We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingdom at Victoria Falls to your Saves list
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful location, friendly staff and the room was very clean. It took some time to get things delivered to our room, but they apologized and followed up with us the next day to be sure we had everything we needed. Concierge was incredibly nice, calling us on our second day to see how we were feeling (we were SO tired when we first saw her upon check in!). Long walk to the room, but it's a very nice place. Breakfast is wonderful, dinner very good as well.
Loved the bathroom!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    231
    95
    30
    22
See reviews for
111
197
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked into the Kingdom due to its convenient location as we only had 3 nights to do a variety of activities in Victoria falls. It honestly felt like any form of hotel management had gone on holiday and left the hotel to completely untrained staff to try and run. Our check in was a complete mix up and took over 45 mins. Our group of 8 (6 Americans on first trip to Africa) was divided up all into rooms all over the hotel. The bar tenders had to always be called over to help us- avoiding eye contact until beaconed, the beers were warm, the bills were always incorrect, and for 2 days our towels were not replaced. The front desk never had the right change if you wanted to buy a cool drink and they got every requested wake up call wrong, the spa was cash only for some reason, the breakfast waiters had to be asked twice for anything and I was actually asked to taste my obviously black tea to see if it had milk in it! It honestly felt like everyone was doing everything for the first time. This was from Dec 29th through Jan 1st, one would think the hotel would have their A team working. It actually became a running joke in our group about how bad our next interaction with staff would be, and we were never disappointed. If the staff working this period had any training what so ever, or any manager who was supposed to be setting an example, I would get rid of that person immediately!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I first came here about 7 years ago for a look and was blown away by how cool/relaxing it looked. Fast forward and I was looking for some wow for my young family and wife who was visiting for the first time. One word sums it up TIRED. I thought maybe it's just me being picky but after visiting the safari lodge up the road it was evident that it's nothing more than poor management and lack of investment (not talking about millions of dollars). Cupboards hanging off at the bar, ripped lounger covers, filthy tables. Lift out of order, to mention a few things. The biggest amazing experience was the pizza place by the casino. Misdirected well meaning staff but as we sat waiting to order 3 tables up and left, to many comedy moments later and a further 4 tables had left.
In summary, a 5 star location offering 2 star food (0 star in the pizza place) and 1 star facility management. Hang your heads in shame kingdom management.

Final advice: stay at the safari lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweru, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The kingdom is just great. I have been here 4 times. I feel like i am home. It has the African kingdom essence. I like casino, and has great casino facilities. You are just behind the great victoria falls, and you can hear the sound of the mapopoma

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hi, i stayed there around the half of August this year, the room was quiet cold, i try to speak with customer support two times and only after the second time, after some hours, they gave us (me and my wife) a wool blanket to be warmer.
Moreover i forgot my videocamera bag with memory cards of my honeymoon in the bedside desk and i called them the day after (less than 24 hours later), they told me they didn't find anything and doesn't support me in any way.
The only pro is that you can eat very much and the Victoria Falls are very close to this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Prices for hotels in Zambia and Zimbabwe are generally high so this affects the value for money aspect for ratings. Other nicer properties nearby are much more expensive but I'm comparing this to other hotels internationally.

The good

Good location next to the falls linked by a short cut. Also near a small town centre. Clean and well maintained property. Breakfast is the usual international spread. Aircon in our room was fixed promptly.

The Average

I'm not a fan of the design at all. Entrance leads to the casino before the hotel reception. Lots of bees at the breakfast area. Seats at reception worn out. Rooms truly average. We asked for a king bed and were given rooms with joined single beds, which is not a big deal but reflected little attention to detail. Pillows are awful which provided hardly any support.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel was modern, was clean, was close to the Victoria Falls, close to the main street shopping and the curio shops. There were plenty of towels but rarely faceclothes (for us North Americans !) The large pool was the perfect temperature. The a/c is the room worked well - the hallways were very hot. It was hot outside ! The only negative has to do with the large size of this hotel. It is essentially 16 blocks, forming a circle. There is lots of walking on the premises .... You never really get lost because you always, eventually, end up at reception.
The buffet breakfasts and dinners did not appeal to me - there was variety and something was always OK. We had entertainment during dinner.
There was no decaff coffee anywhere in Zimbabwe - I used my own. The TV had many channels. The fridge was cold. There was a good safe. You will be happy here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingdom at Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.