We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Makush Gallery

Makush Gallery
Bole Road | 2nd Floor Mega Building, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
526848
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 150 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food is OK... service takes ages for your food to come.... once you have eaten and you ask for your check... it takes ages....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful for lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere surrounded by lovely local art. A real artsy feel to the place. Food was good and offered local and imported wines.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“I thought this place was awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lived in Addis for three months. Went to Makush multiple times and some of the food was ok, some of the food was excellent. The art I thought was great too but that is all subjective I guess. The Devil Chicken was my favorite. Antica did have better pizza but I thought the location of Makush was easier to get to.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go for the art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Lots of "farenji" (foreigners love this place), which is I guess why I don't. But the owners are friendly and helpful and it is interesting to see the artwork.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Art with good flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice orginal idea to mix art with good food. We enjoyed looking at the art and were very tempted to buy something. Our meal was good and tasty. The mix many locals and visitors was also refreshing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makush Gallery also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Makush Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makush Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.