We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it if you can” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meumi Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Meumi Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Meumi Palace
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meumi Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carefour Bastos, Yaounde 1225, Cameroon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Yaounde
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid it if you can”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed there for two nights and it is was. The room was old, ugly, dark and loud. The internet didn't work. The only good thing about this place is that you can walk to many bars and restaurants in the Bastos area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am an experienced traveller, for both business and leisure, in Africa, the Americas, Europe and Asia. I have spent years living and working in several west and south African countries.

I don't need a hotel to be fancy, cleanliness is my most important concern. I was disappointed by this place. The hotel, though apparently not very old, makes a run-down impression: check out the door of the reception, for example - it is very dirty; when it rains, water will run into the stairhouse, air conditioning does not work. The walls in my room and bathroom were dirty and full of spots of unknown origin. At night, the hallway on floor two reminds one of a Raymond Chandler novel. The door of my room did not close tightly, making me hear noises from the hallway and making noises by itself.

Breakfast buffet consists in bread, butter and some marmalade; coffee should be washed down the drain; omelette arrived quickly, though. Receptionists in the evening, when I arrived, were slow and not very friendly. Receptionists in the morning, when I checked out, were friendly, quick and efficient. The lift makes a noise that does not make you want to board it, and that will keep you awake if you are in a room close to it.

Internet did not work: I could connect to the hotel's wi-fi network in the hallway but not in my room; I told this to the receptionists, which said that they would deal with the issue but did not do so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I was meant to stay here for a week but I found the service and facilities in a pathetic state. They have a new block (I think) but I was offered the old block and so my comments are based on the old. The room space was good but the walls are aged and not attended to. Upon arrival I was given keys to find my one way to my room. At 2230hrs someone just unlocked my door to my shock. I was in room 210 and he apologised that he got lost. I could not understand how that happened. When I raised it with reception they did not seem alarmed and I left the next morning. The breakfast was said to be buffet but you are only allowed one piece if bread. A lot more needs to be done to maintain the potential in this centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The first point to make is yes, this is Africa, and sometimes the lack of infrastructure can contribute to a less-than-perfect experience. So when there was no water on the first morning of my visit, it took it in my stride, waited an hour, and when it still did not return asked at reception for a bucket of cold water to wash (I had to go down the four floors to reception as the room telephone did not work). After waiting over an hour the water had not arrived and after a second visit to remind them it finally appeared.

The overall grimy appearance of the hotel does nothing to make it welcoming. The yellow-painted walls in the rooms and the public areas are FILTHY and would only need a good coat of paint to make them more attractive. As I walked down the corridor to my room on arrival, I passed a vacant room with the door open, to see a rodent (small rat or very big mouse) scurrying away. My crummy room had a hose on the wall with a shower attachment, but no shower basin or bath. I asked for a different room, and was given one with a hand-held shower again, but this time over a bath. The room itself was no better though - just generally dingy and with no seat on the toilet. The 'air conditioning' was a proper fitted unit, but operated only as a fan and did not cool the room at all. A colleague had air conditioning, but it was very noisy.

I have to say, though, that the bedding was clean, and despite what other reviewers say, the wifi in the room worked ok, if a bit slow.

The inclusive breakfast was a croissant or bread with jam and coffee. Other items could be ordered at extra cost. I ordered an omelette which was tasty, as was the evening meal I ate there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, and am sure that there are far better places to stay in Yaounde.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions, the staff is terrible, they lack manners and treat you like garbage. The rooms are in need of renovation and cleaning. Stay elsewhere this place is the worst for the money they are asking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

First of all its useful to note that Meumi Palace is have a large new wing added at present (passed by August '12), this means there are works, dust and noise during the day. It might also mean it will add new and better rooms to the current crop.
In a way Meumi Palace should be a top place as it is located smack in the middle of the Bastos district near all the embassies and the NGO/UN offices. However the owner seems to have spent his time in hibernation during the last decade as most rooms are in serious need of refurbishing, as does the restaurant, the Wi-Fi and cable TV.
The rooms are of a nice size and reasonably priced (not great value for money though), however most rooms are now mouldy and could seriously do with overhaul not to speak of the bathrooms. The WiFI is unusually erratic in the place and the restaurant and lobby are just plain poor (old and dirty furniture, bad quality food). If the rooms are redone, or the new wing is good (though I fear higher prices) this is a place to check out. Nearby are so many restaurants and a fast internet cafe you don't really need those services anyway. Staff could also do with better service training.
Check the place out to see for yourselves.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location at the heart of Bastos District is great. Fantastic if you are going to spend a few days in Yaounde applying visas. The rooms are large but aircondition is noisy. The place is also somewhat dusty. The staff appeared uninterested and could not speak English. Breakfast was not value for money at 5,000 FCFA but you could negotiate to have that included for free before you book the place. The WIFI is unstable and only works in the lobby.

At 30,000 FCFA, we felt it wasn't value-for-money and we moved to another hotel nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meumi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meumi Palace

Address: Carefour Bastos, Yaounde 1225, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meumi Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meumi Palace is a hotel located in Bastos Yaounde Cameroon, professional and warm welcome, luxury, comfort and refinement that you will find participating in your well-being and comfort. The Meumi Palace is 68 rooms "comfort", suites and apartments, conference room and dining areas and distribution of beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Meumi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meumi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.