We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good but could be excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roca Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roca Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Roca Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard de la Tanzanie | B.P. 6506, Bujumbura 6716, Burundi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bujumbura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bujumbura, Burundi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very good but could be excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

sometimes you can just rate an hotel from your first impression. the hotel looks really nice, very clean, good decor, rooms are really good and clean, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast although doesn't change is perfect and has lots of varieties. pool is nice, gym is not that big but very clean ( some treadmills and some machines, no weights... ) , didn't check the golf course although you can have access for free while in the hotel.
the hotel should be rated excellent but then the internet is really annoying where they give you user name & password but then every 5 mn it disconnects and you have to put them again.. the same with the AC which is not automatic so when power goes on & off the AC will stay off and you have to turn it on again manually. so i found myself waking up on 2 occasions at 3 or 4 am sweating & i had to turn it on,,.
but overall it is a very good hotel and the best for business...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at the Roca Golf hotel for almost 3 weeks while on a business trip. I was really pleased with the spacious and very clean room, the hotel amenities and the quality of the food at the restaurant. WIFI was working fine. The staff were very nice and helpful (except for the general manager who seemed to always be angry with his staff). I would love to stay there again when coming back to Burundi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

An expat hotel near the center of Bujumbura, this place offers western rooms and amenities expected by your diplomatic and contractor crowd. Service was quite slow and uncompromising while both the internet and TV were not working properly during my stay (this resulted in my move to another hotel). Despite a small golf course, the location is on a busy street with little in the neighbourhood to make things more cozy. If you are hoping for a more African experience, this is definitely not the place. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at Roca Golf for 3 nights and at first, I was impressed by the building which seemed new. The food was great, and the amenities such as the gym, spa, and bar overlooking the golf course are some of the attractions of the hotel. The rooms were neat and usually clean.

However, the service is among the poorest if you are a frequent traveler in East Africa. One night coming back from a trip upcountry, we wanted to have dinner at the terrace overlooking the pool. We were told that it is prohibited to eat food outside, only drinks were allowed. If we wanted to order, we had to go upstairs in our rooms and order from there. Interestingly, nobody had informed us of such thing! Nevertheless, the previous night, I had spotted some clients there but may be it was because the color of skin! But what shocked me, was on my last day when I checked out and left my luggage with my jacket at the reception because we had to go catch up a late lunch with some business partners only to find out on my way back that my jacket had disappeared and the staff didn't even bother to apologize. So as I write down, I am not sure if I will recover my jacket!!!!

A hotel such as Roca should not have rules and regulations as if it's a monastery where clients are treated like monks but even it does, better be informed than being surprised at the last minute. It doesn't make sense to have one of the best facilities in town with the worst service. Much as the staff behaved friendly trying to explain to us the "do's" and "dont's", I had the impression that the management of the hotel doesn't listen to clients' complaints because when we asked to speak to the food and beverages manager, he or she sent us a waiter.

I am going to be coming to Burundi often for business but I am not sure if I will stay at Roca again!

Charles V.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went here on recommendations from a fellow business traveler and was very, very pleased with all of the services provided.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with a generous supply of pillows. The WiFi was free and worked to the extent needed.

Food: Exceptionally good - there's a buffet and a simple menu. Was very full and happy from both! Breakfast buffet is notably good. I also enjoyed the freshly grilled fish at lunch.

Customer service: Very helpful and not overbearing.

Airport shuttle was on time and included in the price. Drivers are available as well as taxis: I recommend Yves(+ 257 752 21 639).

If you have to come for business or at all, use the Roca Golf! Fully Recommend :)

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the golf course/ mountains of DRC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I wasn't expecting much on a short trip to Burundi, but was pleasantly surprised by the high standard of the Golf Roca. The room was enormous, the bathroom well-equipped and the restaurant excellent. The wi-fi signal was unpredictable and they need to look into that for some of the rooms. I suspect it's also rather expensive (I was attending a conference and didn't pay myself). But overall it was a high quality place with friendly, attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A little known destination in darkest Africa has a beacon of light for the weary traveller, Roca Golf Hotel.
A very well run establishment when one takes into account the restrictions that are Africa.
The hotel entrance is clean and friendly as are the smiling faces that greet you, and everybody is eager to help.
The rooms are spacious and well thought out with a balcony overlooking the pool.
The hotel fills the grounds and all rooms face inward which takes care of the outside traffic and people noises, so no rolling lawns?
Well here is the trump card, the GOLF in the logo, access to a very well run golf course with club house, rental clubs and a bar at the 19th with change rooms and showers.
The hotel is run by Mr Marcel Brekelmans, who has his finger on the pulse of this hotel to ensure that all is well.
I found him and his staff most approachable and accommodating in all requests.
The head chef as well, can be seen at every meal moving between customer and kitchen to make sure all is" honkey dory" as it always is, my compliments to him and his staff.
I must take the time just to compliment the General Manager, Mr Brekelmans, for not succumbing to the casualness which befalls us all in Africa, and being very well dressed all the time.
Well done.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and the suites at the end of the passage have a balcony and a lawn with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roca Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Golf Hotel

Address: Boulevard de la Tanzanie | B.P. 6506, Bujumbura 6716, Burundi
Location: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roca Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Roca Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roca Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.