We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulged in a natural setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Save
You added Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Indulged in a natural setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

A lovely relaxing 3 days in a natural environment with several thrilling moments - like being woken by an elephant feeding on the bougainvillea outside our tent in the early hours. Then there was the 3kg tiger fish! Lovely staff and great food. Thanks Stan, Brad and Annie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Very thrilling indeed! :-) We are overjoyed that you had a good time with us and we hope we can look forward to a return visit. Best regards from the entire Imbabala family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
76
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The 4 days at Imbabala Safari Lodge were way beyond expectations. This lodge was perfect in every way for us. Its location on the river and surrounds together with the exceptional personal service made this a never to forget experience. The food, service, personal guides and the wildlife made this a very special place. The location is not fenced allowing wildlife into the lodge area and this limits guests from roaming around the surrounds and should be pointed out to anyone wishing to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review and kind words. We do try our very best to provide personal service, and we are so thrilled you felt the genuine hospitality from our Imbabala Family. Please return for a return visit soon! Kindest regards, Brad and Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Imbabala whilst on holiday, we stayed for 3 nights and it has to be one of the best holiday stays I have every had. The staff can't do enough to help, the scenery and rooms are amazing and the guides will take you on as many drives as you can fit into your stay. You will never want to stay anywhere else. Highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a fantastic stay! Your lovely comments have put a smile on everyone’s face at Imbabala and we hope you will be back for a return visit!! From the Imbabala family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family of 5 enjoyed our 3 night visit very much, The game drives were perfect and our guide, Richard, was superb in explaining the landscape and the wildlife. The situation on the river is ideal with far reaching views.
The hosts are very helpful in making sure that everything goes to perfection, including fishing in the river and a small birthday party.
A great stay!
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our absolute pleasure to arrange fishing and a little birthday surprise. We hope both your boys had a lovely and memorable time! Richard is a gem to Imbabala with a vast knowledge of nature we are lucky to learn from. He sends his regards – as do we all at Imbabala! Please come back for a visit soon!! Perhaps for another birthday party next year? Kindest Regards from the entire Imbabala Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My group of 6 stayed here for the last days of our safari, and everyone found Imbabala to be their favorite lodge of the trip. With the Zambezi River in view, animals wandering through the grounds, friendly managers who know their business and southern Africa well, and African ambiance in the accommodations, you have the makings of a perfect African getaway. Game drives were average due to low wildlife encounters (but the guide, Stan, was awesome as he shared his knowledge of the bush), and the afternoon float on the Zambezi was a crescendo to our fabulous trip to Africa. The elephants at sunset approaching the river, several small groups crossing the channel, and several other elephants stopping near our barge to flap their ears, snort, express their disgust at our human scent - enchanting and breathtaking, and the sunset put its fabulous touch on our all-too-short experience at this wonderful little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for you lovely words. We are just thrilled to hear that you all had such a good time with us. It is a pity the wildlife sightings were a bit low during your stay but pleased to hear Stan made up for that. He is a real asset to our team! Hopefully we will see you soon for some more chats around our camp fire.
Best Regards – Brad, Annie, Stan and the Imbabala Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Imbabala for four nights and I wish we could have stayed longer! Everything from the food to the game drives to the sundowner cruises was absolutely PERFECT! i was thrilled that the meals were healthy with lots of veggies (mostly grown on site) and the desserts were marvelous! We enjoyed meeting the other travelers - in fact, that was a highlight! Our room, one of the new huts on the far end, was an absolute treat - the outside shower was fantastic, but even better, we had our own little group of impala that parked right outside our hut every evening.

Our guide, Abe, was amazing and made the game drives and boat rides so much fun! One evening we found 2, then 4, then 6 lions and, as Abe turned the vehicle, about 20 pairs of hyena eyes starred back at us in the dark. Abe was full of great information and could spot everything from the smallest bird to the largest hippo.

The rooms have all the creature comforts, the Lodge has great wi-fi (I had to work part of the time), and the grounds are filled with warthogs, impala, verte monkeys, baboons and the occasional elephant. We look forward to going back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We had the last room on the right from the lodge and really enjoyed the seclusion and the outside sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. It is truly fantastic for us to see such lovely words about our little piece of paradise. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the meals and our home grown veggies. Our garden is still producing lots of fresh goodies – and it seems our guests aren’t the only one’s wanting a taste. Our local wildlife is having a taste every now and then too! Abraham says he is waiting for you so he can take you back to the lions! We hope you will be back for another visit soon!
Kindest Regards – The Imbabala family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just got back from 3 days here. What a great experience. Our huts overlooked the Zambezi River and we had a constant parade of animals wandering by, including impala, monkeys and elephants.

Service was great. Brad and Annie took great care of us. Each night he would go over the next day's plans and provide an early morning wake up knock. Food was excellent. We ate outside at a big table with all the other guests.

You are assigned a guide the stays with you for your whole trip. Ours was Stan. He could answer any question about the area and any animal or plant. An exceptionally nice guy that made the trip great.

The resort is actually located about an hours drive away from Victoria Falls, right on the Botswana border. I enjoyed this remote location, but if you want to be in town, be advised.

They offered a Chobe Park day trip in Botswana which was great. If you plan on doing this, make sure you buy a double entry visa when you first come into Zimbabwe, as you will leave the country for this trip.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It truly makes our days that much more rewarding when we read such lovely feedback. The Impala’s and monkeys are still roaming into camp every day with the odd elephant coming in too. Stan sends his regards and also thanks you for the lovely comments on Trip advisor. We hope you and your family will return to Africa for another visit…. The Zambezi is waiting for you!!
Best Regard – Brad, Annie, Stan and the Imbabala team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive Elephant population. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.