We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Addis Guest House to your Saves list
Addis Guest House
bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 151 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here two different times recently and it really was a home away from home. When you are travelling around Africa, sometimes it's just really nice to get picked up at the airport....for FREE. Loved letting our guards down with regards to transportation for a day lol. Food was decent, beer was cold and cheap! Rooms were large and had everything we needed. Wifi was quick and reliable. Hospitality was fantastic, we even went out for Tere Sega with one of the drivers on our last night before he brought us back to the airport. Just comfortable, fun and relaxing. Highly recommend this place to all travellers who don't need 5-Star amenities!! Thanks AGH

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back (away from the road) are quieter but the road isn't too loud anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imjonjoncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my Second Time Staying at Addis Guest House, Great Place, Very convenient Location. I have stayed there for 2 nights this time. Staff is Great, Yonas, his cousin, and mom are the best. Make you feel home out side of home. Anything you need is "Chegeryalem & Ishi" No problem & okay in Ethiopian. Will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent two nights in this guest house at the beginning and at the end of our tour around northern Ethiopia. The rooms are quite big: one night we had a studio room and for the second night we were upgraded to a bigger room (with living room + bedroom). I found this hotel quite comfortable. The bed linen was clean, the room itself - not very clean. The bathroom was Ok both times with electrical water heater (so you have plenty of hot water - do not forget to switch the heater On). The staff is nice and tends to be attentive. Breakfast is good and is served either in your room or in the restaurant. We took a dinner at the restaurant one time and did not like it: almost everything in the menu was not available, the food was only so-so, and the bill was greater that the prices indicated in the menu (I do not think that they tried to overcharge, just discrepancy between the computer and the menu; however this small problem was only solved by the manager).
As a conclusion, I think that this guest house is a good option for a short stay in Addis. I cannot comment on location because we had a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I highly recommend this guest house for those who want to spend sometime in Addis for whatever reason. The hotel rates are very reasonable in comparison to the very expensive hotels. I will break down the review in few points:

- Price: very reasonable with an estimate of ~50$ for single room, bathroom, & little sink/fridge.

- Location: it is in a location where everything is almost a walking distance or a short taxi ride. The street itself is a bit traditional (meaning the real Addis life because of little shops and car wash that is in front of the hotel)

- Airport: very close to the airport with almost 5 minutes taxi ride away

- Food: great and very cheap. Breakfast is free until noon and you can always ask them to send food to the room at any time.

- Staff: SUPERB and Excellent. Welling to help at no cost and always there for you. Very polite and respectable. They are always willing to leave work and come show you place. Yonas (manager) and Malu (restaurant guy) are few example if you need help.

- Rooms: doors are a little thin so you will always hear your neighbors coming in/out or even talking to each other :p :p

Don't forget to learn how to ride the buses instead of taxi as you could save loads of $$ and they pass by the hotel door step..

Room Tip: Get a room that is in the far back so you can reduce the amount of noise you will hear :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Family stayed twice in two months for our court date and US Embassy hearing. Got suite 302 so plenty of room to hang out with our new little one. Restaurant on first floor for all meals when we wanted to eat in. Breakfast entree included with lodging. Very helpful staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza,Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Addis Guest House is very good palce to stay while in Addis Ababa Ethiopia,the place is closer to the airport and shopping malls. They provide guests with free wireless internet which is fast and reliable,friendly staff, and, clean and big rooms. Free laundry services and good security for the guests are also provided at Addis. More Fantastically, the manager, Mr. Jonas, is a man of special attributes! He is charming, helpful and available to provide special help to any customer, and is ready to take you around (personally or provide staff-all honest) to solve personal problems at no cost if any!!!!!!
ADDIS GUEST HOUSE, THE PLACE TO STAY WHILE IN ETHIOPIA. I wish to come back again and stay at Addis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abwaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The place is very good, friendly staff, good transport network, closer to international airport and they provide guests with fantastic wireless internet very fast and reliable. Free laundry services and good security for the guests. ADDIS GUEST HOUSE A PLACE TO BE WHEN IN ETHIOPIA, I will definately come back here and will refer my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#24 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#54 of 92 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#4 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Guest House

Address: bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Addis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Addis Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing