We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harmony Hotel to your Saves list
Harmony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More than we expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and traveled to Ethiopia for two weeks tour organized by addis ababa based tour company called Imagine Ethiopia tour and Travel. it was the travel agency that suggested Harmony hotel, where we stayed four nights. They have neat rooms with a balcony and comfortable beds. Their meals are delicious and so is the juice. We will definitely stay at Harmony when we return to Ethiopia next time! I would also like to thank Imagine Ethiopia tours for recommending good hotels and arranging our Ethiopia holiday in an excellent manner.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
13
16
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our recent trip to the Harmony Hotel was originally for one night although we needed to stay for 2 as our baggage did not make the transfer to Addis. The hotel were very obliging. The reason for choosing this hotel - which is not that cheap (£186 for 2 single rooms per night - see the Lewi Resort Hotel in Awassa review) was that they provided a free shuttle to the hotel which eliminated all the hassle with a taxis at 2.00 in the morning. There is an official hotel office at the airport and the transfer was efficient. The staff in the hotel were very helpful in trying to trace our luggage though the information we received was not exactly accurate which meant half a day chasing around Addis looking for a Turkish Airline office which did not exist. The Hotel "Business Centre" (a partitioned off area of the lobby) was more useful and e-mail communication saved the day hotel - when the internet was working! Without luggage we were not in a position to sample the other facilities the hotel offers - and we did not eat there other than breakfast (which was fine). We recommend the Zebra Grill nearer the centre - an old favourite - for an evening meal. We were, however, able to arrange our onward journey to Awassa with Asfaw from Hamer Nasi Ethiopia Tour & Travel (whom we thoroughly recommend). The bar - even on arrival at 4.00am - was always welcoming and in particular the St George beers which made things much better. Locally there are a few shopping malls within walking distance along with the church. Whilst this hotel is on the outskirts of Addis, it is convenient for the airport and the centre is only a taxis ride away. Overall a good, clear and safe hotel for a brief stay over on arrival or departure from Addis.

Room Tip: It would seem that most rooms currently look out onto a building site and do not expect luxury - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stay at the Harmony Hotel whenever I am in Addis Ababa for a few days. The rooms are lovely and the beds comfortable. I frankly have an addiction to their beef tibs and dream about them when I am traveling to Addis.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Harmony Hotel will hold its place in my wife and I hearts as we got married here. The banquet room and service were everything we could have asked for. The rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. Using the steam room and sauna are a plus. Edna mall is right around the corner which has cinema. Also around the corner is a beautiful and amazing church. The breakfast has a good variety and other items at the bar are good as well. There is a lot of construction going on around the hotel but once that is all finished it will be quite a nice area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Harmony Hotel is one of the best hotels with luxuries facilities to to stay in Addis Ababa. I stayed in the place for three days and I like their service, management and the price. It is situated close to the airport and one can get everything he needs in the near proximity of the hotel. I would like to thank azebot for taking care of my booking from USA to Ethiopia. Cheers!

Room Tip: King Royal rooms are so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The last time I was in Addis, I stayed at Damu and had a wonderful exprience. This time, I wanted to try something a bit more expensive so I went through azebot.com to reserve a room for 3 nights at Harmony with the additional discounts. With discount, I got the room for $100 a night. Just beautiful is the word to describe this hotel. If service, comfort and location maters to you, you won't go wrong with this place. You can pretty much walk to many of the cool places in Addis. It is only 5 minutes away from the airport. If you like night life, great clubs and lounches are in a walking distance. You can see the hotel location on a map on http://azebot.com/attractions.aspx page.

Room Tip: This is a busy area so if you like to take daytime nap, get rooms in upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

A very neat little hotel in Addis. Good, clean and fairly spacious rooms with all the necessary luxuries. Staff very friendly and helpful and in general a very homely feeling.
Don't get worried when you arrive and are asked to pass through a metal detector and have your bags scanned. Security is good and worth having.
Charming coffee bar and bar on 7th floor with some views of the city. Food generally good. Coffee great.
Free internet with lan plugs in the rooms and wireless at the coffee bar and lobby. Sauna etc available and massages can be arranged.
Best place in Addis according to me.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms higher up. Closer to ground floor it can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel

Address: Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Harmony Hotel represents an initial investment of over US$10 million and brings it to the forefront of four star accommodation venues in this rapidly growing East Africa hub. Situated 1½ kms from the Ring Road and 5 minutes from Bole International Airport, Harmony Hotel is conveniently located in the Bole Medhanialem area of the city within short walking distance of shopping malls, Multiplex cinema and an array of bars, restaurants and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.