We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Addis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harmony Hotel to your Saves list
Harmony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
CERTIFIED ISO 9001:2008
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Addis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am just on my way back home after a week in the Harmony. The hotel is very good. They are building a new wing for the hotel. At least two of the 6 floors are complete and these are the best rooms to have. The room I stayed in had not been used before, which was good. It was clean, but the furniture had obviously been put in rather hastily - the wardrobe was not pushed to its proper place, which exposed unfinished plaster. There were various minor problems like that. It did not detract from the comfort of the room, which was very good. A nice clean comfortable bed, excellent television system the best I have seen in any hotel anywhere in the world and clean bathroom.

As mentioned in previous reports, a large part of the hotel is a building site. The building work did not happen at night or early mornings, so noise was not an issue for sleeping. When the pool is finished, that will be welcome.

The restaurant is OK. Breakfast is good with a wide selection. Buffet dinner is just OK. The bar on the top floor is not that good.

The area immediately around the hotel is safe enough. All of the businesses have their own security. There a re also some good restaurants and bars nearby. Do be wary of walking in less busy areas. Pickpockets are a problem. Keep valuables in secure pockets. Some of the young children that are selling things are really pickpockets. If you are offered something on a tray, watch their other hand which will be under the tray trying your pocket.

Room Tip: Use the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    90
    51
    21
    12
See reviews for
16
17
31
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel I had booked was double booked, so came here instead. They were very good at reception, getting me a Queen room at single room rate. Hotel was clean, even though there was some buiding work going on. I had a room in the newer section of the hotel, it was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable - good sized room too. Food was firly good at breakfast, with a large selection. Staff were all good. Area around th hotel seemed fine, lots of building sites around, but that seems to be Addis at the moment.
Overall very pleased that other hotel was overbooked

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the hotel are large. Haggle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Dalkeith
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arrived in Addid Ababa from Seychells in transit but our flight to heathrow wasnt until the next morning. Ethiopia provided a hotel and transfers and transit visa for us free of charge due to the wait for connections but the airline didnt tell us this so always check with them.

I had already booked Thw Harmony hotel before we travelled so we didnt use the airline hotel. We carried on through imigration and collected our bags. You then go through security again with all your bags getting scanned.

Once through, the hotel dest is on the left, we had a 10 minute wait for the transfers which was no hassel. Its only 10 miutes to the hotel and you are greeted by the red carpet and bell boys to collect your bags.

Check in was easy and we were on 5th floor, the bags were taken there for us. The rooms are nice and clean, very comfortable beds. Our TV didnt work and we reported it to reception. A while later they called back to say it was a system problem but we could hear the rooms either side of us using their TVs, very strange and maintenece still didnt arrive. Our neighbours were also very very loud.

Breakfast is lovely, plenty choice and really tasty.

Check out was easy and we were transfered back to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was in Hilton Addis but due to bad service my frined advised me to change to Harmony

Actual is much better than Hilton and i advise any one to coming to Addis to book in this hotel

If u want to book ask for the new building

Completely nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived in Addis Ababa late at night, and as advertised, the hotel does offer a free shuttle to the hotel from the airport. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. The Harmony has a kiosk outside of Arrivals (inside the airport), next to a little coffee shop, so it was painless to wait. The lady working in the kiosk was very gracious and escorted us to the shuttle even, insisting on pushing the luggage cart.

The airport is less than 3 kms away from the hotel, so, the Harmony is well-positioned.

On arrival, we handed our passports for identification, and although we had fully paid for our reservation through Expedia, the Reception staff said they could not find the “payment voucher” from Expedia. At which point I presented my Expedia reservation printout showing we had already paid in full by credit card. Fine. They showed us to our room.

The room given to us was actually very large. Good. The furniture is the typical Chinese furniture I’ve seen in many mediocre hotels around the world. Bad. The bathroom is very large (good), but it's not very attractive. It's more like a hospital's bathroom.

I’m going to outline the good points and then the bad points:

1. Large room
2. Comfortable mattress/flat pillows.
3. Free internet in the room (using cable – good speed)… Free Wi-Fi in the lobby (very slow).
4. Clean room and bathroom
5. Free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel.
6. Breakfast is included in the rate, though I can’t comment on the quality because we left for the airport at 5:00 the next morning.
7. Basic toiletries are provided.

The bad:

1. Ugly furnishings
2. Lukewarm water in the shower
3. No ventilation (like A/C), so one is forced to open the window, which leads me to:
Having arrived on a Friday night, the nearby disco was blaring techno-music full blast which after a long flight, that’s not what we wanted to hear. Music finally stopped at 2:00 am. If you open the window, mosquitos come inside the room. We came prepared with mosquito repellent.
4. Paid shuttle service from the hotel to the airport.
5. Small TV. Two channels in the local language.

And, the most insulting point:

The next morning, checking out at 5:00 am, the receptionist told us that we owed the hotel $39 because we had not paid the correct rate. At which point I said “the reservation was made through Expedia, you work it out with them”. We even looked up the Expedia rate online, and showed it to the Manager and Receptionist. They even saw that in fact I had paid a higher rate than shown online that morning. The manager said he was using his gracious discretion to override the amount owed. Well, thank you, Mr. Manager.

The hotel rates itself 4-stars. Based on the overall look of the hotel, the not so attractive rooms, etc., and the fact that they can’t get their reservations worked out correctly, and because they tried to get more money out of us, I will give them 3-stars! I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if you don't want to open the windows and hear the loud street noise, or music if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Depending on exactly when you'd ask me, my opinion re this hotel will probably vary. Single best word to describe it is probably "adequate". Staff are friendly and fairly helpful but not always "convincingly" so. There seems to be a new wing which gets great reviews but I unfortunately did not see that. My room was clean an comfortable but a little run down with many small niggles like a chest high shower head which kept on falling off the wall, bad lighting and no air conditioning. My biggest gripe is that there is some kind of night club right above the 2nd floor rooms with thundering/vibrating music and stomping right above your head! This fortunately stopped every night ~23:00 but to try and work in that raucous is a nightmare. Breakfast was fine. Conveniently close to the airport but in general not a great location. I won't be in a rush to go back.

Room Tip: There seems to be a new wing - ask for a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was here for 11 days. New wing rooms are good. Service and staff are v good. Food is horrible...Had a tough time with food. Overall it was fine. I would stay here again. Close to airport. It was also close to the place I was working for.

Room Tip: Contact Helen - Duty Manager for good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#19 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
1.5 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#7 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#8 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#20 of 81 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel

Address: Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Harmony Hotel represents an initial investment of over US$10 million and brings it to the forefront of four star accommodation venues in this rapidly growing East Africa hub. Situated 1½ kms from the Ring Road and 5 minutes from Bole International Airport, Harmony Hotel is conveniently located in the Bole Medhanialem area of the city within short walking distance of shopping malls, Multiplex cinema and an array of bars, restaurants and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.