We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Gabs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansmore Masa Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lansmore Masa Square to your Saves list
Lansmore Masa Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 54353, New CBD | Cnr Khama Crescent & Western Avenue, Gaborone, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gaborone
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Gabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staying in Gabs for business and LMS was the perfect choice. Very new, modern, comfortable, service is excellent, breakfast included and delicious, free wireless (yay!). Hopefully they'll get their gym up and running soon! Will stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are all thrilled you liked the place and that you will be back. With warm regards

Rupert

Rupert Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    67
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
9
5
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The ratings from the TA community prompted me to stay at the Lansmore, and I must say it was a very good experience indeed. While my room was a bit small, it was very well laid out and everything was very new and clean. The bathrobes were a nice touch and so were the low-fat nibbles in the mini-bar (sans any beer for some reason!)...The room also had a work desk (without a chair) and a table that seemed redundant - removing it would actually give one more space...

The folks at housekeeping were efficient and produced an Ironing board/Iron for me in under 5-minutes...Check-in and Check-out were also handled efficiently by the front desk staff who made everything very smooth.

Lansmore is linked to a mall via an open quadrangle - where you have a choice of two other restaurants: Capellos & Beef Baron Grill and Rib. So all told you have a pretty decent dining options. That said, the hotel's kitchen is no slouch...Breakfast was very good indeed. They turned out an egg-white omelette for me without any fuss and it was cooked to perfection.

I really hope Lansmore continues to deliver the level of service I experienced. The Gym not being operational was a bit of a let down, but I really hope they get it operational before my next visit in January!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your very kind report on our hotel. I am sorry we deprived you of a chair to sit and work at - very clumsy of us - but pleased you had a good time here as well as Masa Square itself.
With kind regards and thank you again
Rupert

Rupert Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I loved that the room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Plenty wall plugs in the room for those of us that travel with a lot of gadgets. Filter coffee with and the plunger a nice touch. Espretto had great cuppaccino. I'll be coming back...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel - we are all so pleased you had a good time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Rupert

Rupert Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was one of the first guests to stay in Lansmore Masa Square. and since then I went back I think about 7 or 8 times. I am also staying there for long visit 2 weeks or more. I think Gaborone needed this type of Hotel for a long time. Also the staff and Management is always helpful and friendly. Also willing to discuss Corporate rates!!

I do not think I will go elsewhere soon!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
How lovely to read your recent review of our place - how thrilling tot think we will be your home from home whilst in Gaborone.

Thank you and see you soon

With warm regards

Rupert

Rupert Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for a week as we were working in Gaborone. This hotel is new - a couple of teething problems - but overall good, clean rooms with ample working space, reasonable internet and dining options. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.I was personally sorry that the gym was not yet operational as there are almost no other workout options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of our place and your tolerance of our opening bugs - I am so sorry that you missed the gym - I am hoping to have it open early in the new year.

I am really thrilled that you found the team to be warm and friendly - that above all else means the most.

I do hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards

Rupert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I travel frequently to Botswana on business and I will probably stay here again. One of our party needed medical assistance and the staff was fast to arrange a doctor, solicitous and efficient. On the regular issues, I was very pleased with the quality of the rooms, public space and the food. Room service was fast and reasonable. The room was maintained well during our stay. Internet did not work, but this has been a constant problem at the Walmont Grand Palm as well. Only the Mondior seems to have consistent internet service. Staff was friendly, but waitstaff in the restaurant still somewhat inexperienced. Breakfast options good. Agree with the other reviewer on the problems with coffee/tea refills at breakfast, but this is a perennial problem. In over four years of business trips in Botswana, I have always had to ask repeatedly to get more coffee (at every hotel where I have stayed!) The coffee and tea provided in the room was good quality. Bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Do not stay near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your generally positive review of the hotel - I am so pleased you had a good time though must apologise for some of the shortcomings you experienced. We are working hard to iron out some of the new hotel 'bugs' that beset us. I do hope we will see you here again soon.

kind regards

Rupert Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the Lansmore in October 2012 and have to say that it is a very nice hotel. The rooms are spacious and the staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel is brand new and they are still going through some growing pains as the aircon and TV in my room did not work. When i mentioned this to the reception staff they moved my into another room within 5 min, so that was great service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gabs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert E, General Manager at Lansmore Masa Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your objective review of our hotel - I am genuinely sorry for the shortcomings you encountered but pleased to see that overall you enjoyed the place and especially that you found the team friendly and helpful. Please do come again soon

Rupert Elliott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansmore Masa Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansmore Masa Square

Address: Plot 54353, New CBD | Cnr Khama Crescent & Western Avenue, Gaborone, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansmore Masa Square 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lansmore Masa Square Hotel, a business-first luxury hotel that is redefining the hospitality experience of business travellers in Africa.As part of Lonrho Hotels,Lansmore Masa Square Hotel is uniquely positioned to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience each and every time they stay. Our knowledge of Africa enables us to exceed expectations - from having the freshest fruit and mueslis at breakfast through to freshly ground African coffee and an uninterrupted power supply and internet access via our own designated satellite connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lansmore Masa Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansmore Masa Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.