We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap – to be avoided, hair in the ravioli but still charged” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castelli Restaurant

Castelli Restaurant
Infront of Mahmoud music shop | Piassa, Mahatma-Gandhi St, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
571757
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 146 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap – to be avoided, hair in the ravioli but still charged”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We live in Addis since more than 1 ½ years and we used to visit the restaurant frequently during the first months of our stay in Addis. However, over time we felt that the quality of the food had badly declined and we stopped coming. Few weeks back, we thought of giving it again a try. Food was Ok and service good so we came back for a second visit with my sister-in-law and my mom who were visiting. I actually had a very good risotto and the dishes of the others were OK – except of the ravioli of my sis-in-law. She found a long hair, which was backed nicely into one of the raviolis. One could say: OK this can happen but it all of course depends on the reaction of the restaurant. We told the waiter and returned the dish. He was apologetic but we expected at least a free round of grappa and the dish taken off the bill.,,,,but nothing happened and the ravioli were nicely charged. I paid, didn’t leave a single cent tip and on the way out I confronted the obnoxious Italian owner who always sits on his silly throne at the entrance. He pretended that he does not speak English but I told him how horrible his hair food is and what a horrible restaurant owner he is not even taking the dish off the bill. He just didn’t care, shame on him.

Last time in this place, never again. I can simply advise tourists and residents not to fall into this trap and to go elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    34
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned ambiance, outstanding pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Castelli really makes you feel like you are in Italy, with an old-fashioned interior, choose-your-own approach to the antipasti, and wonderful homemade pasta. Don't be put off by the somewhat surly owner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A piece of Italy in Addis. Good food, different Italian dishes. The service is good but be clear what you ordering, was some misunderstandings during my visit. The price on imported wine is quite high. An average Italian restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do Not EAT HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Absolute worst dining experience of my life. FOOD WAS HORRIBLE. The owner is extremely rude. Do not waste your money here. Any other Italian restaurants in the city would be a better option. I assume the owner has paid guide books to be included in them because I have no idea why any guide book would recommend this horrible horrible horrible restaurant. To say that this restaurant serves Italian food is an insult to the wonderful country and cuisine of Italy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hair in the pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I liked this restaurant a lot. It has good food and good ambiance. I was looking forward to share it with my sister and mother in law when they visited me in Addis. Too bad my sister had to find a long hair in her food that ruined it for us all. We told the waiter who apologized, but that was it. the dish was charged to our bill and no one from the kitchen came to say anything else. On the way out we told the Italian owner who sits at the entrance what had happened, but he pretended he couldn't understand English. A real shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelli Restaurant also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Castelli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelli Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.