We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience @ Bole Ambasador Hotel, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bole Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bole Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Bole Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Navsari, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience @ Bole Ambasador Hotel, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

@ just a stone throwing distance from Addis Ababa, Bole International Airport, Bole Ambassador Hotel is a wonderful place to stay with sheer luxury & peace of mind.

The newly laid wing is surely a great taste of luxury, wonderful ambiance & super comfort with ultimate furnishing, specious reception lounge which can add value to your money.

Right from the upper level general manager and front office staff, all were quite co-operative to look & take care for our comfort & satisfaction & ask our feedback how they can improve their management & service concerns.

Our stay @ Ambassador was a nice experience & most evening business meetings @ reception lounge made a great value to our business partners. So, overall, it was a great feeling to stay @ Ambassador Hotel & would suggest all business travelers to visit once for stay with high comfort & luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
4
12
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Bole Ambassador is almost within walking distance of the airport. Since flights to Gondar, Lalibela, and Axum leave before 8:00 in the morning, the hotel's location is a big plus. However, walking is unnecessary. The hotel has a kiosk in the airport and a representative will meet guests with reservations; a van will take guests to and from the hotel.

Accommodations are two-room suites: living room and bedroom plus kitchenette. The bathroom is small, but hot -- very hot -- water is almost instantaneous. Housekeeping is thorough and my suite was immaculate each day. Because I've yet to stay in an Ethiopian hotel that had central heating -- even the Hilton lacks it -- I called the desk and an electric space heater was promptly delivered.

The staff is friendly and helpful. I had forgotten to pack an AC adapter; the front desk supplied one. A good, complementary breakfast is served; other meals are decent, though with a very limited menu, and room service is also available.

The hotel also offers free wifi (the Hilton charges US$13 for 24 hours' access).

Best of all, the rate is just over US$100 per night, a bargain for a good hotel in Addis.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, A and B. The front desk and restaurant are in A, which tends to get very bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Besides the location and type of room the hotel in itself was a pleasant place to be at (besides the fact that..south side rooms are better than the north facing rooms). The staff were very friendly and helpful, while the rooms clean and quite comfortable. The added value of kitchen and free internet (which is slow nevertheless).
The good thing of this hotel is that even though the hotel is located right beside a road it doesnt seem as noisy as some of the other hotels in the vicinity are. Moreso the guests of the hotel didnt seem very noisy either.
The gym is oddly located (basement, adjacent to the parking..good luck breathing in the smoke if youd like to get some fresh air in), but atleast its got a gym while the equipment is clean and maintained.
Food at the hotel is average, but you do have a varied choice as there are a number of restaurants in walking distances from the hotel.

The management of the hotel was kind enough to host me longer beyond my check-out time as i had a late flight to catch. Very generous of them.

All in all a nice pleasant stay and thanks to the hotel management for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are indeed quieter (lets just hope construction is completed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What do you say about this hotel appox 10 mins drive from the airport by hotel shuttle van .
The hotel is split into blocks A and B with each appox 7 floors on each floor appox 4/5 rooms.
The room i stayed in was 3rd floor and upon entering the room it was suite w with kitchen with 2 electric hobs plus fridge the main bedroom had large king size bed leading on to balcony the .Down on the ground floor they a dinnring room and bar. The food was good quqlity and service was good In the reciption area the floor tiles were covered with traditional local rushes which was nice touch

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

just 3 minutes from the airport and off the busy bole street, its a quaint hotel with good facilities, a good gymnasium, good restaurant, a staff thats eager to cater, nice suites, business center is good, internet is slow but manageable, at the front desk people make sure ur stay is pleasent, i wish i had stayed here before, there is a note on the table that states, if u want anything to be fixed or have any complaints, it will be fixed immediately, that makes a strong statement to the commitment of hospitality. breakfast was not a big spread but a good one. airport transfers comfortable.
the only thing i could ask for is if there is a hot water kettle in the kitchenette and probably a television in the bed room, other than that, its a nice hotel which provides what it promises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Food in the restaurant is fine. Unfortunately the hotel is surrounded by building sites but presumably this is temporary.Internet free in the rooms in the mean time there is on guy at the Reception i forget his name he is helpful also he every were,he make your stay easy and smooth with smile.Rooms are a spacious with separate bedroom and sitting room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Bole Ambassador is a good hotel near the airport. The rooms are spacious, though the furnishings are outdated. There are 2 buildings and I think the newer building has more newer looking rooms. But I stayed in the old building, so I can only talk about that.
The gym is good and the business center is also well made. Wi-fi has decent speed though skype might be a little difficult at times.
Food is of good quality and the staff is courteous. But there are no toiletries in the washrooms. So you have to carry your own shampoo, body lotions etc... This is the only negative point that I found about Bole...
Otherwise, thumbs up...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.8 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#7 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#19 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#20 of 81 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
1.3 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#8 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#26 of 81 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bole Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bole Ambassador Hotel

Address: Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bole Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBASSADOR Hotel is a four star hotel located in a walking distance from Bole international Airport and a door step to the millennium hall. It is also surrounded by tourist attractions, shopping malls, ticketing Offices, entertainment establishments, Embassies and International Organizations. AMBASSADOR Hotel is free from noise and visual pollution which gives your guests safety and comfort. Our newly opened expansion increase our capacity to 123 luxuriously appointed deluxe rooms and suites that feature high speed WI-FI internet access, satellite TV and amenities to present you with the perfect balance of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bole Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bole Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.