We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lokuthula Lodges great place to get in touch with nature and Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lokuthula Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lokuthula Lodges
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL DEAL!!!
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lokuthula Lodges great place to get in touch with nature and Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Sad about the review rarero made about this place. I am from Ireland and had never experienced this kind of place before. We stayed in a three bedroomed cabana which was very beautiful and African in decor with warm vivid colours, thatched roof and African wooden furniture. It was very roomy, clean and elegant. Every morning we enjoyed sitting on the veranda and watching the monkeys and the warthog in our garden. It is five minutes from the Victoria Falls and there is a shuttle bus that takes you to the town. The main hotel stands looking over the watering hole and is the perfect place to sit and watch the elephants, lions and buffalo while sipping a cocktail or martini as the sun sets over the African bush. If you are looking for nightlife the hotel has a barbeque with tribal dancers one of the nights and a couple of bars dotted around the place. Because it is built in the natural habitat of the wildlife a gaurd accomapanies you at nighttime to your Cabana. It adds to the thrill of the place. In Vic Falls itself there are great bars and a couple of restaurants. I recommend dinner in the Vic falls Hotel. It will take you back in time and is fairly reasonable considering you are eating in one of Zims top hotels. The service is extremely attentive and you really feel like a king in this place. There is a casino across the road from the Vic falls hotel and a nightclub. Rafting on the river is big business along with bungi jumping. There is lots to do here and I would definetly recommend for every age group.

  • Liked — The size of the accomodation and the hotel attached to the accomodation
  • Disliked — nothing - more than what we expected
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We booked this resort thru RCI. Upon arrival after a long trip from the USA I was asked to sign a waiver in case I am bitten by snakes or baboons ,the resort would not be liable. Boy did that send a red flag. I asked to see the rooms before I finalized the checkin. The rooms were fine except the monkeys come in thru the canvas covered window and they may cause some disarray to your place. The lower floor has a zipup canvas cover that may be an easy way for a snake or babboon to enter at their leisure. You bet I did not stay....I am not into widelife entering my sleeping quarters anytime they feel like it. If you are used to sleeping in a tent ,that's the kind of security and protection you will have. You truly don 't want to have a medical emergency in Zimbabwe where there are no supplies. Rci may want to reconsider having this in their exchange options.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

The rooms are just like the pictures. It is like luxury camping as it has big canvans blinds to the private outdoor area. It is attached to the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge which has its own water hole that elephants and others come to drink from, particularly at sunset. It also has the Boma restuarant in its grounds which is well worth visiting for one of their cultural nights. During the day the drummers practice which is amazing in itself. The favourite thing was the warthogs that walk around freely in the gardens. I had my children with me and the were excited to have wildlife that was harmless all around them. However, dont try to pat the warthogs. We saw an American tourist try and they dont like it. Noone was hurt. We would love to go back there. You can google pictures of the hotel easily. There are plenty of activities and prices at Victoria Safari Lodge were pretty much in line with local tour operators. Highlights included the lion walk, where you can actually walk and pat lions, the helicoptor ride over the falls and the Boma restuarant.

  • Liked — Luxury room but felt like a tent, the pool and the warthogs
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Great deal for your money! We stayed in Victoria Falls Zim. for 4 nights. Actually we stayed at the Lokuthula Lodge that is right next to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge (VFSL).(a couple of hundered meters) We ate breakfast at Vic Falls Safari every morning and found it wonderful, (fix your own bloody mary's and mimosa) the view is very nice and yes the pool was too. At our room in Lokuthula our room was wonderful and very reasonalbly priced! The "American Rate" was frustrating, however we got a better deal because we were traveling with South Africans. Our room looked out over the same animals and the water hole was in the distance that you can see from the Vic Falls Safari Lodge resturant. We saw elephants, monkeys, Kudus, wort hogs and many wonderful birds from our room!! We took all of our tours out of VFSL. Do a fishing trip on the Zambezi, the beer is free, the game viewing is great and the fishing is fun! Rafting on the Zambezi was out of this world!! Remember the hike down to the rafts and up out of the canyon is challenging. Realize your fitness level. The helicopter flight over Vic Falls was worth the money, try to sit in the front. Also, be sure to eat dinner at the Boma Boma at the Lokuthula Lodge, it has a great show (dancing) and all you can eat african food. Very Good!! The wort hog was very tasty!!

As Americans we found everyone to be very friendly to us, we had wonderful taxi drivers. (The lodge only lets in "approved" taxi drivers.)

Overall we really enjoyed our time on the Zim side of the Falls. Just wish we could do more to help the people. They need our money.

  • Liked — price, space, location
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Lokuthula Lodges are ~5 min. drive from the centre of Victoria Falls. They provide free shuttle service once an hour to the town. Lodges are for 6 or 8 persons. The lodge was in excellent condition, clearning was flawless and it was done daily (incl. dishes). Lodge also has nice patio to enjoy the wildlife while having breakfast. The whole Victoria Falls area is very turistry, full of hotels, lodges and camping areas. Lokuthula was one of the most unique places with very quiet location, exiting lodge design (interior and exterior), own water hole for animal sighting (especially during the dry season), grocery service (because there are shortage in food) and nice restaurants in the area. They also have 24 hours guard service. The service was excellent, not that fast but very friendly. Everything worked well despite the current bad state of the country. I would warmly recommend this lodge especially for families!

  • Liked — Beautiful design and location, excellent service attitude
  • Disliked — Slow and sometimes unclear service at the reception
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lokuthula Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokuthula Lodges

Address: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Property, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty lodging in Victoria Falls
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a natural bush environment adjacent to the Zambezi National Park, Lokuthula’s luxurious self-catering lodges offer stylish comfort, flexibility and privacy. The 2 and 3-bedroomed lodges, sleeping 6 and 8 respectively, are furnished in a riot of African colours and are fully equipped and serviced daily. 8 of the 37 lodges may be booked on Bed and Breakfast basis. Additional facilities include a 3-tier swimming pool and children’s playground. The Boma – Place of Eating and MaKuwa-Kuwa Restaurant (both award-winning restaurants) are on the same resort complex. Situated just 4 kilometres from the mighty Victoria Falls, Lokuthula Lodges are ideally situated for families and groups to enjoy the wide range of activities on offer in the region. Lokuthula Lodges have consistently been awarded RCI (Resort Condominium International) Gold Crown status. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lokuthula Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lokuthula Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lokuthula Lodges to your Saves list