We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit over rated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boma - Place of Eating

Boma - Place of Eating
Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
+263 13 43201
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma – Place of Eating has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter’s game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A bit over rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were a little disappointed with the Boma - perhaps because we had been spoilt by going to Moyo, Stellenbosch (near Cape Town) a few days before. However, if you're looking for an African boma eating experience, you will almost certainly enjoy this place. Food is good, but not amazing. Bongo drums at the end of the evening was fun though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    187
    95
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miesau, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun for an evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Huge buffet of local delicacies. You have to try the Mopani worm and earn a certificate for eating it. It's just chewy, not disgusting. Other food was good but the highlight was the traditional dancing and drumming. Great rhythms!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Boma - Place of Eating, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Kim,

We are so glad that you enjoyed the experience so much. Yes, the mopane worms certainly have their own taste. :)

Hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Certainly worth doing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a good experience. A large range of foods on offer. I was a little disappointed at the spit as a lot of it was under-cooked and the entree was almost non existent. I chose the crocodile tail and was presented with three splinter sized pieces. But the drumming was great with everyone participating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Boma - Place of Eating, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi there in Australia,

Thanks very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience and we are sorry that you thought the spit was undercooked. Although people do have their preferences, we appreciate the feedback. Would love to have you back again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Cultural Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. Beginning with the cloth they wrapped around each of us upon entry. The mens were tied on one side while the ladies was tied on the opposite side.

The food was laid out very nicely and the choices of meats were numerous. It was prepared as you wished. It is set up as a smorgasbord but there is no doubt it is all fresh. Eating a mapani worm was certainly a different experience. I found it to be extremely crunchy. I'm not sure if it was deep fried or pan fried.

Great salad and dessert selections. The face painting was a fun thing as was the playing of the drums so we could accompany the local entertainers.

A must to experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Boma - Place of Eating, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
A must experience! Wow, thanks so much for your review of The Boma! It is indeed an experience to be had in Victoria Fall and you are not the first to say so. Glad you managed to eat the mopani worms, they really are a treat ;) Look forward to having you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
546 helpful votes 546 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is one of the best places to dine in the area as long as you're up for having some fun. The buffet is very nice... gave me a chance to try some local items that I wouldn't ordinarily order. Some things I liked, others not so much... but there's plenty to choose from so there's enough to please all. I particularly enjoyed the spit roasted pig... heading back to that a couple of times.

They provide a great show... drummers, singers, dancers... and you get a drum to play along too. A lot of fun. Especially convenient if you're staying at the Safari Lodge or Safari Club like we were. We loved it. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Boma - Place of Eating, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. Yes, you certainly need to be ready to have a bit of fun - the energy of the Boma is fantastic!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boma - Place of Eating also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Boma - Place of Eating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boma - Place of Eating, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.