We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kingdom Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Save Saved
You added The Kingdom at Victoria Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“The Kingdom Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The decor throughout the hotel created a great atmosphere, staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy walk to the falls and township. Restaurant had great meals, with evening entertainment, friendly and professional staff. We had a great holiday experience and highly recommend the Kingdom Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    200
    82
    27
    21
See reviews for
101
175
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

An interesting place, if you can accept the vast number of elephant tusks adorning roof-tops and light fittings. Food good, with everything designed for excess - check out the statues in the casino! We were sitting on our balcony watching the family of elephants outside the fence when the cleaners arrived. It was not until we left that I found they had stolen my Nikon point-and-shoot S4 camera from my suitcase (I was wearing my other camera at the time).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our room was way at the back, up the stairs and near the gate to the pathway to Victoria Falls. Not quite sure why they put us so far from the main area as the hotel has only 79 guests in the 280 rooms at present but we can hear the falls from here and of course, a very short walk to them so perhaps that is why. The hotel is 12 years old but is a magnificient building and the gardens are lovely. Must have cost a fortune to build, the detail in everything is amazing. The room is spacious and clean and everything works. The only thing we didn't like is the shower curtain, HATE shower curtains that cling to you when you are having your shower. The shower is over a narrow bath. Staff around the pool bar where a bit slow to offer us a drink on day one but day 2 Freedom appeared and he was very attentive. Staff generally were excellent, very friendly. There is a short walk to Victoria Falls from the perimeter fence of the hotel via the back track but beware, the locals descend out of the bush and hassle you like crazy. Even after giving them money they continued to demand that I give them my shoes "they will fit my wife" ...yeah right! I found it a little intimidating and didn't venture out that way again. All in all a pleasant stay and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything about this resort/hotel was memorable, in a very good way! The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean just don't leave the deck door open or the monkeys will get in. But what a memory if they do. Of course the store is VERY expensive but our family had a great time staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Kingdom for 7 day it is a gem in Africa. Greeted with a drink staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Food was excellent overall. The hotel made our holiday special coz of its excellent customer service. We will definitely returning to kingdom and would highly recommend it. It right next to the fall and ver central so you can save money on taxis. We loved the hotel. Gardens are well maintained and green.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at The Kingdom Hotel for 3 nights in February 2013. Although the weather patterns varied from day to day it didn't bother us in the least and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A cheap plastic poncho will keep you dry and give it to one of the villagers when you leave. Our room was near reception and it was lovely with beautiful views across the lake, bar and pool area. Try and get the 2nd floor because you will be less bothered by the monkeys – we were warned about them but they never came close to our balcony. The room was spotless, cleaned every day and our sheets were folded down in the evening. I read so many complaints about people who stayed too far from reception and it really isn’t that far. If you are elderly I would suggest you request a room closer to reception. A short walk to the gate at the bottom of the hotel will lead you to the gauge within 5 minutes and the entrance to the falls within 10. If you are fussed about leaves brushing your feet then wear long pants but I was in slip slops and shorts and it was fine. Yes, there are villagers who will bother you along the way but their goods are really cheap (far cheaper than at the market) and picked up quite a few bargains. Get to know their names and they will eventually leave you alone. They asked for payment in SA Rands (but USD will do but they calculate 10 to 1) and were willing to trade for shampoo, soap, old clothes and shoes. We bought some beautiful carvings for next to nothing but take something to trade with. We had breakfast at the hotel which I thought was more than substantial and ordered room service on one of the nights at the hotel. You can get a really good club sandwich with chips for about 8 USD which was quite reasonable – it was a substantial meal and you can easily sit and have it out by the pool if you prefer. The buffet at the hotel in the evening was approximately 25 USD for a three course meal which is pretty good given the amount of food you can eat. We didn't have the buffet because but it looks fabulous. Staff lovely and friendly but I agree… reception at the hotel needs to be improved. The morning we were leaving we left to see the falls just one more time and we arrived back at 10 to find our room locked. Not a big deal but no message on the door to say we had been locked out. All in all a lovely experience at the Kingdom Hotel and we will be back. We booked our excursions before we got to the falls and we found most of them to be booked out. You have to do the river cruise (lovely drinks and snacks on the house) and steam train (with drinks & snacks) and although I was not aware of the lovely surprise waiting for me - a holiday flip over the falls is just too magnificent for words.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We really had an awesome time and the location was ideal close to all the places we wanted to visit. The staff were very polite and helpful too. We experienced a few glitches with the aircon but it eventually got fixed. No mosquitoes considering there is a lot of water surrounding the lodge which was good. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection to choose from. Good value for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.