We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
Avenue France Afrique, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Ouagadougou
lome
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I never to have a message and was told there was no such in-house service, but they had someone on retainership they call for guest. The person came adn after charging an exhorbitant price, just rubbed some cream all over my body and in 3mins claimed she had finished. I discovered this is a fraud-scheme between their front desk staff and outside service providers, as they were already negotiating how much the staff would be given out of the pay.Especially when they think you dont understand french. Its horrible!!!.

Breakfast nothing to write home about, very unexciting; l even saw cockroaches on the breakfast table(7/11/13) just next to the cornflakes. My room has not been cleaned for the 2days l have been here.

Room Tip: Just dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The lobby of the Hotel Palace is lovely, but misleading. The rooms are dated, the grouting was dirty or missing in the bathroom. The bed was actually as hard as if there was a board under a few blankets. I didn't look because I didn't want to know. The internet was iffy, the complimentary breakfast was sparse. They had only beer, no wine, to serve with dinner.

However, the staff were very friendly and the pool was great!

It's not a bad hotel if you go in knowing what you are getting. If you are thinking it's 5 star or 4 star, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a 3 star hotel with following plus and minus points -
Plus points - 1. Extremely large and very specious room
2. Similar large very specious bath room with spic and span clean large bath tub
3. Large screen tv
4. Very good wi-fi round the clock, connection not even dropping once during 4 days stay
5. Very specious lobby with lots are sitting options, quiet and clean. absolutely no disturbances
6. Reception efficient, helpful and prompt
7. Aircondition in the room is very good; so is in the lobby

Minus points -
1. Breakfast is basic. They should add some more varities and especially a live oven for omlettes options
2. The carpets are the main entrance and on the room floors' lobby need deep vaccum cleaning and should be cleaned regularly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I can’t imagine this one being much use to anyone...but you never know! I have to admit to not knowing where Bukino Faso was exactly until I Googled it. And I speak as a pilot of some forty years experience!

The hotel is situated some 5 km from the airport, about 20 minutes in average traffic. The road is surprisingly good considering where you are, well maintained with working traffic lights which, even more surprising, seem to be obeyed generally. Situated on a fairly major roundabout, it is a typical 70’s build that has had minor updating over the years. It proudly describes itself as a five star hotel, but how it makes that assumption can only be guessed at; five star it is not. I did not have time to establish how far from the city centre the hotel was...certainly some way though.

Staff are pleasant and helpful but allow extra time to check out as it is all very complicated. They will take Euros in cash.

The first room I was assigned was not made up but was for the most part similar to the second room I went to. Large and spaceous was one of the few selling points. Noisy, as it was overlooking that busy roundabout, it gave the impression that the workmen had left before they had done the last set of renovations. The bed was extremely hard, wi-fi reliable but very slow, and airconditioning from a large floor standing unit adequate for the 35c temperature outside.

The bathroom was interesting, no toilet paper supplied but a bidet was next to the loo so maybe it’s use is compulsory! The bath was huge and totally unsuitable for the situation with a extendable shower attachment but no shower curtain. One very rough towel was supplied and a small bar of soap...nothing else.

Breakfast was included and was very minimal; staying with local fare as the beast move here. The mango juice was excellent. Cold meats and a fresh assortment of breads made up the main menu but scrambled egg, probably powdered, with very hard small sausages, both cold when they should be hot, were the only cooked food. Edible, but absolutely nothing special.

Five star??? I don’t think so!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ouagadougou hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Avenue France Afrique, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Location: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.