We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilala Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ilala Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ilala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and all the staff were warm and friendly. We ate dinner there both nights and the food was amazing! Definitely was a great value for the money. Perfect location. Felt safe and secure at all times. Five minutes from the falls. The views from the Zimbabwean side of the falls much better than Zambia.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review on Ilala hotel. We appreciate your views and comments. We are happy and glad you had an amazing time with us. We hope you return again soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    153
    25
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
225
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hospitable hotel. Well located, on walking distance to waterfalls, shops, postoffice,...Nice rooms, nice view, nice restaurant, very clean. We especially would like to mention the kindness and dedication of the staff and manager , being so helpfull to their guests.
Jan, Belgium

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews and comments. We very much appreciate your views and its a pleasure from our staff and management to deliver satisfactory service. We hope to see you return very soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for the last few days of our honeymoon and could not recommend it more. With a stunning pool and lounge area around, and in house travel advisors, it was perfect. We arrived and booked all our excursions with the advisors. Dinner was lovely every day with exceptional food and calm relaxed atmosphere. Being a small lodge it was completely stress free and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments from you. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us up here in Victoria falls. Hope to see you return very soon.

kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A nice and clean hotel close to Victoria Falls. The rooms were spacious with a view onto an animal reserve where the animals would come close to the hotel. They can also help you book tours such as a helicopter ride over the falls and a boat trip down the river. Staff were friendly as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level and not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment on Ilala lodge hotel. We greatly appreciate your views and comments. We are also very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed only two nights at this charmingly luxurious lodge but we would've loved to have stayed longer. Decorated in leather, wicker, and teak with colours of deep gold, rose, savannah green and creamy white, this comfortable hotel has everything a weary traveller could want. Have a drink at the bar, made of highly polished Rhodesian teak railway ties, and then dine al fresco with the rush of Victoria Falls in the background and candles to light the menu. Feast on local specialties like tenderloin of warthog - unbelievably tender and tasty. By day, lounge around the pool, walk to the Falls, cruise the Zambisi river or stroll over the bridge to Zambia, all safe activities. The staff are friendly and helpful. In all, Ilala Lodge is an oasis of tranquility, comfort, beauty and very fine dining.

Room Tip: All rooms have large windows overlooking a large landscaped yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Ilala Lodge hotel. Your reviews and comments are greatly appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here. We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 2 day Bed and Breakfast stay here. Rooms are average, comfortable and clean. Ours had patio doors opening onto garden area where we saw warthogs up close (and as personal as you want to be) on our first day! Vic Falls is a short walk away as is the market area and two other hotels. Although we explored the other hotels and their menus, we chose to eat at Ilala as the menu was most interesting and prices were most reasonable. The food was excellent, nicely presented and had a good variety of choices ( warthog, crocodile, osterich, beef, lamb, chicken) Very good and reasonable wine list. Good piano plapyer added to the ambiance in the evenings as we enjoyed our dinners on the veranda under the stars- perfect!. Nice outdoor bar area next to the pool. A most relaxing, cozy, unpretentious place to stay and we would definitely return to this hotel if back at VIc Falls.
We enjoyed a river cruise on the Zambezi river- saw crocodiels and hippos. Also did a helicopter ride over the Falls- amazing views. (note: the park entrance fee is not included in the helicopter pricing and must be paid in cash so bring along your money!)
The walk along the falls is a MUST-DO...

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar. Lower rooms have patio doors opening onnto the garden areas. A few upper roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel Ilala lodge. Its our pleasure to receive comments from you. We are very excited that you had a lovely experience with us and you loved the falls. Will be happy to see you return soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Loved staying here. Could walk to the falls any time we wanted (and we did several times). They slightly screwed up our reservation and put us in a twin when we arrived (all that was left), but we only had to stay in it one night and the rest of the time they put us into a fantastic room with a four poster bed, balcony, and a stunning view towards the falls. Would gladly go back.

Good to have a travel agency in the hotel too. They helped straighten out some of our excursions even though they didn't book them and wouldn't be making any money helping us.

And I liked they way they had local live music at dinner.

Room Tip: try to be as high up as possible to see the mist from the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for giving us your comment and feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are appreciate and are happy that you had a great stay but however we apologize for the mix up in the rooms and discomfort you may have felt. We will be glad to host you back soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.