fair ( US $ 58 per night). In the lobby there is free internet access and in the cellar you can find a sauna and a steam bath (unfortunately I did not find the time to go there). The airport shuttle works well and also the breakfast has been always very good, such as other meals I had in the hotel restaurant.
The staff is always present and very helpful, when I had a medical problem on the last day they gave me free shuttle service to the next hospital and pharmacy. The fact that these were close by makes another advantage of Global Hotel.
Even at night you can always find easily a taxi in front of the hotel, the staff will give you advice if you want to find a good restaurant or bar of your choice in the city centre. But there are also some restaurants for lunch or coffee close by. In conclusion, Global Hotel is an excellent choice if you are looking for a hotel in Addis Abeba with western comfort and class, but also with a very Ethiopian flair.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I slept 5 nights in the Global Hotel, I can recommend the hotel for many reasons:
- Quality of the room; very big, tv, telephone, room service, big bathroom
- Services: airport shuttle (included in the price), good restaurant, a shop where it is possible buy guide, souvenirs, mobile card, free internet and wi fi.
-People: all the staff is very friendly and they helped me to find good restaurant, reserve me table for the dinner, pub and club, they helped me to find a good doctor and clinic for health problems with

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

the internet connection was a little slow but that's pretty par for the course in addis. apartfrom that, the place was great. the service was very friendly and they dont jack up the room service prices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Global Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Hotel

Address: Debrezit Road | PO Box 255465, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Global Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.