We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice welcome to Ethiopia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ararat Hotel

Ararat Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ararat Hotel to your Saves list
Ararat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dessie Road | P O Box 155, Addis Ababa 1000-155, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A nice welcome to Ethiopia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

If you're arriving to Addis Ababa for the first time you could do a lot worse than the Ararat.
The staff is very kind and ready to help with all your needs and the restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. They also managed to serve us breakfast at 6.00am - something some top hotels (the Sheraton on the Park in Sydney, Australia springs to mind) fail to provide.
The location is a bit far from the city center, but on the plus side, it is in a relatively quiet spot, near the Finnish and Turkish embassies.
While the room is quite simple and the furniture looks a bit dated, it does provide all the basics and we found it comfortable enough.
On the whole, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at the Ararat again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    0
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

The hotel has a nice restuarant, meeting room and lobby areas. The staff was very accomodating making for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Our group of 21 people had nothing but compliments for the hotel and staff, from airport pick up to drop off. Staff was prompt, polite and efficient. Restaurant food was tasty and good value. Off the street location and spacious grounds provide a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I didn't know what to expect in Addis Ababa. I stayed at this hotel with a group from the USA. I travel a lot for business and am pretty picky about where I like to stay. I can't say enough about the helpful staff at the Ararat. Upon arrival I realized I had lost something and needed to call the US. When the phone number didn't work on my cell phone the front desk clerk offered me her cell phone. The rooms are comfortable and clean.
I ate most of my meals in the hotel and appreciated the variety in the menu. I enjoyed visting the rooftop, but would have preferred to have a place to sit and enjoy the view. All in all I was very pleased with my stay at the Ararat.

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — All was good.
  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Enjoyed our stay in in Addis Abeba, fine staff couldn't be much nicer!
Rooms are fine, nothing fancy but they work. Restaurant offers fine dinning at very resaonable prices along with traditional Ethiopian dinning. I had many selections from the extensive menu, all were very good!
Terraces and roof top could be improved with tables and chairs to enjoy the view.
Breakfasts were enjoyed accompanied with their fine coffee, and nice assortment of foods and freash juice.
They made our large group feel fight at home!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Located outside the city of Addis Abeba, the hotel lies on a small hill. The view of the city (especially from the roof) is therefore very nice. The place is quiet, although not located downtown (you have to take a taxi to go downtown).
Hotel team is very preventing and always available to help you. There is a free wireless connection available but it was not always working during my stay.
Shuttle service from/to the airport to the hotel was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We were a party of 11 - teenagers to pensioners - attending a family event. The Ararat got the thumbs up from us all! The staff were unfailingly helpful, and friendly. We enjoyed the rooms, the food, the view. (Do not miss the separate Ethiopian restaurant - we nearly did)
Ararat is not in a central position - so, quiet and relaxing - but a bit of a drive to the centre of Addis (our only minor quibble, which should improve when the ring road is completed.)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ararat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ararat Hotel

Address: Dessie Road | P O Box 155, Addis Ababa 1000-155, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:3 star — Ararat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ararat Hotel, Luxury hotel in Addis Ababa Ethiopia, is away from the noise of traffic and clamor of the city of Addis, perched on a hill with a gorgeous view, and a few minutes drive from the city center, Located on Dessie road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ararat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ararat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.