We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peacfull area and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimitri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dimitri Hotel to your Saves list
Dimitri Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yeka, Kebele 16 - 18 | CMC Road, Gurd Shola, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“peacfull area and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I better say it like others say Dimitri Helpful staff, quiet room, not a noisy neighbourhood and decent food in the restaurant, plus good WiFi connections.
It vaues tourists come to Ethiopia to get rest peace it is the best place for have a picnic and rest. very quite. Dimitri seems far from center but public transport and private are abundant in the area.
It is the ideal place to escape the day time tit -tats of the city and have a good night here
You feel home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
4
15
28
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco,CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel based on the reviews it seemed like is was mixed. First off, I would like to say the staff is very attentive and accommodating. They were friendly and very prompt with their service. I didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed like the food was good as well. My main issue with this hotel is the overall level of cleanliness. The rooms were clean but I had several issues. One, there was mold growing in the shower corners. When I ask the staff, they said no it wasn't but after further inspection, it was actually mold. This can be solved by cleaning with bleach and brushes. I wouldn't expect to see this at all. The drains in the shower didn't drain properly, so it would fill up to the point of overflowing onto the floor. The window in the bathroom couldn't close because it didn't fit the opening. The lights on either nightstand didn't work. The ironing board was broken and required manipulation just for it to remain upright. The TV's are large but I didnt have a remote and it looked like you could only get one channel. Even after all of that, I was willing to ride it out. The last straw was the roach, i felt crawling on my chin in the middle of the night and I was on the third floor on day 3. You can not have a bug problem in your rooms. That is part of the overall maintenance of your hotel. At that point I was very disappointed and decided to leave that morning and go to one of the newer hotels a stone's throw away, and it was a cheaper price. I believe the Dimitri would be a solid hotel but they need to address the issues of cleanliness, maintenance and overall attention to detail. This would make this a good option especially with the competition of newer hotels popping up close a few feet away. This place needs improvement and maintenance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Helpful staff, quiet room, not a noisy neighbourhood and decent food in the restaurant, plus good wifi connections, it was ideal for my couple of days stopover, and I got see Rouget's Rail from the bedroom window, an uncommon Ethiopian endemic bird. Good value, nothing fancy but secure and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been travelling to Ethiopia for years and decided to try out the Dimitri hotel as an alternative.

I enjoyed the stay overall and would stay again.

I arrived very early in the morning and there was no early check in charge. The decor in the lobby is overpowering but comfortable.....I was given a spacious room on the main road.....very noisy...I asked to be moved and was given another room immediately facing the back of the hotel. This was much better but bring your ear plugs as the road by the hotel is busy. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

My bed was comfortable but my colleague had a different story.

The breakfast is good, very nice scrambled eggs and the restaurant for evening meals also provide nice food and a good selection with reasonably fast service but there is not atmosphere in the restaurant. The location for my business was fantastic but if you are a tourist it is slightly out of the way. The checkout process took FOREVER.... that is standard at every hotel in Ethiopia...so as long as you are prepared for that it is ok. The hotel did not have many other guests which made it nice to stay there, however I think if it was full they may find it very difficult to cope.

Positive points, nice staff, good food, homely atmosphere

Negative points are that there is no safe in the room and there is no lift and some rooms are noisy.

Room Tip: ask for room not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was a pleasure staying at the Dimitri. The room was large and very comfortable, staff was terrific and the food was very, very good. I am looking forward to staying at the Dimitri again the next time I am in Ethiopia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thank you Madam Dimitri and your staff! My room was clean and the staff very friendly and responsive to my requests. As a business traveller I appreciated the very fast Wi-Fi network, not only in my room but in the lobby too. While there maintenance was being done on other rooms.

Would not only recommend this property to others, but I am making it my new home in Addis.

Bert

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been travelling to Ethiopia for about six years. They offered a LIMITED selection of what was on the menu. They kept trying to charge me extra for taxi fees after dissuading me from using my regular driver. They went through my room the last day I was there. One day the manager stole money from the ladies behind the front desk as they were counting it. If we had conversations in the hotel with other guests the owner would eavesdrop. The hotel is not located near any markets, shops, etc. Although the room was clean there was a foul odor that filtered through the room if we placed the shower mat over the drain. There was no buffet at breakfast as guaranteed. I have to say I am also in question of the positive reviews.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri H, Manager at Dimitri Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

our staff regrets that your stay was not satisfactory.

We would like to provide clarifications to the issues you pointed out.

- Not all items in the restaurant menu are always available. Certain types of fish, vegetables and fruits can be found in Ethiopia during specific months of the year.

- Guests are free to use any transportation means they deem appropriate to their needs. The hotel only provides a courtesy service of booking taxis, on behalf of the guest, if an airport pick-up or drop-off is requested. The hotel makes sure the price for such trips is fixed and the guest should settle those fees directly with the driver, not the hotel. Fee amounts rarely are published in our website booking engine and at the hotel's front desk. Again, this is an optional courtesy service.

- Please be more specific in what you mean by “went through room.” Were any personal items missing or misplaced? Did you file a complaint with management? We take such incidents seriously and would appreciate your cooperation in investigating eventual wrongdoing.

- While the minutiae of how we run our cash registers is not useful to TripAdvisor readers, the gravity of your statement of theft by staff casts an unduly negative image on us. Please note that cash register reconciliation is a procedure carried out regularly in any type of business.

- The owners of the hotel are only rarely available at the property. When they are, they make an effort to engage with customers to find out if they are satisfied with their stay and if there are any problems which they can help solve. You might have mistaken this effort as “eavesdropping.”

- Shops, bars, restaurants and clubs are located at a few hundred metres walking distance from the hotel, in the direction of the roundabout, on CMC road. We believe this is an advantage in that there is no constant traffic and noise directly outside the hotel to disturb our guests.

- Stagnant water in a shower can have an unpleasant smell and we apologize if this was persistent, but it is a matter of ventilating the bathroom.

- The hotel provides continental breakfast and make to order, not buffet. If you read “buffet breakfast” in a website or brochure, please let us know where so that we can correct this information.

We invite all guests to point out any issues during their stay. Management is eager to make sure you have a comfortable and positive experience, so that you can recommend our property to friends and family.

However, we also understand that our hotel is not appropriate for all types of customers and that some expectations might not be met.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimitri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitri Hotel

Address: Yeka, Kebele 16 - 18 | CMC Road, Gurd Shola, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dimitri Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, luxurious and warmly residential, the Dimitri Hotel located at CMC road offers luxury accommodations and unsurpassed service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Dimitri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitri Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimitri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.