We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and shoddy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Park Resort

Lion Park Resort
Portion 184, Portion 12 Crocodile Pools, No. 15-KO, Gaborone, Botswana
+267 73 29 29 69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Gaborone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wave pool, Amusement rides, Super tubes, Paintball, Dune buggies, Lion Viewing
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Run down and shoddy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This water park contains some ancient amusement park rides and a fairly new roller coaster. Food and drinks are available at inflated prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tired, Run Down, Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not quite sure where the "resort" part comes from. They have a loop the loop roller coaster that ony runs is 6 or more people ride it (due to covering the cost of electricity apparently) which is hard to achieve on the 3 occassions we have been (admitadly winter). The pool is leaky, looks dirty and a bit dangerous and is a lot smaller than the pictures make it look. The theme park area looks like a long forgotten paint peeling ghost park that wouldnt look out of place as the setting for an episode of Scooby Doo. They do also offer paint balling and dune buggies - but we havent tried those yet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewald_13, General Manager at Lion Park Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The Lion Park Resort choose to conduct most of its extensive maintenance programs during the winter period, which is from mid May to mid September when attendance is low due to the cold weather and closed water attractions.

At the time of the reviewers visit the water attractions were closed and we were busy with a major refurbishment program at our water attractions. The pools were drained and all the steel structures were shot blasted, a dusty, noisy and time consuming task, in preparation for repainting all the supporting steel structures. This is a messy process which had been finalised prior to the summer period with all the structures repainted.

In addition, we were busy constructing a big thatched roof with paved area to provide our guests with additional shade during the blazingly hot summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“winter visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

decided to take my daughter to visit the resort as we had some spare time and she wanted to do something "fun" so drove from Gabs. Arrived and when we got tehre it was very quiet, it seemed we were the only guests, staff very friendly and one man showed us around. As it was winter it was free entry and the just buy tickets at Pula 6. Asit was under going some maintenace we decided that we would go on the off road buggys and then head back to Gabs. think it would be a good place to visit in the summer when fully open - it was rather like Southport in the UK in winter.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botswana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice for kiddies only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Grounds dirty, broken plastic chairs, overpriced awful fast foods. Dustbins overflowing.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewald_13, General Manager at Lion Park Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
My assumption is that the reviewer visited the Lion Park Resort on 12 or 13 May 2012. The Lion Park Resort hosted a massive music festival in its music festival area on 11 May 2012. This music festival started at 19:00 on 11 May and finished at 06:00 the following morning. Our clean up team worked for four days to return the music festival area to its pristine condition.

It is important to note that the music festival area is separate from the entertainment section and not accessible from our entertainment section. However, certain areas will be visible from our entertainment section.

We pride ourselves on our ability to keep our resort immaculately clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“kids paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Kids love the water features. Would be improved by better catering

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Park Resort also viewed

Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 
Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 

Been to Lion Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.