We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting your auntie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaba's Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbaba's Villa
Yeka #436, Addis Ababa 0304, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 110 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Like visiting your auntie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Abbaba's Villa for 4 nights while attending a conference in Addis Ababa. We booked two joined rooms, which was perfect for our family. The house is unique in many ways: from eclectic decor to off-the-beaten-path location to warmth of the people who work there... Waking up in the morning, we just had a feeling that we are visiting a distant aunt in her country house - it's just this cozy, warm and welcoming feeling. The breakfast was very good (though if you stay for a while, some variety would have been nice. That said, all tenants were welcome to use the fridge and bring their favorite foods to the table) and we ate several delicious dinners at the house. We brought our 18-month old daughter with us and she enjoyed the horses and the large yard, as well as playing with other kids and exploring all the mysteries of the house. The location was a bit far from town, but the conference provided a shuttle and it was fun to see the parts of Addis on the way to Abbaba's that we wouldn't have otherwise seen- the life of the ordinary Addis residents, away from the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely B&B. Set outside the city center, the grounds were lovely and the house exudes atmosphere. Fabulous meals and very friendly service. Felt like a home away from home. As with most Ethiopian hotels, good earplugs are useful for light sleepers. Perfect for the traveler who wants to get away from it all & does not mind a taxi ride into the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Ababa´s Villa, which is situated on a hill in the northeastern part of Addis. There are a lot of eucalyptus trees and it is very quiet. The whole stay was a big pleasure. The slogan of the guesthouse "love, peace and respect to all" is alive and we felt it during our stay. Jeruz is such a kind host and toghether with her team, she made our stay unforgetable. We enjoyed the garden, the terrace and of course our spacious room. The bathroom was luxury and very clean. The breakfast was fantastic and we loved to have the possiblity to enjoy dinner at Ababa´s Villa, which was delicious. Our son fell in love with one of the dogs called Buddy. The convenient stay and the big help from Jeruz was a big present for us. We will come back again!
Silvia, Peter and Nico from Austria

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for a place in Addis where you immediately feel like home then Abbaba´s villa is the place to stay. The owner Eyerusalem is an affectionate open-minded woman who makes you feel welcome at once. She has decorated the house diligently with old furniture and some newly bought antiques that give you a good impression of Ethiopian handicraft. It is also nice to sit outside on the patio and have breakfast. Eyerusalem has a very good cook, Worke, dinner (mostly vegetarian) was always great! There are also six dogs and one horse on the big compound. The fact that we quite often didn´t have power or water during our 2 week-stay was made up for by Eyerusalem and her staff more than enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in January, at the end of our stay in Ethiopia. Abbaba's villa is just as others describe it. Jerusalem the owner is absolutely charming and really is welcoming you into her ancestral home; the public rooms are full of furniture, antiques and memorabilia from her family's past and could not feel less like a hotel. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, the bed was unbelievably comfortable (we were in one of the standard doubles which was perfect for our needs) and the setting, on a hill outside central Addis, is green and spacious.
The pros: Jerusalem herself - very warm and friendly, and speaks excellent English; The tranquil atmosphere.
The cons: you need to get a taxi or tuktuk into the centre of town (this is really easy and probably outweighed by the peace and clean air up on the hill); the buffet breakfast would benefit from more fruit or fruit juice.
Minor points, both of these - would definitely recommend

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed for 2,5 weeks in this guesthouse. We can really recommend this place. Especially if you are travelling with children. It is a compound with in the middle a villa with a large livingroom, terrace, veranda, gardens, etc. It has only five rooms for guests. Everything groundfloor. Very quiet. Very save, Our daughter (almost three years old) was all day playing around, looking for the little dogs, etc.
Eyarusalem (owner), Worki (great cook, we loved her lentil soup), Tesfay (doorman) and Martha are a great team. They really do everything to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

it was our 8th time in addis but the first time in abbabas villa.it was a fantastic experiance.
we were there with 4 adults and 5 childeren we all enjoid it verry mutch our youngest son (he is 6)still misses the house and the horses.the kitchen is great (workenish is a fabilous coock)
if you want you can use the kitchen your self and workenish helps you as many as possible. all you wish she makes it .the rooms are perfect and you have always hot water .the terras outsite is a little paredise.we only can thanks eyarusalem,workenish,tesfay and martha .there are now a little bit family.

Room Tip: all the rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbaba's Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaba's Villa

Also Known As:
Abbaba`s Villa Hotel
Abbaba`s Villa Hotel Addis Ababa
Address: Yeka #436, Addis Ababa 0304, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbaba’s Villa has five (5) large contemporary style bedrooms, each individually decorated in Ethiopian and European style, offering guests a comfortable and friendly stay. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped with all the luxuries needed. The rooms have comfortable beds, an en-suite bathroom with hot shower, side desks, closet, and of course pure silk filled duvets to make your stay extremely comfortable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaba's Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Abbaba's Villa to your Saves list