We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ilala Lodge to your Saves list
Ilala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and all the staff were warm and friendly. We ate dinner there both nights and the food was amazing! Definitely was a great value for the money. Perfect location. Felt safe and secure at all times. Five minutes from the falls. The views from the Zimbabwean side of the falls much better than Zambia.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank blumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review on Ilala hotel. We appreciate your views and comments. We are happy and glad you had an amazing time with us. We hope you return again soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Genk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hospitable hotel. Well located, on walking distance to waterfalls, shops, postoffice,...Nice rooms, nice view, nice restaurant, very clean. We especially would like to mention the kindness and dedication of the staff and manager , being so helpfull to their guests.
Jan, Belgium

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBelgium681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews and comments. We very much appreciate your views and its a pleasure from our staff and management to deliver satisfactory service. We hope to see you return very soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for the last few days of our honeymoon and could not recommend it more. With a stunning pool and lounge area around, and in house travel advisors, it was perfect. We arrived and booked all our excursions with the advisors. Dinner was lovely every day with exceptional food and calm relaxed atmosphere. Being a small lodge it was completely stress free and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments from you. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us up here in Victoria falls. Hope to see you return very soon.

kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed only two nights at this charmingly luxurious lodge but we would've loved to have stayed longer. Decorated in leather, wicker, and teak with colours of deep gold, rose, savannah green and creamy white, this comfortable hotel has everything a weary traveller could want. Have a drink at the bar, made of highly polished Rhodesian teak railway ties, and then dine al fresco with the rush of Victoria Falls in the background and candles to light the menu. Feast on local specialties like tenderloin of warthog - unbelievably tender and tasty. By day, lounge around the pool, walk to the Falls, cruise the Zambisi river or stroll over the bridge to Zambia, all safe activities. The staff are friendly and helpful. In all, Ilala Lodge is an oasis of tranquility, comfort, beauty and very fine dining.

Room Tip: All rooms have large windows overlooking a large landscaped yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad3l3in3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Ilala Lodge hotel. Your reviews and comments are greatly appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here. We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 2 day Bed and Breakfast stay here. Rooms are average, comfortable and clean. Ours had patio doors opening onto garden area where we saw warthogs up close (and as personal as you want to be) on our first day! Vic Falls is a short walk away as is the market area and two other hotels. Although we explored the other hotels and their menus, we chose to eat at Ilala as the menu was most interesting and prices were most reasonable. The food was excellent, nicely presented and had a good variety of choices ( warthog, crocodile, osterich, beef, lamb, chicken) Very good and reasonable wine list. Good piano plapyer added to the ambiance in the evenings as we enjoyed our dinners on the veranda under the stars- perfect!. Nice outdoor bar area next to the pool. A most relaxing, cozy, unpretentious place to stay and we would definitely return to this hotel if back at VIc Falls.
We enjoyed a river cruise on the Zambezi river- saw crocodiels and hippos. Also did a helicopter ride over the Falls- amazing views. (note: the park entrance fee is not included in the helicopter pricing and must be paid in cash so bring along your money!)
The walk along the falls is a MUST-DO...

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar. Lower rooms have patio doors opening onnto the garden areas. A few upper roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14bosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel Ilala lodge. Its our pleasure to receive comments from you. We are very excited that you had a lovely experience with us and you loved the falls. Will be happy to see you return soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Loved staying here. Could walk to the falls any time we wanted (and we did several times). They slightly screwed up our reservation and put us in a twin when we arrived (all that was left), but we only had to stay in it one night and the rest of the time they put us into a fantastic room with a four poster bed, balcony, and a stunning view towards the falls. Would gladly go back.

Good to have a travel agency in the hotel too. They helped straighten out some of our excursions even though they didn't book them and wouldn't be making any money helping us.

And I liked they way they had local live music at dinner.

Room Tip: try to be as high up as possible to see the mist from the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for giving us your comment and feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are appreciate and are happy that you had a great stay but however we apologize for the mix up in the rooms and discomfort you may have felt. We will be glad to host you back soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were coming to the end of our two week safari having been in Namibia and Botswana and the Ilala Lodge turned out to be an oasis for my wife and I. Our room, which had patio doors that opened out onto the grounds, was of good size with a spacious well equipped bathroom all of which was very clean and well maintained. The air conditioning was quiet and effective as was the ceiling fan. Consequently the room was very quite and we both got two very good nights sleep. The restaurant has a well balanced menu and served some exceptional and very enjoyable meals of high quality. The staff were extremely helpful, attentive and friendly. From our room we could see the mist rising from Victoria Falls which were told were just a short walk from the Lodge. So we walked to the Falls on the afternoon of the day we arrived and took a helicopter flight the following day. The falls are amazing. This was the best way to finish our safari with some R&R and on a high!

Room Tip: Virtually all the rooms are the same but with slightly different views of the grounds and the mist r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. We are pleased to receive positive feedback from you. We are happy you had an amazing stay with us. We hope to see you again here soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#2 of 14 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#6 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#14 of 14 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#11 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing