We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant indeed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bole Ambassador Hotel Apartment

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bole Ambassador Hotel Apartment
Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Besides the location and type of room the hotel in itself was a pleasant place to be at (besides the fact that..south side rooms are better than the north facing rooms). The staff were very friendly and helpful, while the rooms clean and quite comfortable. The added value of kitchen and free internet (which is slow nevertheless).
The good thing of this hotel is that even though the hotel is located right beside a road it doesnt seem as noisy as some of the other hotels in the vicinity are. Moreso the guests of the hotel didnt seem very noisy either.
The gym is oddly located (basement, adjacent to the parking..good luck breathing in the smoke if youd like to get some fresh air in), but atleast its got a gym while the equipment is clean and maintained.
Food at the hotel is average, but you do have a varied choice as there are a number of restaurants in walking distances from the hotel.

The management of the hotel was kind enough to host me longer beyond my check-out time as i had a late flight to catch. Very generous of them.

All in all a nice pleasant stay and thanks to the hotel management for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are indeed quieter (lets just hope construction is completed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
2
8
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What do you say about this hotel appox 10 mins drive from the airport by hotel shuttle van .
The hotel is split into blocks A and B with each appox 7 floors on each floor appox 4/5 rooms.
The room i stayed in was 3rd floor and upon entering the room it was suite w with kitchen with 2 electric hobs plus fridge the main bedroom had large king size bed leading on to balcony the .Down on the ground floor they a dinnring room and bar. The food was good quqlity and service was good In the reciption area the floor tiles were covered with traditional local rushes which was nice touch

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

just 3 minutes from the airport and off the busy bole street, its a quaint hotel with good facilities, a good gymnasium, good restaurant, a staff thats eager to cater, nice suites, business center is good, internet is slow but manageable, at the front desk people make sure ur stay is pleasent, i wish i had stayed here before, there is a note on the table that states, if u want anything to be fixed or have any complaints, it will be fixed immediately, that makes a strong statement to the commitment of hospitality. breakfast was not a big spread but a good one. airport transfers comfortable.
the only thing i could ask for is if there is a hot water kettle in the kitchenette and probably a television in the bed room, other than that, its a nice hotel which provides what it promises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Food in the restaurant is fine. Unfortunately the hotel is surrounded by building sites but presumably this is temporary.Internet free in the rooms in the mean time there is on guy at the Reception i forget his name he is helpful also he every were,he make your stay easy and smooth with smile.Rooms are a spacious with separate bedroom and sitting room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Bole Ambassador is a good hotel near the airport. The rooms are spacious, though the furnishings are outdated. There are 2 buildings and I think the newer building has more newer looking rooms. But I stayed in the old building, so I can only talk about that.
The gym is good and the business center is also well made. Wi-fi has decent speed though skype might be a little difficult at times.
Food is of good quality and the staff is courteous. But there are no toiletries in the washrooms. So you have to carry your own shampoo, body lotions etc... This is the only negative point that I found about Bole...
Otherwise, thumbs up...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay there. It's close to the main road. Plus it's in a safe location. Wifi is pretty good. Breakfast included. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I spent 5 great nights at the Bole Ambassador back in July. I really do not think you can beat the quality of this hotel for the price. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the full breakfast that is included with the room cost is very good.

The best part, for me, was the freshly pulled espresso they served up in the lobby restaurant every morning. You simply cannot beat Ethiopian coffee!

The wireless internet was pretty consistent. There were a few times where it would stop working intermittently, but it would come back on quickly. The speed of the connection was pretty good.

The location is very good - close to the airport and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. I enjoyed my stay very much and am bummed that they are sold out for my trip back in a couple of weeks!

Room Tip: A high floor opposite the road (it can get a little noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bole Ambassador Hotel Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bole Ambassador Hotel Apartment

Address: Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bole Ambassador Hotel Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bole Ambassador Hotel Apartment to your Saves list