We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wet and wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)

Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)
Near the Zambian/Zimbabwean border, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$172*
and up
Victoria Falls Helicopter Tour
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The smoke that thunders" is a local name for Africa's most famous waterfall thundering over a 100m-high cliff.
missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wet and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Take an umbrella besides a raincoat. Flip flops would be the best footwear. I was there in the rainy season. Truly the walk beside the falls was like standing in the rain. I took a helicopter ride over the falls and gorge which was great. My hotel also had a great view of the falls. I enjoyed the falls more from afar which was surprising.
The rainbows were amazing.
Issue for debate: I felt Iguazu falls was even more spectacular.
I have been fortunate enough to see both.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    179
    40
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Vic falls is one of the most amazing natural waterfall in the world! It is an absolute must to see. You can access the falls either from the Zimbabwean side or Zambian side of the boarder. There's also a lot of other stuff to do ie bungee jumping (for the crazy among us;)), elephant riding, surfing, walking with lions to name a few. Hotels in the area are well maintained (5 star). Best to go when it's not too hot ie March to about September.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Make sure you take in the entire Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Victoria Falls was an incredible experience. We hired a guide who gave us a tour of the Falls from the Zambia side. It was nice to get the history and facts on the Falls from our tour guide. You can certainly do it on your own though. We wanted to see the Falls from the Zimbabwe side but every guide book told us not to do it. Our ranger on our safari said to ignore the guidebooks and see the entire Falls. I am so glad we took his advice. If you only see the Falls from the Zambia side, you only see 1/3 of the Falls and the Falls are much more impressive from the Zimbabwe side. It was easy to get there too. We just walked across the Zambezi bridge, went through customs, purchased a visa (process was easy and cost around $40/person I think - purchase the one that allows you to get in and out), and then a short walk to the entrance. We were there in August and the Falls were close to their lowest flow, but you still want a raincoat to fully enjoy it. We rented a raincoat right outside the park entrance (about $8/each) and it was well worth it. You end up back at the entrance so you can return your raincoat. We were able to stand out on the viewing areas because we had our raincoats on. It was an awesome experience and one I will never forget.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thunderous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Falls is thunderous, and you just are so stunned by its sheer power and magnificence as the mighty Zambezi river empties itself ! Makes you somehow think of Noah from the Bible and the rains that fell as you see a beautiful rainbow in all its splendor whilst you get soaking wet from the resulting inverted rainshowers from the Falls !!

Its about a 1.7Km walk one way, with several viewing areas ending with a view of the bridge across Zimbabwe into Zambia; We were lucky enough to see someone bunjee off the bridge which happens to be the highest commercial bridge jump in the world !

I found it a little expensive at U$30.00 for an international visitor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well obviously you will visit this if you are in the area. The falls are quite beyond description, you have to be there. Don't bother with the rain cape, getting drenched is half the fun. Take an umbrella if you want to film video or take photos, also you might want to protect your camera with a shower cap and rubber band (this way you can even take pictures in the spray.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya) also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.