We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, a shame about the decor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carambola - Skyna Hotel

Carambola - Skyna Hotel
Avenida de Portugal, No. 29, Luanda, Angola
+244 222 670 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 94 Restaurants in Luanda
Price range: $34 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A fine hotel restaurant, serving the very best of international and local cusine in a buffet setting.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good food, a shame about the decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Feels like a Soviet era dinning hall which is a shame as the staff are friendly, although far from efficient and the food is good. As a long term guest at the hotel I can testify that the chefs make an effort to vary the menu and some of the seafood dishes are great, especially considering it is a buffet. Save room for the cheese as they have some of the better samples available in Luanda. Breakfast also good but watch the coffee which is really strong instant, for a 4-star hotel I'd expect filter as standard.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Breakfasts were top quality European standard buffet style.
Dinners were either 2 choice set menu, or buffet. Set was 2 of the buffet choices so really only limited to choice and quantity not quality. I had plenty - and I'm a big eater.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buffet Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I went for lunch and they opened late. Table service was extremely slow

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We hosted a function and the finger foods we were served were fantastic. The Building itself is not complete yet, but I am sure they have the best bathrooms in Luanda.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I visited the hotel for a couple of days as a member of a conference team although I was staying elsewhere in the city. The restaurant is a large and open room and the tables are not cramped in, giving you plenty of room to manoeuvre.
I was wary of what food there would be for me to eat as I am regarded as a 'fussy' eater (no veg, rices or pasta for me thanks) but the selection on offer from the buffet tureens was fantastic. A bit of sirloin in bolognese, a bit of pork in mango sauce, plenty of potatoes...of course there was lots of choice that wasn't to my taste also but the starters options were plentiful and the array of desserts was just awesome.
If I had one tiny little criticism it would be that the cold drinks could be more readily available and served.
Having said that, even given the expense of eating just about anywhere in Luanda, I will certainly be trying to eat there again on my next business trip.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola - Skyna Hotel also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Carambola - Skyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carambola - Skyna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.