We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keys of the Kingdom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Save Saved
You added The Kingdom at Victoria Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Keys of the Kingdom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

While at the Kingdom, Victoria Falls, I did wonder as to how did they decide upon the name. But a walk around the hotel, made me realise why - the hotel is built like a fort. It is indeed massive and the layout represents a little kingdom. We did stay here for 5 days and enjoyed every moment that we spent in this hotel. The lobby is spacious and the friendly reception staff made us feel welcome. I remember the Hotel Manager is a third generation Chinese settled in Tanzania - very friendly and helpful. Our room was equally large . It was hot in the first week of April, while we were there and the swimming pool was a great place to relax. The hotel is walking distance from the Victoria Falls. Breakfast was complimentary at least in the plan that we had worked out with the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Tanzania is indeed a poor country, with no currency, thus everything is transacted in US$. For those intending to visit the Victoria Falls or playing at the Casino , this is an ideal place to stay

Room Tip: Take a room by the side of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    183
    76
    26
    21
See reviews for
88
162
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Kingdom. Very nice place. It is a good sized hotel with a nice relaxing feeling. Lots of choices to eat. Zimbabwe is a little on the pricey side compared to South Africa (which is very cheap). They accept U.S. dollars and Rands in Zimbabwe but U.S. dollars is the dominate currency. Anyways the place is very clean and well maintained and would recommend staying here if you choose to come to Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is amazing, but the lift did not work, and it looked like is hasn't for a while. We were down the back of the hotel, so if you had sore knees or anything else that hurt those stairs were killers. You had to use them to leave the hotel there was no way around them/ It also meant that many people who would roll their luggage to their rooms or out had to call for a porter. There is a smorgasbord at 27 dollars each, there are also 2 restaurants hidden in to casino complex. Food was great.
Our bed was as hard as a rock. Woke up with sore hips. The room was comfortable and the bathroom adequate

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The decor throughout the hotel created a great atmosphere, staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy walk to the falls and township. Restaurant had great meals, with evening entertainment, friendly and professional staff. We had a great holiday experience and highly recommend the Kingdom Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

An interesting place, if you can accept the vast number of elephant tusks adorning roof-tops and light fittings. Food good, with everything designed for excess - check out the statues in the casino! We were sitting on our balcony watching the family of elephants outside the fence when the cleaners arrived. It was not until we left that I found they had stolen my Nikon point-and-shoot S4 camera from my suitcase (I was wearing my other camera at the time).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our room was way at the back, up the stairs and near the gate to the pathway to Victoria Falls. Not quite sure why they put us so far from the main area as the hotel has only 79 guests in the 280 rooms at present but we can hear the falls from here and of course, a very short walk to them so perhaps that is why. The hotel is 12 years old but is a magnificient building and the gardens are lovely. Must have cost a fortune to build, the detail in everything is amazing. The room is spacious and clean and everything works. The only thing we didn't like is the shower curtain, HATE shower curtains that cling to you when you are having your shower. The shower is over a narrow bath. Staff around the pool bar where a bit slow to offer us a drink on day one but day 2 Freedom appeared and he was very attentive. Staff generally were excellent, very friendly. There is a short walk to Victoria Falls from the perimeter fence of the hotel via the back track but beware, the locals descend out of the bush and hassle you like crazy. Even after giving them money they continued to demand that I give them my shoes "they will fit my wife" ...yeah right! I found it a little intimidating and didn't venture out that way again. All in all a pleasant stay and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything about this resort/hotel was memorable, in a very good way! The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean just don't leave the deck door open or the monkeys will get in. But what a memory if they do. Of course the store is VERY expensive but our family had a great time staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.