We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dimitri Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dimitri Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dimitri Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yeka, Kebele 16 - 18 | CMC Road, Gurd Shola, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good value for money and very friendly staff.
Stayed 5 nights.
Location is also good for communicating to town and close to airport.
Excellent wi fi connection which is free.
Convenient also for getting taxis into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
4
15
28
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights in this hotel during a pair of layovers in Addis. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, though there can be a language barrier. We arrived quite late the first night, but even though the kitchen was officially closed, we were cheerfully served a decent pizza and some cold beer. The neighborhood is fine, though it is certainly not in the center of town. We found it quite endearing that when we came back for the second leg of our layover, the young woman at the front desk told us we had been upgraded to a better class of room for free -- and then we were shown to the same room we had stayed in before! The food is fine, and room service comes quickly. We had a problem with our TV the first night, and someone was there to fix it in about 30 seconds. This is a place where there is nothing all that special about the rooms, the amenities, etc., but the people are so kind and trying so hard to make you comfortable, it is nicer than many a higher-priced hotel. I would stay here again, absolutely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Really great experience at this hotel! What made it so special? Simple, it’s the people. The colleagues at the Dimitri Hotel are friendly, helpful, and relaxed - it’s like a family. My friend and I traveled to Addis for vacation / adventure, and unfortunately our plane landed at 5am in Addis – we thought we would have to wait until 3pm to check-in, but to our surprise, we were able to check-in to the room as soon as we arrived and took a nice shower and a nap. The hotel manager helped us arrange a plan for sightseeing and was very knowledgeable – answering all of our questions. Breakfast is included, which is really great, you can tell everything is homemade, and the coffee is really high quality. We also had a lunch at the restaurant, and was amazed at how delicious the food was! The beds are comfy and the room features a flat screen TV with many channels / movies to choose from. The bathroom could be improved, but overall the room is in good condition, and very safe. On our last day, we had a lot of free time, as our flight only left at midnight – and again, the hotel manager offered us to keep the room for as long as we needed to store our stuff, relax, perfect!!! One more good thing to add: when I arrived at the airport, I realized I left my camera at the hotel – desperate to have it back (there were so many memoires of beautiful Addis on the camera) I was happy to find that the Hotel located my camera and had alerted me that it was safe via email. I took a taxi back and quickly picked up the camera. Again, I can not say enough good things about this cute little hotel! Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heverlee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

very relaxed atmosphere, staff is very professional but friendly and warm in the same time. decent wifi connection. enjoyed watching soccer on tv with locals in the evening. the owner is a very cool lady. price/value the best in addis I guess ..

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here mainly because of location near to Ethiopian Management Institute. It met my needs in many ways and exceeded them in a few. In the seven days I stayed, I met six worthwhile people there, among which: the hotel manager-lady who proved very helpful and friendly, especially flexible upon my late checkout. The hotel's approved taxi driver had a safe, clean car and spoke English well enough to be helpful, and four other guests there for business provided good conversation during meals and leisure time. Food and service were good and at flexible hours (note, pizzas were quite good). Television & wifi was acceptable given power failures. Hotel has no lift but friendly staff readily carried my bags upstairs.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the back rooms are likely quieter (traffic) and have a nice mountain view. Front and bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The people were great. They helped me out with whatever I needed. August 2011 was my first trip to Ethiopia and the people at Dimitri helped to make it a great experience. It was far from the main tourist parts of town but that gave me the opportunity to hit the streets and see more of the day to day life of the folks that live in the city. Taxis aren't that expensive especially if you have someone that speaks the language negotiate for you. The hotel was clean, comfortable, the food was good, and the bar had whatever you want.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimitri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitri Hotel

Address: Yeka, Kebele 16 - 18 | CMC Road, Gurd Shola, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dimitri Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, luxurious and warmly residential, the Dimitri Hotel located at CMC road offers luxury accommodations and unsurpassed service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Dimitri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitri Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimitri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.