We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Addis Guest House
Save Saved
You added Addis Guest House to your Saves list
bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 119 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here two different times recently and it really was a home away from home. When you are travelling around Africa, sometimes it's just really nice to get picked up at the airport....for FREE. Loved letting our guards down with regards to transportation for a day lol. Food was decent, beer was cold and cheap! Rooms were large and had everything we needed. Wifi was quick and reliable. Hospitality was fantastic, we even went out for Tere Sega with one of the drivers on our last night before he brought us back to the airport. Just comfortable, fun and relaxing. Highly recommend this place to all travellers who don't need 5-Star amenities!! Thanks AGH

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back (away from the road) are quieter but the road isn't too loud anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
17
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my Second Time Staying at Addis Guest House, Great Place, Very convenient Location. I have stayed there for 2 nights this time. Staff is Great, Yonas, his cousin, and mom are the best. Make you feel home out side of home. Anything you need is "Chegeryalem & Ishi" No problem & okay in Ethiopian. Will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent two nights in this guest house at the beginning and at the end of our tour around northern Ethiopia. The rooms are quite big: one night we had a studio room and for the second night we were upgraded to a bigger room (with living room + bedroom). I found this hotel quite comfortable. The bed linen was clean, the room itself - not very clean. The bathroom was Ok both times with electrical water heater (so you have plenty of hot water - do not forget to switch the heater On). The staff is nice and tends to be attentive. Breakfast is good and is served either in your room or in the restaurant. We took a dinner at the restaurant one time and did not like it: almost everything in the menu was not available, the food was only so-so, and the bill was greater that the prices indicated in the menu (I do not think that they tried to overcharge, just discrepancy between the computer and the menu; however this small problem was only solved by the manager).
As a conclusion, I think that this guest house is a good option for a short stay in Addis. I cannot comment on location because we had a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I highly recommend this guest house for those who want to spend sometime in Addis for whatever reason. The hotel rates are very reasonable in comparison to the very expensive hotels. I will break down the review in few points:

- Price: very reasonable with an estimate of ~50$ for single room, bathroom, & little sink/fridge.

- Location: it is in a location where everything is almost a walking distance or a short taxi ride. The street itself is a bit traditional (meaning the real Addis life because of little shops and car wash that is in front of the hotel)

- Airport: very close to the airport with almost 5 minutes taxi ride away

- Food: great and very cheap. Breakfast is free until noon and you can always ask them to send food to the room at any time.

- Staff: SUPERB and Excellent. Welling to help at no cost and always there for you. Very polite and respectable. They are always willing to leave work and come show you place. Yonas (manager) and Malu (restaurant guy) are few example if you need help.

- Rooms: doors are a little thin so you will always hear your neighbors coming in/out or even talking to each other :p :p

Don't forget to learn how to ride the buses instead of taxi as you could save loads of $$ and they pass by the hotel door step..

Room Tip: Get a room that is in the far back so you can reduce the amount of noise you will hear :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Family stayed twice in two months for our court date and US Embassy hearing. Got suite 302 so plenty of room to hang out with our new little one. Restaurant on first floor for all meals when we wanted to eat in. Breakfast entree included with lodging. Very helpful staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza,Tanzania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Addis Guest House is very good palce to stay while in Addis Ababa Ethiopia,the place is closer to the airport and shopping malls. They provide guests with free wireless internet which is fast and reliable,friendly staff, and, clean and big rooms. Free laundry services and good security for the guests are also provided at Addis. More Fantastically, the manager, Mr. Jonas, is a man of special attributes! He is charming, helpful and available to provide special help to any customer, and is ready to take you around (personally or provide staff-all honest) to solve personal problems at no cost if any!!!!!!
ADDIS GUEST HOUSE, THE PLACE TO STAY WHILE IN ETHIOPIA. I wish to come back again and stay at Addis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The place is very good, friendly staff, good transport network, closer to international airport and they provide guests with fantastic wireless internet very fast and reliable. Free laundry services and good security for the guests. ADDIS GUEST HOUSE A PLACE TO BE WHEN IN ETHIOPIA, I will definately come back here and will refer my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Addis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Guest House

Address: bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Addis Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.