We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed at the Hotel Presidente and was pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente Luanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Presidente Luanda to your Saves list
Hotel Presidente Luanda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Luanda
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I stayed at the Hotel Presidente and was pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I had not been to Luanda since 2002 and I was surprised with all the construction going on and the traffic jams that got so much worse.
I stayed again at the Hotel Presidente and was pleasantly surprised with the renovated lobby area, rooms and the lifts which are now modern and fast.
The restaurant area has not changed and the décor is a bit dated.
The food , as in my last stay, was very good and the staff very friendly troughout the hotel.
The Internet is free, both in the rooms and in the bar area. The speed is reasonable.
I stayed on the 25th floor and the views to the bay of Luanda are great.
Pity I was not able to do my jogging on the promenade along the bay as the access was restricted due to the construction to upgrade the “Marginal” into a modern and large boulevard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    29
    16
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Worst reception staff I have ever dealt with.. room was 2 star at best... upside was the bar and restaraunt staff were great guys.
Lots of reports about the smell in the rooms, its just the air-con on 24/7. Stayed on the 26th floor and it was like looking down at Hades..! My first time in Angola since 1975 and what a change.

Room Tip: See the manager on arrival... the staff are a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Great hotel pity it not have a pool.Food is great esp the buffet.Beware the front of the hotel is getting a facelift by putting an glass front and the noise during the day if they near your room is unbearable.Staff seemed friendly enough havent found them to be rude as others have said.Very expensive as you are around $90 for the buffet but this is angola where bread is around $2.Not in the best of areas as a lot of street people hang around the hotel outside and security dont do anything that i see to move them on

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Presidente has been renovated a bit. The reception area is looking tres moderne, but the rooms are still 1970s looking. The dinning area and bar are a bit retro as well. The place is expensive for what you get, but this is Luanda we are talking about. The real downer is how rude and unhelpful the staff are. I consistently have problems checking in. I was yelled at by the restaurant manager for walking into the dining area 10 minutes early for their $80 buffet. The service in the bar area is non-existent. I had to yell into the kitchen area to find someone to get me a beer. On check-out I ended up getting into a heated arguement with reception as to whether my CC had a pin. Finally he wrote out a paper CC receipt. On return home I was phoned by my CC company to say that unauthorized charges had been made. Thanks Presidente! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parede, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

The hotel has a great location in the center/Baixa and overlooking the Bay of Luanda.The hotel rooms have been renovated.The buffet and the food is one os the best in town.There is no swimming pool but you can get towels to the "ilha" beaches 10 minutes by car if there is no traffic jam. The hotel staff is very frendly.The hotel has quick access 5/10 minutes to the main restaurants and bars of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

The staff are rude... I nearly always have problems at check in... there is always a strange smell in the rooms... the decor is straight from 1973.

However this is Luanda, and all in all the Hotel isn't too bad. The food is surprisingly good, the bar is an OK place to spend an evening (WIFI works 75% of the time). The rooms are kept very clean, and you get used to the musty smell. The location on the Marginal is one of the 'better' parts of the City near the Ihla and it doesn't feel too claustrophobic.

All in all, if the hotel was anywhere else in the World, it would get slated, however this is Angola, and it meets African 3 star standard - and i'd rather sacrifice decor & service for decent food & cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

In 2002 I used to stay in Presidente. The restaurant was ok but the acomodation was poor ( I changed to Alvalade).

Today it is better and much more confortable. Tha restaurant still the same: very good for the Luanda standards.

Presidente is a very good option for business but the price is still high.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente Luanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.