We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly friendly and accommodating owners and staff; very nice accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse

Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse
Save
You added Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse to your Saves list
Beco de Mocambique, n0 16 | Bairro Cruzeiro, Luanda 0000, Angola   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Luanda B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly friendly and accommodating owners and staff; very nice accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

if you've never been to Luanda, you will want to stay at Rouxinol. Though a little more expensive than other guesthouses, the extra price is worth it. The owners are unbelievably friendly and accommodating and the staff were wonderful. Room was well-appointed, Wi-Fi service, and had electricity the entire time of my stay as they've thought of the comfort of their guests at every turn. Extra thanks for going well out of their way to take me to the airport on a Friday night through terrible traffic when my arranged driver did not show up on time. They made sure I got on my plane to ensure that I was not stranded at the airport given my late arrival to the airport. I could not have asked for better hospitality and concern for my well-being being so far away from home on business. Thank you, again, for providing a bit of calm and sanctity in the hustle and bustle of Luanda. Also, the location was extremely convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Luanda, Angola is a very difficult city, the most expensive place in which to work in the world. The Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse is an oasis of tranquility in the exorbitantly priced mediocrity of Luanda. Foad and Farah have built a very comfortable place and take great care of their guests. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood near the American Embassy, not far from downtown. Breakfast is excellent and dinners can be arranged. I work in Angola for six weeks at a time and only stay at the Rouxinol. The internet is good enough to video Skype, and each room has a desk and fridge. Kitchenettes are also available.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stayed at the Rouxinol whilst on business, the rooms are lovely and well equipped with your own drinks and snacks bar. Satellite TV and wireless internet made my stay a pleasure. The English speaking owners are very guest orientated nothing being too much trouble for them. The standard of food served is good. The Guest house is centrally located thus enabling the traveler to save on transportation costs. The Rouxinol has its own taxi service with English speaking drivers which also helps a lot if you do not speak Portuguese. Nigel Pepperell South Africa

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Anyone who travels to Angola frequently knows how hard it is to get a decent room for a reasonable price without having to book months in advance. Rouxinol is the best option in town for me. Owners and staff are very friendly, rooms are clean and services provided actually work. No problems with internet and food is fine too. Also, very safe place which is always a plus in Luanda. Much better than any of the 3 or 4 star hotels that leave much to be desired and have prices of 7 star hotels…

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at Rouxinol and enjoyed them all. The internationally minded Persian owners that have travelled the world before setting up this guesthouse a few years ago go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast yum, and the internet works well. While Luanda is an extremely expensive place to stay (320 a night here), I still felt that the transportation provided by the hotel was a bit pricey. Make sure to hire a car and driver to get around the city and leave the rest to Rouxinol.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I have been coming to Luanda since 1998 and back then the choice of hotels and guest houses was very limited. It was also nearly impossible to find a room unless you booked weeks in advance. Today all that has changed and there is a wider variety and finding a room is so much easier.
If you have a budget and don;t want to spend the normal $400 a night for a room in Luanda, then the Rouxinol is a very good option. It has all you need to make your stay enjoyable and having the owners on site means that most problems or needs are dealt with immediately.
Some rooms are larger than others and I particularly like the new wing. With 21 rooms it is a boutique hotel and offers the weary traveler a welcomed oasis from the madness of Luanda traffic. Since I discovered it a year ago it is the only place i stay in. There is also a spa within two mins walking from the hotel and there one can find pilates, yoga and treatments. Having this so close by is a huge plus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Very comfortable, enjoyable, clean and secure guesthouse located in Miramar. Staff is very nice and very helpful. Guesthouse offers good breakfast, lunch and dinner. I would recommend it without hesitation. Staid there twice already, three weeks the first time and two weeks this time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse

Address: Beco de Mocambique, n0 16 | Bairro Cruzeiro, Luanda 0000, Angola
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prominent suburb of Cruzeiro, close to the embassies in Miramar and the business center of town, we are strategically placed for the business-minded and diplomatic traveler. We are also a short distance away from Luanda International Airport. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouxinol Luxury Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.