We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COOL place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingdom at Victoria Falls to your Saves list
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“COOL place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Enjoyed two nights here, as we took in the tourist mecca that is Victoria Falls. Impeccable grounds, a beautiful pool, and comfortable rooms await. We had to be a bit patient with the desk staff, but there were overworked and understaffed. Complementary breakfast was well presented and offered just about anything one could think of having for their first meal of the day.

Keep your balcony door closed when you're not there…. the baboons WILL come in and make themselves at home!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingdomsalesmgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Sir of Madame

Thank-you for staying with us At The Kingdom Hotel. Reviews of our hotel are always appreciated as they inform us of our guests’ thoughts.

We are happy you enjoyed the pool, the gardens, the breakfast and the room that you were in. It is always our greatest wish for our guests to enjoy their stay with us.

Providing efficient service to our guests is of great importance to us, we will therefore look into your comment regarding the staff at the front desk.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    233
    96
    32
    23
See reviews for
112
198
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 2 days in Victoria falls on a mini trip whilst in Ballito, South Africa. Victoria
Falls airport is tiny but kind of adds to the adventure of arriving in Zimbabwe. The airport is tiny, we was thinking about buying a camera at the airport!!!!! No chance. We only needed a single entry visa, but given the size of the line waiting for a single entry visa, it was worth paying the extra $20 to wait in the double entry visa line and get through much quicker.
The transfer to the hotel was quick and relatively simple.

On arrival at the Kingdom, the reception and porter staff were friendly and efficient. We were shown to our room, which was a little dark but generally very clean. Room had a decent view of the pool area which was a pleasant environment. We only ate at the hotel one of the nights during our stay, but the food was generally good. The meal was a buffet so we served ourselves. Waiters were good and cleared away our plates and bought our drink quickly. The breakfast also wasn't too bad, again buffet style. Can't remember the guys name at the pool side bar, but he was very friendly, always had a smile and always made conversation with me.

I would have preferred to have been able to stay in a double bed with my partner, but I did some research into LGBT right in Zimbabwe, and we agreed a twin soon would be better. Whilst not ideal, the twin room was a small price to pay in order to witness the awesome Victoria Falls a few minutes walk away.

*********EVERYONE BE ADVISED***********

There is a 'private path' at the back of the hotel leading to the falls. Sadly the path was full of people trying to sell us gifts. The sellers were very persistent and will pester you all day long, some might say its part of the Africa experience. Sadly on one occasion we had one seller following us around a lot of the day and was becoming very forceful. Unfortunately he did make a suggestion to us, as we walked back to the hotel along the path, that he could pull out a gun and take our money and belongings. I don't believe for a second he had a gun but I never looked back to confirm this. Certainly got my heart racing. I think a couple of tourist police officers on that path would be ideal.

The tourist police in Victoria are numerous and mostly helpful and friendly. I certainly felt a lot more comfortable when there was more police around.

Everyone visiting Victoria should eat at the Boma restaurant at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. The helpful staff at guest services (the Kingdom) will arrange your reservation and transfer to and from the Boma. It's about $120 to go to the Boma, including the transfer, but worth every $.

In summery, nice hotel and staff, just beware of the local sellers on the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingdomsalesmgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for the review you posted on your stay at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable, from the friendliness and efficiency of staff to the view from your room. We continuously endeavor to provide meaningful moments to all valued guests.
We have noted your concerns regarding the sellers that pestered you on your way to the Victoria Falls and will make such incidents known to the Tourism Authorities.
We do hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Nice and great hotel. I am here for about 4 days and the moment we arrived there is a African dance. It is accessible place and you can walk to all the nearby shop where you can bargain. The place is really protected. There are a lot of sales people asking you to buy their craft nearby and is up to you to negotiate. Security is very tight here. Good place

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingdomsalesmgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

We were gratified to read your review on your stay at The Kingdom at Victoria Falls.

It is pleasing to note that the location of the hotel was a convenience to you in regards to accessibility and that you enjoyed the African dancers at check in.
Kind regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I married a Zimbabwean gal, shes black I am white. I am from Canada

Been to the kingdom twice.

Nice place, was offered free super my last night, (120 dollar value)

as well we had free breakfast every day.

Over the top, very big, very quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

During my stay (Oct 2012) at the Kingdom it help lovely to find all my needs covered in the same surroundings. I enjoyed the breakfast there, lunch occasionally, the shop several times and the concierge to book the helicopter ride. Wonderful service.

Room Tip: Did not use fitness center nor spa, cannot rate them. The pool was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had booked for the hotel in December, spent over R10 000 on accommodation. I was travelling up from South Africa, Durban, & from the start, we had bad experiences. We were unfortunately not allowed in through the border due to some unforseen circumstances, (in which we also almost got robbed, or who knows what), we returned home. but notified the hotel immediately( a day before the booking) that we were unable to use the accommodation. & guess what? My money got forfeited... ridiculous. mind you I've spent 3years of my life saving up for this trip... and its all gone down the drain. Never again will I come to the Kingdom hotel...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I were glad with the Kingdom experience overall. The room was great, the place remains a nice place to stay and its location is ideal. The only draw back was the breakfast which was too expensive and not that good. Overall we were very happy and glad we stayed at The Kingdom hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.