We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)

Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)
Near the Zambian/Zimbabwean border, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: "The smoke that thunders" is a local name for Africa's most famous waterfall thundering over a 100m-high cliff.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A must see natural wonder, my third visit and it still takes my breath away. The amount of water crashing over in April is truly amazing, 300 feet high and over a mile wide you'd wonder where it all comes from and how it all fits into the gorge below the falls. If you're interested in water and falls then this is the place to be

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    136
    34
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

it's difficult to see in the park. It is very misty and wet. I would recommend the expensive 15 minute helicopter tour to actually get a real good view of the falls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Victoria Falls March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

unbelievable!!! bring along an umbrella and a plastic bag for your camera!! Allow for 2 to 3 hours so you can take your time and get the "lay of the land" in retrospect I would have purchaed a map of the area... this is nice in conjunction with the sundowner cruise on the Zambezi so you have a sense of the calm river before the falls.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“3 Days in Victoria Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was with unclear expectations that we visited Victoria Falls in March for 3 days (24th-27th). This was an add on to a trip to South Africa. It was without a doubt the absolute highlight of our adventure! I agree with others that the falls themselves are not to be missed!!! The sound, the roar, the view thrilling. We also had "high tea" at the Victoria Falls Hotel and relaxed looking at the mist and the bridge, no one hurried us here so we passed a delightful afternoon at a classic British hotel... enjoyed their shop as well!
We stayed at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and had made arrangements to go on a day long adventure with Charles Brightman (we learned of him by reading a review here at Travel advisor). Charles' joy and love for his country is clear. He took my husband and I out for a day trip during which we were able to walk 3 to 4 miles into the bush to enjoy being on the ground, checking out animal tracks, checking out archaeological remains, and seeing birds of all varieties! We only wish that we had had more days to spend with him... a gem!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had the privilege of touring the Falls with a tour guide - though not necessary, it did give us a local and factual perspective. We learnt a lot about the history of the Falls, the construction of bridges, wildlife and fauna, etc.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya) also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya) to your Saves list