We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)

Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)
Near the Zambian/Zimbabwean border, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$172*
and up
Victoria Falls Helicopter Tour
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The smoke that thunders" is a local name for Africa's most famous waterfall thundering over a 100m-high cliff.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Victoria Falls is a must see!
It was incredible to see the water cascading over, though I would love to see it in the drier season too!
I do recommend not taking valuable technology with you - we damaged a camera lens and drowned an iPhone which were both in a semi waterproof backpack just due to the amount of water coming from every direction!
Even though we were given rain ponchos the spray does come from every direction, including from below so we all left the area totally soaking wet!
Wear sandals and take very little equipment with you!
Oh, and if from South Africa be sure to take photo id as entrance is cheaper then!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,280
    178
    40
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Our experience of the falls exceeded expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved Victoria Falls! Standing at the first section of the falls, we were close enough to actually feel the rumbling power of all that water cascading over the edge. There were so many rainbows at every vista. We got totally soaked - as promised in all the guidebooks so be sure to go prepared for this. This is not just another waterfall, but a powerful force of nature. Our helicopter ride after walking the falls really added to our overall experience of this massive spectacle.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The extreme sport capital of Southern Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

There is a variety of hotels and restaurants to suit every taste. It is close to Livingston-Zambia, Hwange National Park, Chobe National Park-Botswana.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worldwide must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Have now visited twice in rainy season and been blown away by the magnitude of it all..
Simply sensational. Would love to go in dry season

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wet and Wild...Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Prepare to enjoy getting wet. The falls spray so much water that it comes up on the other side. The water is so soft! The falls are so large you need to go up in a helicopter to see it all at one time. But, it was spectacular to stay on the trails and look at the various chutes and the main falls. Hearing the sound, feeling the spray, and seeing rainbows from the light on the spray gave us an unforgettable day to bank in the memory bank.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya) also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls (Mosi-Oa-Tunya), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.