We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethiopian Hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jupiter International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jupiter International Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O.Box 110778, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ethiopian Hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Jupiter hotel at Cazanchise for five nights. The hotel provided a reliable transfer from the hotel. The rooms are comfortable , although cupboard space is limited. Make sure not to get a room that looks on the inside of the building ( the staircase) as you will have very little natural light ,no view at all, and a dark room. If I were the owner I would offer these rooms at a significant discount or use the space for something else . In fact I requested to be moved which happened without a fuss. Consider the suites , they are worth the upgrade and you will get an enormous room. Breakfast is pretty good , although service seems to be very slow despite the fact that a manager seems to be walking around. Thursday nights the hotel hosts a great jazz session, and an opportunity to meet locals. The staff are friendly, and checking in and out are undertaken efficiently. In all, this hotel offers good value, and you feel that you are given genuine Ethiopian hospitality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    122
    54
    11
    3
See reviews for
11
32
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are living in Addis, near the Jupiter Hotel in Bole. We haven't stayed at the hotel, but we do eat dinner in their dining room, and I wanted to give them a good review. The food has always been fresh and nicely cooked and presented. They have a good wine list (for Addis), and their prices are very reasonable compared to other International hotel restaurants in the city. They have live music on Friday nights, which we enjoy because they play some US songs as well as Ethiopian songs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very convenient place - clean & comfortable rooms, good food (with excellent Ethiopian dishes), good coffee, a smiling and efficient staff, free wifi, a free shuttle to the airport...
All in all, much better than expected!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest ,thank you for the nice words about our Hotel. Coming as they do from a seasoned traveler such as yourself, we consider it high compliment. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Addis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is one of the best we have stayed at. It felt exclusive and the facilities matched this most of the time. The room were the biggest and the best layed out I have ever stayed in and the food/breakfast was great. Everyone in the hotel was also very helpful and always deal with a smile.

Very high standards for front desk. Every department is "Perfect" and just "Great". There is nothing left for our comments. Normally, having traveled quite a bit around the globe, I don't write my feed back but here in "Jupiter Hotel" I and my party has been so satisfied, happy that we all will come to stay with you sometime in the future.

Thank You very much!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel should be rated a 1-star. It's pretty awful. Firstly, they forgot to pick me up at the airport. Next, when I arrived I was told no rooms were ready despite having requested an early check-in (and being willing to pay for it). I had to sleep in the lobby for 2 hours. Then the room itself...i was there for 3 days and it was never swept or vacuumed once during my entire stay. Additionally there was no proper shower - just some hand-held device which proceeded to flood the entire bathroom floor from beneath the bath tub. I called to report but to no avail - was never attended to nor were promises to move me to a better room.but maby its all based on etiopian standards .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest, we welcome all points of view about our Hotel, including those that are unflattering . We wish you had been more specific in letting us know which one our Hotels and which room you stayed in While we regret any unpleasant experiences you may have had ,we believe some clarifications are in order. Regarding your request for early check-in, I am sure you are aware that such requests can only be honored based on availability, since room guests do not check out until twelve noon and check-in time is 1400hrs. However ,any rooms that are ready for occupancy are always available for early check-in at no additional cost to the guests We make every effort to make our guests comfortable while their rooms are being prepared, by offering them beverages of their choice, even a hot shower, upon request, at no cost. We are keenly aware that our guest need rest after a long flight.
Our shuttle service is available twenty four hours and our airport booth is staffed twenty four hours as well and is in full view as passengers leave customs, fully equipped and ready to assist our guests. Our shuttle is parked outside the terminal or can be dispatched from our Hotel which is about five minutes or less away from the Airport
.
The hand held device you refer to is part of the shower assembly(console) designed for special washing needs. Perhaps assistance in its use by our housekeeping staff would have helped

As for sweeping the floor, we do not do it in the presence of the guest, unless specifically asked.
We do not believe there are standards unique to specific countries or regions. We make our best efforts to adhere to internationally accepted ones and hope, by doing so, to live up to those in Ghana




Finally, we want to express our regret that you were disappointed regardless of the source..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is 2 Jupiter Hotels in Addis Abeba the one I tried is the BOLE Jupiter Hotel close to the airport. The only negative point about this hotel is his environment (Poor quarter of Addis). The Rooms are very clean, nice and comfortable. There is tea and coffee complimentary in the room and there is the WIFI (It can be occasionally not working).
Breakfast is very good with pastries, fruits, breads, jam...
The staff is helpful.

Room Tip: High floors rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Once again a very happy and pleasent stay at this hotel. As a very frequent business visitor to Addis Ababa I have stayed in manyof the hotels arround the city but the Jupiter has always proved to be the best value for many. This evalutation is not just based on the daily rate but on the exceptional staff, cleanliness and an excellent breakfast !! I have to agree with some other reports that the finish in the batrooms is not up to standard of a 4 star hotel. Every works and the shower is just great but the qualityof the tiling and the fitting of the baths and basins is not good. Happy our every night from 5pm -8pm is an added bonus (the Hilton is only 5pm-7pm ) Jazz on Thursday is a bonus and you have to be early to get a table. Laundry service is excellent but the charge for socks and underpants is just silly (do your own). The hotel was actually built as an office building but was converted at the instructions of the government so this might explain the poor finish in the batrooms. Rooms at the back of the hotel are without doubt the best as the noise from the road and the disco across the rood makes sleeping in the front rooms rather difficult. An investment in good double glazing would be a great idea . Free wifi and use of computers is really an added bonus. At the Hilton is costs an arm and a leg !!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and on the right hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jupiter International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter International Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 110778, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jupiter International Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Jupiter International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.