We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet restaurant & African music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Save Saved
You added The Kingdom at Victoria Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Buffet restaurant & African music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

To end my 3 week overland tour of Africa chose to eat at the Kingdom Hotel main restaurant. Not cheap but spoilt for choice. They even cooked some game meat specially. Good ambience, great service and African live music too. Would recommend this if you want good food and to spend a little more. Plenty of cheaper options available but this was worth it, for a last night treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    196
    80
    27
    21
See reviews for
94
173
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DXB
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel's biggest plus point is its location which is just a 5-min walk from the falls. If you're in for a quick weekend trip to the falls, the location is perfect and its cheaper than the other hotels that are as close. The structure itself is a bit over-the-top, and is more Dubai than Africa - but that shouldn't bother you. Food is pretty average and service is mostly acceptable and sometimes below average (for instance the very unhappy looking lady at the pool bar). Please note that your room keys will be automatically deactivated at 10 AM on the day you check out - and they don't tell you this. So if you're out for a morning activity and come back after 10 AM (like we did), you will find yourself locked out of the room. You may, at this point, have to deal with a very curt and unfriendly young man at the reception, or if you're lucky you may get to deal with the smiling Concilia. In our case we had a double-whammy - the rooms weren't ready when we reached the hotel (despite sending them our arrival details), so we went out for some activities and only got to use the room by about 2 when we got back. So we requested an delayed checkout since we had by then booked several activities for the next day that kept us out till about 1 pm - this wasn't acted upon and therefore we only got our extension after we questioned why we were locked out of our rooms. Not a pleasant experience. Before all that, the hotel did not send the promised taxi to pick us up at the airport.

Therefore, keep your expectations of service low, get your taxi from the airport ($30), expect to wait for your rooms and clear out early the next morning or else be prepared to get locked out. If you can manage all of this, you can have a room very close to the falls in a slightly overdone hotel. This is not a resort - its a place to sleep in.

Room Tip: Bring your own mosquito spray, else buy one from the pharmacy next to the casino. You'll need i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our second visit to Vic Falls. Lots of rain but still worth the visit.Kingdom Hotel well run with friendly staff. Within close walking distance to town & Vic Falls. Buffet breakfast and dinner was good and substantial. Lovely pool area.

Room Tip: Get a room on Falls side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Cant fault anything here. Rooms are well maintained and staff are very helpful and friendly. Plus, the location is perfect as access to the falls is right outside the back gate. Just be prepared to get hassled by the local street vendors on the way to and from the falls. Completely safe though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days this month on our trip to the Falls.. Very good location to the main drag (tiny!) and the falls..
Breakfast was over priced at 27 bucks ( we were on half board so we ate it).. Not worth even 10 bucks!

Would return tho as the hotel itself was beautiful, and a stunning pool area

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Kingdom at Victoria Falls. The grounds are lovely and within walking distance to the Falls entrance. Breakfast is delicious with a huge variety of items. Evening dinner included local entertainment. The adjacent Casino had a pizza place and steakhouse. Both were very good. Our hotel room was very clean and viewed the park. Monkeys were playing nearby our room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Soon after our wedding we decided on a road trip to Vic Falls with few of our friends. Tired and cranky we arrived at the Kingdom and were greeted with friendly smiles of the Manager (Alice Nyabereka), and the rest of the staff. after the long trip it was nice to be served with the local refreshing orange juice. Check in was smooth and staff helped us find our rooms. The next day Linda the Manager helped book various day activities and also went the extra mile of personally calling the places we were visiting just to confirm our bookings.
All in all the visit to Victoria Falls is one we will remember thanks in part to Alice, Linda and the friendly staff at Kingdom Hotel. Our friends loved it too and can't stop talking about it. We will definitely be coming back for our anniversary and will sure recommend Kingdom to more of our friends .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.