We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great live music!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter International Hotel - Bole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jupiter International Hotel - Bole to your Saves list
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Africa Avenue, Addis Ababa 110778, Ethiopia   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great live music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here last April. It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel staff were helpful (the guards kept saluting me and my colleagues every time we walked in!). The food in the restaurant is very good. A little pricey in comparison to Addis prices but tasty and still cheap nonetheless.

One of the most amazing things we found was the live music. On Thursdays they have various bands playing live music in the bar downstairs and it was very busy. A great atmosphere and vibe from musicians and guests. Other nights there was jazz playing in the bar and the atmosphere was generally very mellow and relaxing. Perfect if you need to catch-up on emails and don't want to sit in your room.

The room has a locked safe and all amenities. I found the room was a little small (cramped) but nothing too bad, and you can still get by without it really affecting you.

I would recommend this to anyone who needs to be located in central Addis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    105
    42
    11
    1
See reviews for
7
28
46
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I like this hotel. I first stayed here last year, when I wasn't too impressed, but since then there's been some investment in the rooms - which are very comfortable considering the hotel's price tag. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. Wireless internet was fast and reliable, and the hotel's incredibly convenient for the airport. If there's one area that can be improved, it's the breakfast, where the quality of the beverages (tea, juice and even the coffee!) could be better. But otherwise, I have no hesitation in recommending it to other business or holiday travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you, dear guest, for taking the time to offer your constructive comments. We will work harder to continuously improve our breakfast and other products and services of our Hotel, in order to make it an even better value for our guests. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Addis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

most spaces, lobby, interiors remain same.

room this time got a standard one as deluxe was not available..however room was nice
innternet speed gd. with the cord: dint use wifi (as the speed last time was a lil slow)

decent lobby locals always keepinng dropping by since 10.00am to 10.00pm so never empty
had the regular fish sandwich taste and quality maintained.

breakfast not ver gd.
staff help full

Room Tip: request the desk while checkin they did upgarde me last two times, ut this times rooms were full so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you ,dear guest, for the nice words about our Hotel at Bole. We are glad you enjoyed our fish sandwich. We will work hard to make your stay even more enjoyable on your next trip to Addis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you need a business minded hotel in Addis, this is the place to go.Very efficient staff...
quite n cosy place after hectic days work...

Has a good lobby and excellent breakfast

Only disadvantage I found was not many good eating joints in walking distance from hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest ,thank you for staying at our Hotel and thank you for taking the time to offer your positive comments, We hope to see you on your next trip to Ethiopia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed at Jupiter multiple times this year. It's a GREAT hotel in Addis comparing it to other hotels in the city.

Pros: The rooms are very spacious (including the standard room)! Since I usually stay in the room working all the time, this is a big plus for me. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and has a nice desk and TV. There is also a lot of light in the room, both in the day as well as in the night (hotels in Ethiopia tend to be very dark). The staff is beyond friendly and helpful -- the best hotel staff I've seen around here!! The food is also very good and there is some good variety. And the breakfast, which is always my favorite part of the day, is delicious! There is a LOT of variety and they change it a little every day. The fresh juices are my favorite!!! I've only stayed at Jupiter in the Bole area because I prefer this area - it's a GREAT location where you can just walk around, right beside a mall with a good supermarket, and a few nice coffee shops. This hotel doesn't have a gym, so you get a voucher for a gym nearby, which isn't so good - the machines are old, is small and gets easily crowded. I haven't tried the gym in the other location because I am usually short on time, but they offer a free shuttle service there. I usually go to the Bole Rock gym which is a 10-min walk because there is a pool there and the gym is much better (a good option if you don't like the gym next door). Also, I haven't had any trouble with noise here, which is a big plus for a hotel in Addis.

Cons: There is wi-fi in the room which is a great pro, and is fairly fast for Ethiopian standards. However, it gets disconnected quite often (pretty much every day that I've been here it's happened). Because I have the EVDO, I use that instead, but if you rely on internet a lot, it can be a headache, and it get can expensive to keep using your own internet. They say it's a problem with the server, but I am not sure if that is correct because I've stayed at another hotel here for over 10 days (Addis Regency), and I never had any issue with the internet and it was MUCH faster!! I confess that I am being picky in adding this to the cons list, given that internet and telephone connection is still a general problem in Ethiopia, but given that I've experienced better connection before, I think they could improve this. Also, the hotel looks old, and it could use some repairs.

In sum, I highly recommend this hotel! If you're trying to decide between Jupiter and Harmony, DEFINITELY chose Jupiter - is MUCH better, plus is cheaper! :)

Room Tip: For Jupiter in the Bole area: If you're going to stay in the standard rooms, ask for the ones th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I have come here with reference and have to say that this hotel is amazing.
I loved location, cleanless, room, breakfast, room service, bar, live music etc...
Lovely staff specially in the front desk.
There is no such bad thing to be shared to be honest. Grab this hotel and stay than you will appreciated and will thank to me.
Thank you very much for your kind hospitality and warmest

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Jupiter International have two branches, I stayed at Bole road, very close to Airport and Bole business district. Right from airport pick till drop I encounter highly energetic crew of jupiter. Rooms are very good standard with given tarrif. 24 hrs restaurant. With Asian and continental foods. Personally my favourite with no compaints at all.
Thanks !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter International Hotel - Bole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter International Hotel - Bole

Address: Africa Avenue, Addis Ababa 110778, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter International Hotel - Bole 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiter International Hotel is a 4 start hotel with two key location in Addis Ababa. Being one of the leading value business hotel, Jupiter International Hotel has been serving business travelers since 2008 with excellent service, exceptional accommodation and affordable price. Our two properties are located near main government office, UNECA, African Union and the International Airport. From 24/7 Airport reception and shuttle service to well furnished comfortable rooms with impeccable service we are dedicated to provide topnotch service with updated products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jupiter International Hotel - Bole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.