We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Base in Buj” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added King's Conference Centre to your Saves list
King's Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Large, Bujumbura 2260, Burundi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bujumbura
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home Base in Buj”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my second trip to KCC, and it was still great! After flying at least 36 hours from Florida, it is a comforting pleasure to check in with the multi-lingual, caring staff. The rooms are so very clean, and hot showers were always available. The staff in the dining room do a fine job with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Also, laundry services are truly appreciated especially on long trips. The gym is well appointed and open during convenient hours. Having complimentary wi-fi internet was great and kept us connected to friends and family. I plan to stay at KCC during all our future visits to Bujumbura!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladd S, Public Relations Manager at King's Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of King's Conference Centre. We are glad to know the staff was helpful in greeting you after your flight. We appreciate your stay with us and will enjoy having you back in Burundi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    32
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
4
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On 3 recent trips to Bujumbura, we were housed at the King's conference Center. Priced similarly to other hotels in the capitol, we were quite pleased with the staff, the food the rooms, and the facility in general. Hotel was clean and well-kept, A/C functioned in most of the rooms in which we stayed. (We had to switch once b/c broken A/C.) Staff were agreeable and accommodating, food at the restaurant-- including the excellent breakfast buffet-- was quite tasty, well-presented, and quite quick, relative to other restaurants. The extraordinary thing at this hotel was its gym/workout facility. It was probably the most comprehensive such facility that I've ever seen in a conference hotel...anywhere in the world. And all here in Burundi!

Room Tip: Level 1 and 3 are cheapest; single beds. Level 2 are more expensive "deluxe", double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Coming back each night to this centre after a day spent at a hot, dirty, conference centre, was a marvellous contrast. Everything is clean and very good value for money. It is like a hotel, without having to pay hotel prices. The rooms are pleasant, with TVs that have international channels like CNN. The staff are extremely helpful, going out of their way to get material printed out for us. The business centre is useful as is the very modern gym. The prices for meals in the restuarant are good value, though the service is sometimes slow. The free breakfast buffet has far more available than a traditional continental breakfast.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure to have a strong internet connection, ask for a room in the block 205-201 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

It was my second time in this Hotel. Rooms are nice, clean, with TV and complementary mini-bar and internet. Well equipped conference room and the biggest conference theater in town. They have got a very modern fitness center with full time staff. Fresh food at the restaurant but you need to order in advance to avoid waiting before served. The staff are well trained and very friendly. I will recommend this Hotel , especially if you would like to contribute to their community projects .

Room Tip: The executive rooms are far better than the standards ones, though there are small difference on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed three times at this hotel purely for the value for money. It is a short distance from the WFP (PAM) but admittedly a little out of the way. Most taxi drivers won't know how to get there so the key is to say near le PAM and you'll see a King's conference sign right on the edge of their compound, and they're just around the corner from them. The hotel is more conference centre than hotel. rooms are very clean also very basic, air con is good and hot water is mostly available. On one occasion thy did run out of water and we resorted to cold bucket shower for lack of a kettle in the room. Would definitely opt for the superior rather than the twin room. Internet weak in rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Food was wonderful, very well done. I stayed at a hotel in Uganda a few weeks earlier and the food and rooms were nice, but definitely not at the quality of KCC. The room I stayed in was very nice, came with an air conditioner, flat screen television and had a mosquito net (very important, no?)... bathroom was nice as well, no issues there.

The staff was very friendly and helpful too. KCC also has a very nice gym with most of the modern equipment you would expect in a western gym (treadmills, eliptical machines, weights, etc.). KCC also has a business center with a number of computers available to be used by its guests. Overall the experience was very nice, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Conference Centre

Address: Avenue du Large, Bujumbura 2260, Burundi
Location: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax after a long day of meetings or escape for a weekend holiday. Featuring 30 tranquil rooms, hot water 24 hours a day, breakfast included, and complimentary access to The Kinindo Fitness Centre. Superior Rooms include Air Conditioning, mini bar, and TV. These are just some of the services and amenities we always include as part of your stay. Our goal is to channel profits back into projects that address key issues challenging this nation: Youth Development, Leadership Training, HIV/AIDS Education. As our guest or client, you can know that you are directly contributing to the transformation of this nation. Thank you for your presence, interest, and investment in KCC and Burundi’s future. We are evermore pleased to serve you at the King’s Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your King's Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.