We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls

Save Saved
You added The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a total relaxing break, and we certainly found it. The rooms were perfect a sitting room and a separate bedroom, you could sit out in the early morning and see a parade of zebras, kudu, baboons, even the occasional giraffe and elephant wander past.
The staff were excellent, impeccable and friendly service, nothing was too much trouble.
The only slight criticism is that the dinner menu was not varied enough, the food was always excellently cooked and nicely presented.
The breakfasts were superb with everything from fresh papaya to a full English breakfast, and lovely fresh coffee.
We can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We we're originally staying in Ursala Camp but due to renovations we got moved to Stanley and Livingstone. The hotel is amazing, we had our own suite and the food was gorgeous!! It was very peaceful and the staff were very helpful! The hotel was clean, spacious comfortable. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

In many ways the hotel has a huge amount to commend it. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Vic falls, and it's quiet and peaceful. That does mean a drive down quite a rough road ride back and forth into town. The suites are spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Watching game at the watering hole from around the pool is a joy.....but something is missing. The interior of the main hotel is absolutely crammed with pictures/prints/busts of both Stanley and Livingstone, so much so it almost feels too much. Understandably, Zim' has got stuck in a time warp, and I am probably judging it unfairly because of the quality of hotels, lodges and B&B's in SA. But the dining room was like walking back in time to 1970's England........unfortunately much the same can be said about the food! We seemed to be the only guests actually staying, which probably didn't help as there was little or no atmosphere anywhere.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lower numbers are closer to the pool, the higher numbers have better views into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The surrounding area was very dry in August, and this logde shone like an incredible oasis. The grounds are impeccably landscaped with several ponds and a variety of beautiful trees. It is a stark contrast to the bush that is beyond the fence....
A variety of game come to the watering hole and on my first day, when I was very jet-lagged and tired from the 26 hour trip, I spent several hours sitting out under the trees on a bench overlooking the waterhole. Heaven for an animal-lover like me.
The bugalows are very spacious with a large living area separate from the bedroom. They are setup duplex style, and all have a nice patio with a table and overlook the beautiful grounds, and beyond that the bush. They feel very private, and with only 16 rooms, they cater to all your wants and needs.
The only negative for me was the distance to the Victoria Falls. They have a shuttle 4 times per day to town, or you can take a taxi. I stayed here 4 days, then closer to town for another 4 days, which worked out very well. This was an excellent place to unwind after the long flight.
Their included breakfast buffet is very good, with lots of selections, and you can also order cooked entries. Their set dinner menu offers a couple of selections for each of three courses, and the food was good, but nothing special. Quite pricey too, but for 1 person it is costly to go into town for dinner.
I did the Lion Walk, which is very close by, and also the Chobe day trip, both were excellent.
I am not sure what the current rack rate is, but it was definately much less than the current $372 estimate on trip advisor....

Room Tip: All have great views, rooms away from the lobby/dining area may be a little more isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA Bradenton FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have traveled all over the world. When you look at this hotel's ambiance, local, service etc. it is as fine a hotel and we've ever stayed at. Just visualize sitting on a stone bench, having evening cocktails and watching elephants, giraffes zebras etc. come to a watering hole maybe 100 ft. from you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Celle-Saint-Cloud, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our 3-week South African tour, we spent 2 nights at Victoria Falls in the Stanley and Livingstone hotel.
15 minutes from the falls and from the uninteresting Victoria Falls town, the hotel is in the bush with water ponds where animals are coming for water. Last morning we had over 50 buffalos, then zebras and impalas in front of us.
The hotel is very very British and the suites are just wonderful.
Food is good but not so exclusive I could read in some comments. But perhaps the best in our 3-week tour.
The service is OK but they are less friendly than people we met in South Africa or in Botswana hotels.
We also noticed that in Zimbabwe, seeking for money (taxes, entree fees…) is everywhere and a bit painful regarding Botswana. Nevertheless, Victoria falls are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Stanley and Livingstone was the second stop on a tour my wife and I took to South Africa. The rooms were clean and spacious (really a suite). The waterhole outside provided for wildlife viewing and was never the same at any given time of day or time. Baboons and birds were plentiful on the grounds. The food was good. I'm vegan, and they accomodated my requirements. The tour set up a lecture on Stanley and Livingstone. I don't recall the lecturer's name, but he was outstanding! Our only complaint was the airconditioning units which were moderately loud. My wife can sleep through most anything and did for the most part. I'm a light sleeper, and it was a bit of a problem for me. Otherwise, it was a memorable place to visit.

Room Tip: Check out the airconditioning unit prior to accepting a room, if other rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls

Address: Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stanley and Livingstone at Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.