We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel to stay at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Leopol International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Leopol International to your Saves list
Hotel de Leopol International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jomo Kenyata Street | Next to Bambis Supermarket, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 79 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Novosibirsk, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice hotel to stay at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de Leopol International from August 14 till August 18, 2012. We came to Addis-Ababa to participate in an international conference held in the Addis-Ababa University.
Our overall impressions of the hotel are positive.
We had a studio room for each person for 56$ per night.
The rooms were clean, hot water was always available, the bathrooms were also clean.
The staff of the hotel was friendly and promptly responding to our requests.
The food at the hotel restaurant (on the first floor) was nice. For breakfast we would have nice Ethiopean tea or coffee, scrambled eggs and hot oatmeal porridge with milk.
In the rooms we could watch BBC world service, Fox movies, British soccer and some local channels.

At the same time, there were some shortcomings:

1) We arrived at the Addis-Ababa Bole International airport with delay after 00:30, and also the luggage of one of our participants was by mistake already unloaded in Istanbul, so we went out to the terminal rather late. So, we were not met by the hotel shuttle. Moreover, there was nobody at the Hotel de Leopol desk at the airport. On our way back we were indeed transported to the airport with no extra fee by the hotel shuttle.

2) There is a mosque nearby, and at night, say, for example, around 5 a.m. there would be heard muslim prayers broadcasted via loudspeakers. This may be a problem for sensitive sleepers.

3) Almost every day the electricity would be down usually for a minute or two, but once on Saturday it was out for something like an hour.

Having said all this, we still claim that for the money we paid we got quite decent service.

We would recommend this hotel for travellers.

P.S. Just a piece of advice about the city itself.

1) Be careful while paying taxi drivers -- they tend (especially with regard to the recently arrived visitors) to greatly exaggerate their fares. So, one needs to negotiate and argue with them.

2) It is rather cold in Addis-Ababa in August, especially, when it rains. Do have warm clothes with you.

3) There are many poor and desperate people in Addis-Ababa, and we did not feel safe walking in the streets. So, we mostly stayed at the hotel and in the University.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    12
    15
    9
See reviews for
2
5
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

It seems the hotel has not been renovated since its heydays! it is sad to see this hotel going down...
Seriously, international? Instead of expansion and building new hotels the management really need to think to renovate and get his hotel to standards.
Rooms carpets are too old, showers and toilet equipment needs to be renovated, altought clean sheets the bed spreads and the beds are too old!
I was forced to stay there on a transit flight in Addis, by Ethiopian Airlines,sorry but here much much better hotel to arrange for transit in Addis.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel de Leopol for 4 nights in February 2012. Decent centrally located Hotel. Clean, relatively good value for money with a great Indian restaurant on the top floor. The Indian food itself was worth staying at this hotel for, though it might be a good idea to leave the Chinese menu alone and only concentrate on the Indian menu as the Chef is from India and is definately as good as any Indian Chef when it comes to Indian dishes. For Vegetarians try the Dal Tadka and the Aloo Jeera. For the non vegetarians, the Chicken Tikka's and the other Chicken dishes were great even thought the restaurant could do with some additional staff as it has only one waitress and therefore the service gets a little slow when the place is full.
The staff at the hotel is a little slow specially when it comes to room service and that also might have something to do with the single elevator in the hotel which seems to have some kind of Antique value considering it's speed.
The Hotel is right behind the Bambis Suprermarket ( 2-4 minute walk from the hotel) and therefore extremely convenient.
Al in all a pleasant experience and would certianly recommend this hotel to most friends and others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

After spending 3 nights at Ghion I moved to Leopol. It is a very decent hotel offering clean rooms, fine food, friendly staff and service. Decent Indian restaurant on top floor.
Sauna and Steam is clean and worth the 100 birr
good place to stay- try it out

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel De Leopol International in October 2009. I must say it is a lovely hotel especially for Ethiopian Standards. I paid USD 56.00 per night for a single studio room inclusive of breakfast which was basic but nice. My room had a comfortable bed, sparkling clean bathroom, a tv with east african channels and a small fridge (this was great as any left overs i had i could easily put them in the fridge and eat them later). The bathroom supplies (i.e the soap and toilet paper) were replaced daily after cleaning and so were the towels. The shuttle at the airport was lovely and the ambience was great. They have a desk at the airport and so this makes life easy incase you do not have a reservation in advance. I also bought a sim card from the De Leopol immediately i arrived and this made it convinient for me to be in touch. The hotel is in a more private area of Addis and therefore you do not need to worry about pestering tour guides waiting outside the hotel. There is a gym, steam and Sauna within the hotel premises and a beautiful gift shop too. Nearby there is the Bambis supermarket which is convinient for any extras one may need. The Duke bar is a lovely place to relax with good food. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the De Leopol Hotel. What i loved about the De Leopol was the cleanliness of this hotel and personalised service from the bell boys to the receptionists and the rest of the staff. I would definately recommend the De Leopol anytime and will be staying here in future!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The hotel is a mix of kitsch and nice features. Rooms are nice and clean, but the leopard spotted bedspreads are terrible ! On the whole, I found it expensive for what is the offer.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Leopol is definitely a nice all around place to stay. They have two restaurants, one that serves western style foods and traditional Ethiopian foods, and one on the top floor that serves pretty good Indian and Chinese food. The staff was great and rooms were pretty average. They have free LAN line internet in the rooms which was decent for that part the world. They are also conveniently located near a large supermarket and not too far away from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Leopol International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Leopol International

Address: Jomo Kenyata Street | Next to Bambis Supermarket, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 79 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Leopol International 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Leopol International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Leopol International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.