We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lansmore Masa Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lansmore Masa Square to your Saves list
Lansmore Masa Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 54353, New CBD | Cnr Khama Crescent & Western Avenue, Gaborone, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gaborone
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was asked to attend a meeting in Gaborone and told that accommodation had been booked at paid for at the Lansmore Masa Square hotel. Before I left Cape Town, I called the hotel to verify that all was in place. They gave me a confirmation and so off I went. Was I shocked when I reached the hotel and only told, my room had been given out and that they had no rooms available. I was then referred to some lodge where I was forced to pay for the night unbudgeted for. Called them in the morning, the receptionist was not willing to send a driver for me saying check in is at 2pm. So I finally get back onlyto be told that their system was down and that it showed my room was occupied when in fact it was not. Seriously?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am so sorry to read your review on our hotel. It looks as though your booking was handled clumsily and this coupled to a drama with our property management system made for good reason to be annoyed with us. It is always disappointing to read a complaint on tripadvisor rather than hear if from the guest themselves but this notwithstanding I apologise sincerely for our failings.

Your experience, as this site alone will attest, is not typical of the standards we normally deliver and I am keen that you get to see us doing it right. To this end please contact me directly at the hotel when next you have cause to come to Gaborone. I would like to handle your reservation personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    67
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
9
5
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Louis, Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have visited Gaborone several times and have stayed in a number of hotels there. Lansmore hotel is a different place indeed. I was impressed by its modernity, from the condition of the building outside right to the rooms. I liked the room set-up which is very spacious with two sets of television, the other for viewing while in bed. The service staff were very friendly and attentive. Internet is free and very reliable also. There are several restaurants in the food court which forms part of the hotel complex and they offer a good variety of meals to choose from. This is very convenient for the busy business person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Lansmore - I do hope you will be back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phikwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel ecstatic are very good. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is professional and very polite.Management that supervises those behind the counter needs some improvement. Their customer service is wanting. They need to adopt the personal touch when dealing with their customers and not treat them like a sale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on your recent stay. I am disappointed you were not charmed by all you met amongst the team though I thank you for your feedback nonetheless.
I do hope you will be back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel lacks the charm of the Gaborone Sun but is welcome to have access to a more modern room. Quality of breakfast and room is that of a 3 star but in Gaborone it feels a bit higher. Would probably return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your largely positive feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry if breakfast disappointed you somewhat - we are always looking for ways to improve and take your feedback firmly on the chin.

I hope you will be back to see some improvements and please tell me personally if you do not
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Bu bizcation I mean the Lansmore fits into a new category of hotel that is not quite all business and not quite all vacanation...it caters very well to both categories of traveller. This is a new hotel in the city and built around a small square with shops and restuarants and bars which gives guests a good varierty of entertainment within a short walk. Free wifi is always a plus. Rooms are small but very well appointed with good quality linen, bedding and amenities. The mini-bar fridge was exteremely noisy but that switching it off did the trick so a minor issue. Room servive menu changes but is limited. definately worth a stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind feed back after your recent stay. I am so pleased that in the main your enjoyed your time with us; though my apologies for the noisy minibar!
Please come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have recently returned from a three night stay at the Lansmore Masa Square.

Having heard from several colleagues that accommodation in Gaborone is not typically too great, I was very satisfied with my stay.

The staff were exceptionally friendly (even the security staff). The room was spacious and clean and as such cannot find anything to complain about for the duration of my time in the hotel.

Having read previous reviews stating that Wi-Fi access was not good, I can state that I had no problem connecting and as such assume that any problems that were previously being experienced have been rectified.

If I had to return to Gaborone, I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - I am so pleased you had a good time - since you stayed we have upgraded our WIFI again to 10MB during the day (Very fast for Gaborone) and 20MB in the evenings. I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

New hotel (celebrated its 1 year anniversary while I was there) in the business district. Staff is extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. There was not a single request I had that was not met with a smile. Rooms are large and well appointed. When I arrived, the safe was not working, but was fixed in no more than 20 minutes. My team had delays both on arrival and on departure, yet the front desk was unfazed and all changes were handled with minimum fuss. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, as well as concierge services (we arranged a great trip to Mokolodi with their help). Breakfast was a great spread, but even so, extra requests were accommodated without a single question.
On the down side: there is construction going on the south-east side, so rooms there are bound to be more noisy. Work starts at 7 AM and ends at 5 PM, so be aware of this, if you like to sleep late. (On the upside, they are moving so quickly, they will probably be done in a couple of months, and you will have another shopping center handy). The other thing is distance from anything else in the city - a vehicle is a must when staying there.
All things considered, it was however a great experience, and a hotel where I'd return anytime.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the SE side while construction of the new mall is underway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your full and detailed review - we are collectively thrilled you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansmore Masa Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansmore Masa Square

Address: Plot 54353, New CBD | Cnr Khama Crescent & Western Avenue, Gaborone, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansmore Masa Square 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lansmore Masa Square Hotel, a business-first luxury hotel that is redefining the hospitality experience of business travellers in Africa.As part of Lonrho Hotels,Lansmore Masa Square Hotel is uniquely positioned to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience each and every time they stay. Our knowledge of Africa enables us to exceed expectations - from having the freshest fruit and mueslis at breakfast through to freshly ground African coffee and an uninterrupted power supply and internet access via our own designated satellite connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lansmore Masa Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansmore Masa Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.