We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comme chez nous! HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dolce Vita Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dolce Vita Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mwungo 43 | Avenue Mwungo, 43 Kigobe Sud, Bujumbura 6870, Burundi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bujumbura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comme chez nous! HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Excellent hotel. The staff was Always so polite and available. Only 10 rooms, comfortable, clean, and with staff, like all the ones I encountered during my 4 day stay, such professionals a, many large 5 star hotels could learn a lot on costumer service!

Room Tip: Some Rooms have exterior patios. Most enjoyable on a business trip, or for families with young child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLCE VITA RESO... H, Directeur général at Hotel Dolce Vita Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I would like to thank you for making the Dolce Vita your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Bujumbura and also for this wonderful 5 star review here on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our staff polite and helpful, I will be sure to pass this message of compliments to the entire team.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be able to be of service to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chantal Ntahorubuze
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
13
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Simple but clean. Staff friendly, food good and the ambience great. They were more thank willing to arrange transport for me wherever and whenever I needed.
They coped well with the numerous power cuts through the use of a very efficient generator.
Thank you Dolce Vita.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed 10 days and it is a very good Hotel, clean, the food is good, the people are very nice and humble. Very helpful. they have a good breakfast and they welcome you nicely and give you all information you might need if you want to go out and to see the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed at Dolce Vita hotel for a business trip, but felt at home there. It's a nice and cosy hotel. Staff is very helpful and ready to assist you at any time. Food at the restaurant was very nice as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

the room had plenty of wardrobe space, tea making facilities, a TV with plenty of channels, soft robes, slippers and free toiletries. fresh fruit is delivered daily to the room - such a welcome treat.A commission free exchange bureau is offered - which is incredibly useful.
The rooms are large and very well cleaned. the dinner menu is massive and very reasonable ( apart from the pizza - bit of a disaster). The staff are very helpful and attentive. The only downside, the AC units aren't very effective and we got very hot! , the choice for breakfast is limited. Be careful of taking a taxi directly from the hotel as prices were very overpriced, much haggling needed.

In summary, the quiet peaceful setting, the swimming pool and the friendliness of staff means I would highly recommend and would definitely stay again - thank you.

Room Tip: room 218 has a private balcony but is located directly below the bar so gets incredibly noisy. we sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLCE VITA RESO... H, Directeur général at Hotel Dolce Vita Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
My team and I , thank you for the wonderful 4 star review on Tripadvisor and for making the Dolce Vita your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Bujumbura. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, I will be sure to pass this message of compliments to the entire team.
About the AC units, we apologize but next time please kindly report as soon as you notice that the air conditioner is not very effective the technician will come the same day. It can be a problem of setting.
For the choice of breakfast we prepare a buffet when we are fully booked.
But our chef is ready to satisfy you if you order the day before what you would like to have for breakfast. Because we know that breakfast is very important to start a day.
For the taxi, we offer a free shuttle to town if you inform the reception at least one hour in advance.
Again thank you and we wish you an excellent year 2014.
Chantal Ntahorubuze
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a couple of nights in Bujumbura on business and stayed at the Hotel Dolce Vita resort. Food was excellent, staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable. Free WiFi code supplied without prompting. Had some very pleasant evenings sitting in the restaurant, bar (on third floor) and even the lounge area by the registration. The bed in the room was very comfortable and the mosquito netting simple to use on the track. I was even offered some bug spray to get rid of a mosquito in the room. I killed it. Air conditioned rooms. I would certainly go back here again. Bonus that it is close to the US Embassy, if you need that. I was offered a ride anywhere I wanted to go, gratis. The staff helped show me around their wonderful city and find places, like shopping areas, that I would never have found. I also enjoyed waking up to the delightful chirping of the birds in the garden (look for the weaved hanging nests 0- wonderful.) I had a personal chat with the manager, who is a delightful lady. I can't think of anything bad about this place ... the pool is on the small side?

Room Tip: Massages were offered, I never took the opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dolce Vita Resort is a really very nice and charming place to stay. Superfriendly staff. You can ask any time also for special requests. Everybody tries to make the guests happy. Restaurant offers nice food in a mix of traditional french and (i think maybe) burundi style. Prices are very reasonable. Beer is cold and the small bar is a nice place to relax. Don´t expect a luxury hotel - but everything is very clean and very well kept and comfortable. Its a kind of a family hotel and guests become part of the family soon. And thats sometimes nicer than to stay in some luxury hotel where smiles already get billed. Finishing with some fair comments: the air condition is really very noisy. And if you try to sleep in a room at the pool side - mainly before 11pm - it can be a bit noisy from the bar area upstairs.

Room Tip: Pool side located rooms are a little noisy later in the evening - because of the up floor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dolce Vita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolce Vita Resort

Address: Mwungo 43 | Avenue Mwungo, 43 Kigobe Sud, Bujumbura 6870, Burundi
Location: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dolce Vita Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable hotel with a beautiful garden, bird nests. Located 5km from Bujumbura airport and near the Embassy of the United States. Breakfast and airport shuttle are offered. A very interesting rate is available if you have a long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Dolce Vita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dolce Vita Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.