We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use to be a good Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Wou

Chez Wou
Av. Mortala Mohamed 50 R/C | Ilha do Cabo, Luanda, Angola
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 85 Restaurants in Luanda
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Use to be a good Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Chez Wou was one of my favourite restaurants in the early 2000's - unfortunately it has gone down hill since then.The special Whole Fish and Whisky Flambéed Bananas was a hit.The service is still quick - but the food quality has been disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Hmm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Luanda has only a couple of chinese restaurants, but I would'nt go to Chez Wou. The food is no where close to any variant of chinese food that I have eaten before. The service is patchy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Used to be Better, Somewhat Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Chez Wou is a Chinese restaurant located at the beginning of the string of restaurants that are on the beach side of the Ilha. It is a nice looking building, which also has a hotel section.

I used to go there for lunch very often when we were doing construction in the Chicala area and the food was always decent. They serve the typical Chinese fare and it is acceptable, but doesn't knock your socks off and having you wanting to come back for more. Which I think is too bad, because I have had some outstanding dishes there in the beginning.

One other aspect of the place is that it is pretty expensive for what you get and I think that is due to the lack of good Chinese places in Luanda. Being one of maybe 4 Chinese restaurants, I suppose they feel they can charge what they want.

Place has a good atmosphere and the service is very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“to renew”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

it used to be ok years ago but so aged now...
the good menu, the prof employees, the quality are away.
Sad to say WOU is no longer WOW but now Whop

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Favourite place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

this is my most frequently visit restaurant. Good ambiance, serving was fast, and the food are reasonably priced

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Wou also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Chez Wou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Wou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.