We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place, close to everything but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility of Africa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lokuthula Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lokuthula Lodges to your Saves list
Lokuthula Lodges
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Vic Falls Family Holiday
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved this place, close to everything but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility of Africa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The lodges are lovely and every thing is provided for a self-catering stay, even the towels! Just make sure you close the windows or the monkeys will be in to raid your kitchen!
The Boma resturant does a wonderful African themed dinner and you are free to use the pool during your stay. Would absolutely recommend the Safari Lodge Hotel for sundowner drinks (beware - the sunsets in minutes so make sure you get there in time!) and definately the most amazing place to have breakfast looking out over the waterhole and the Zambezi valley.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    63
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keansburg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I could not have asked for a better experience in Zimbabwe than by staying at Lokuthula and meeting the people that work there. The resort itself is beautiful, and really has the flavor of Africa inbedded in the design of the units and the lodge. Loved having the warthogs coming up to the patio everyday and seeing the monkeys on the walkways and trees. But - you do have to make sure those unit windows and doors are closed and locked if you're not around......or the monkeys WILL come in - we learned this first hand!!
We had a two bedroom unit. Downstairs had a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Upstairs was a loft type room with 2 twin beds and a large walk in closet. The restaurant was very nice, the food is good. The service is excellent. We had arranged our daily excursions prior to our arrival using Shearwater, so not sure how the lodge manages daily trips or safaris. Your unit is cleaned everyday and the grounds were spotless. I have no complaint at all. The only challenge was paying for things in a town that does not accept credit cards. Everything in Victoria Falls must be paid for in cash. There are the rare exceptions, but for the most part, you must have US Cash or Euros. Some of my traveling partners used Travelers Checks at the lodge for meals, but it takes some convincing to get it accepted as payment. I would suggest just bringing cash. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would recommend Lokuthula over all the other hotels we saw.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg , South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We exchanged RCI Timeshare to Lokuthula Lodge. The whole unit was clean , well maintained and serviced by very capable staff. We recommend that you visit Lokuthula. he use of the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's facilites go a long way to add to your experince. The shuttle to town and the wonderful , positive staff members make your stay even easier.Go without any expectations and you 'll be blwon away. Zimbabwe cannot get enough tourists !!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We did a timeshare exchange into the Lokuthula Lodge @ Victoria Falls. We were happy we did. The place is clean, well kept, very complete, and good service--anything we needed we asked for and we had it in 5 minutes. Very pleasant staff. Our plan was to stay for two nights and we are sorry we didn't stay longer. We didn't have time for the pool or other amenities, but we ate at the Boma within the property which was a wonderful experience - great food and great show. There were some bugs, but the mosquito nets were helpful. As long as you take precautions, you are fine. And it was rainy time of year in Africa --so this had nothing to do with the resort but the location and time of year. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Sad about the review rarero made about this place. I am from Ireland and had never experienced this kind of place before. We stayed in a three bedroomed cabana which was very beautiful and African in decor with warm vivid colours, thatched roof and African wooden furniture. It was very roomy, clean and elegant. Every morning we enjoyed sitting on the veranda and watching the monkeys and the warthog in our garden. It is five minutes from the Victoria Falls and there is a shuttle bus that takes you to the town. The main hotel stands looking over the watering hole and is the perfect place to sit and watch the elephants, lions and buffalo while sipping a cocktail or martini as the sun sets over the African bush. If you are looking for nightlife the hotel has a barbeque with tribal dancers one of the nights and a couple of bars dotted around the place. Because it is built in the natural habitat of the wildlife a gaurd accomapanies you at nighttime to your Cabana. It adds to the thrill of the place. In Vic Falls itself there are great bars and a couple of restaurants. I recommend dinner in the Vic falls Hotel. It will take you back in time and is fairly reasonable considering you are eating in one of Zims top hotels. The service is extremely attentive and you really feel like a king in this place. There is a casino across the road from the Vic falls hotel and a nightclub. Rafting on the river is big business along with bungi jumping. There is lots to do here and I would definetly recommend for every age group.

  • Liked — The size of the accomodation and the hotel attached to the accomodation
  • Disliked — nothing - more than what we expected
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We booked this resort thru RCI. Upon arrival after a long trip from the USA I was asked to sign a waiver in case I am bitten by snakes or baboons ,the resort would not be liable. Boy did that send a red flag. I asked to see the rooms before I finalized the checkin. The rooms were fine except the monkeys come in thru the canvas covered window and they may cause some disarray to your place. The lower floor has a zipup canvas cover that may be an easy way for a snake or babboon to enter at their leisure. You bet I did not stay....I am not into widelife entering my sleeping quarters anytime they feel like it. If you are used to sleeping in a tent ,that's the kind of security and protection you will have. You truly don 't want to have a medical emergency in Zimbabwe where there are no supplies. Rci may want to reconsider having this in their exchange options.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

The rooms are just like the pictures. It is like luxury camping as it has big canvans blinds to the private outdoor area. It is attached to the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge which has its own water hole that elephants and others come to drink from, particularly at sunset. It also has the Boma restuarant in its grounds which is well worth visiting for one of their cultural nights. During the day the drummers practice which is amazing in itself. The favourite thing was the warthogs that walk around freely in the gardens. I had my children with me and the were excited to have wildlife that was harmless all around them. However, dont try to pat the warthogs. We saw an American tourist try and they dont like it. Noone was hurt. We would love to go back there. You can google pictures of the hotel easily. There are plenty of activities and prices at Victoria Safari Lodge were pretty much in line with local tour operators. Highlights included the lion walk, where you can actually walk and pat lions, the helicoptor ride over the falls and the Boma restuarant.

  • Liked — Luxury room but felt like a tent, the pool and the warthogs
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lokuthula Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokuthula Lodges

Address: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lokuthula Lodges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a natural bush environment adjacent to the Zambezi National Park, Lokuthula’s luxurious self-catering lodges offer stylish comfort, flexibility and privacy. The 2 and 3-bedroomed lodges, sleeping 6 and 8 respectively, are furnished in a riot of African colours and are fully equipped and serviced daily. 8 of the 37 lodges may be booked on Bed and Breakfast basis. Additional facilities include a 3-tier swimming pool and children’s playground. The Boma – Place of Eating and MaKuwa-Kuwa Restaurant (both award-winning restaurants) are on the same resort complex. Situated just 4 kilometres from the mighty Victoria Falls, Lokuthula Lodges are ideally situated for families and groups to enjoy the wide range of activities on offer in the region. Lokuthula Lodges have consistently been awarded RCI (Resort Condominium International) Gold Crown status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lokuthula Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokuthula Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lokuthula Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.