We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drymen travels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm

Save Saved
You added Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bonnington Farm, Molepolole Road, Gaborone, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gaborone
George, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Drymen travels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

the first surprise is the address "Bonnington Farm" I am looking forward to cows and horses and the outdoors? maybe a lion or two. Well, well welcome to Las Vegas. Definitly not 3rd world, reception well oiled clean and neat with smiles all round and a see through lobby with an inviting glimps of a very neat and well kept swimming pool area. Brollies up , shaded tables, and long cool cocktails.
Fortunatly I did not come to Africa to sit on the internet, I came for sun shine ,blue skies and wide open spaces of which I got plenty.
The service at the pool did take a while but being hungry for a good lunch does seem to make time drag and the food was good and worth the wait.
I found the room a bit small compared to similar hotels but I was not there to have a party in my room, however would have liked a bit more space.
An uneventful check out with no problems even though it was early, the coffee was good.
The view from my room over the bush plains was very soothing and was overwhelmingly cluttered with blue sky and lots and lots of wide open Africa.
The roads are good , the city is clean , the people friendly and helpful.
As I find gambling a very expensive boreing waste of time, I did not go to the casino and therefore am unable to comment.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor, I think it was 517, was right next to the elevator but I was not bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    52
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
7
14
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am based in Gaborone, so it was a rare 'treat' to get to stay in the Grand Palm during a recent conference. I have been a few times for drinks and social, and couldn't complain, other than the external aesthetic which is dull but not really much that can be done.

The experience of staying here, however, dulled my excitement considerably. First, the highs: the dinner, lunch and breakfast buffets are decent, a diverse selection of well-prepared food - there's something for most tastes and appetites - the only danger being to take too much. The gardens are nice, the amenities reasonable, and the service is better than average for Gabs (though could be more efficient and attentive to detail). I also like that they offer free pick ups and drop offs to the airport - a big plus.

The disappointments, though, were quite fundamental - firstly, the front desk systems broke down 3 times during my stay causing significant disruption across the hotel; second, the hotel telephone system - which was supposed to be offline for 1 day for repairs - seemed to be broken for all 4 days; third, the noise from the bar and the lifts carries into the rooms, day and night, and disturbs sleep; fourth, the rooms - bedroom and bathroom - seem tired and in need of refit; fifth, the internet service is poor and grotesquely overpriced; sixth, the business centre in the next door convention centre were unable to properly handle a sizable but not ordinarily overbearing requirement for printing and copying (and the hours of business on the door are not the reality).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is by no means a a five star but it would be a very good 4 if it wasn't for a couple of issues.
The big issue here is unacceptably poor internet service that they have the temerity to charge huge prices for while it basically just doesn't work beyond very basic low bandwith use. Also the 15$ a day charge is per device and can only be transferred by logging off one device through a ridiculously bad password/ token system. The country has quite good broadband services so there is no excuse for this failing.

The rooms are a bit tired but with a new Lonhro hotel opening nearby there is a big refurb going on.

Other than that its a nice hotel the grounds are lovely and the staff, like everyone you meet in Botswana, are exceptionally nice and helpful. The food is above average. and their steakhouse restaurant is very good and very well run.

Room Tip: The refurb is being done floor by floor so look for a new room when they come onstream soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Comfortable rooms and public areas. Super convenient access to the adjacent conference centre. We ate there a couple of times and the food was good too. Service is a bit sluggish. WiFi is not free in the room, which is annoying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

good & best hotel in goborone...very good breakfast spread..nice bar & restaurants...limited options for vegetarians..rooms are old but clean..however room service is horrible, slow & dull.
they dont change towels on daily basis..have to ask for it..even a simple request for bottle opener takes 30 mins. check in & check out is still in primitive ages..taking 20 mins ..internet is big big problem ...

Room Tip: air conditioned ins few rooms is horrible hence pls ask the receptionist to provide new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed there for two nights during our recent trip to Botswana. It felt like we were in a 4-5star hotel in Aus. Clean, neat rooms.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is well equipped and maintained, clean and offers a very good standard of service. Although the rooms feel a little dated (and excessively carpeted), the internet and AC works and the food is of a high standard, with an outdoor cafe with very pleasant live music or the Beef Baron steak restaurant to choose from. In short, a good choice for a business trip to Gaborone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm

Address: Bonnington Farm, Molepolole Road, Gaborone, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Walmont At The Grand Palm Hotel Gaborone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.