We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Lebanese” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Dar Lebanese Restaurant

Al Dar Lebanese Restaurant
Rua do Salador Allende, Luanda, Angola
923 336 418
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Luanda
Cuisines: Lebanese
Restaurant details
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
602 reviews 602 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 298 cities Reviews in 298 cities
929 helpful votes 929 helpful votes
“Standard Lebanese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Efficient Lebanese which also does excellent pastries and cakes. Cafe style restaurant which is a bit noisy. A bit more expensive than El Amir (Opposite Movicel) run by another branch of the same family and often don't have Tabouleh. I also prefer El Amir's restaurant which is quieter. But Aldar has a better selection of cakes and sweets. El Amir has a fresh juice bar though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stellar service, Solid food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an extremely handy, efficient and delicious place for lunch. My wife avails of their great grub almost daily. Wait staff is the tops in Luanda in my opinion--a mix of Angolans and Lebanese who are never afraid to scan the room for customers trying to make eye contact (admittedly, a pet peeve of mine!). Waiters remembered my name and even my favorite lunch combo after a nearly 2 year absence from the place! No beer, but that's standard fare at most (all?) Lebanese restaurants in town. Bathroom is spotless and the chef prepares all food in plain view of the dining area. Can't recall ever having a bad reaction to anything our 200+ collective visits. Do yourself a favor and get hummus and a salad to go. The cost of parsley alone in Luanda supermarkets alone makes this a no-brainer to grab some extra tabbouleh. They also have a very nice little bakery on premises. Would love to see them open a more chic dinner-oriented establishment!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

From the friendly welcome to leaving content this is a great pit stop for a reasonably priced healthy meal. We took the managers suggestion of meze and a selection of grilled meats. Hummus was rich and tasty and came with a bottomless basket of great bread. Meats were cooked perfectly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Firstly, you really need to take this for what it is. A very casual restaurant which also seems to do a roaring trade on take away so it's not really the place for a romantic dinner for two, but it doesn't sell itself this way. The service was fantastic and they were right on the ball the whole time. We didn't get a menu, we simply had some suggestions made of mezze (salad, baba ghanoush, hummus etc) followed by some grilled lamb and chicken all served with copious amounts of flat bread. We really enjoyed it and the bill was really very reasonable. There is also a massive deserts counter (we didn't actually try any of the cakes, but we were given some biscuits at the end of our meal) and there is also a bakery where you can buy loads of different breads. We bought a packet of their flat breads - very tasty! We would definitely come back here, it was a great little casual dining place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Grilled to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We visited AL Dar for the first time during dinner for a big group and ordered their dinner platter which had a sample of most of their grilled meats. Since that night I was hooked. The meats were all very tender, but what I loved about the platter was the pita bread that was laid underneath all the meat. By the end of the meal when all the meat had been devoured, the fat soaked pita break was lying at the bottom. One bite of that juicy bread and I knew this was the place for grilled meats especially Middle Eastern / Mediterranean style. Even though my time was brief in Luanda, this was a perfect place for lunch and even dinner. We had to finish a project during our time and we did not want to eat out every day at lunch time owing to the horrendous traffic. The solution; take away from Al Dar. We would get our order through one of our office workers to the restaurant and we would get hot and juicy Shwarmas, falafel sandwiches from the restaurant. The meat was always succulent. I loved most all the food options from the place and I would highly recommend it to anyone going out to Luanda to give this place a try.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dar Lebanese Restaurant also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Al Dar Lebanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Dar Lebanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.