We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Lodge of Our Safari - by Far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilala Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ilala Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Best Lodge of Our Safari - by Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were coming to the end of our two week safari having been in Namibia and Botswana and the Ilala Lodge turned out to be an oasis for my wife and I. Our room, which had patio doors that opened out onto the grounds, was of good size with a spacious well equipped bathroom all of which was very clean and well maintained. The air conditioning was quiet and effective as was the ceiling fan. Consequently the room was very quite and we both got two very good nights sleep. The restaurant has a well balanced menu and served some exceptional and very enjoyable meals of high quality. The staff were extremely helpful, attentive and friendly. From our room we could see the mist rising from Victoria Falls which were told were just a short walk from the Lodge. So we walked to the Falls on the afternoon of the day we arrived and took a helicopter flight the following day. The falls are amazing. This was the best way to finish our safari with some R&R and on a high!

Room Tip: Virtually all the rooms are the same but with slightly different views of the grounds and the mist r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. We are pleased to receive positive feedback from you. We are happy you had an amazing stay with us. We hope to see you again here soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    195
    32
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
268
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It is only a 10 minute walk from the falls so if all you want is to be close by it is the right place to be. However, we were not very happy with the room and in particular with the bathroom - very poor lightening and nothing special to it. Service was also not great. Lots of employees walking around but not much attention to the actual needs of the clients. Really needed to tip to get a good service, rather than having a good service to get a tip. We are not very demanding and we are rating highly the rest of the hotels of our stay in south africa but this one was definitely were the services was poorest. Overall, not too bad, but if it wasn't for the location, we would have probably rated it more on the poor side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much on your review and comments on Ilala Lodge hotel. We do greatly appreciate your comments and it was a pleasure having you with us. However we apologize for the discomfort you felt and inconsistent service you encountered. We are making progress in rectifying the concerns raised. We hope to see you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As two Scots who were brought up on stories of David Livingston, a trip to Victoria Falls was high on our bucket list and it didn't disappoint. After extensive research we decided that the Ilala Lodge met both our requirements and our budget and after 3 nights at the lodge we can state that it matched these perfectly. From the first moment that we arrived at reception we were treated like honoured guests by all the staff, everyone of whom was polite and courteous.
We had a standard room on the ground floor which opened out onto the gardens. The room was very clean, comfortable and well presented. The food and the service at the bar was superb and of a very high quality.
The hotel was only 10 minutes walk to the falls, although you do have to walk the gauntlet of locals trying to sell you very valuable memories of your trip. There are tourist police who should help keep this annoyance to a minimum but they seemed to spend a lot of time sheltering from the sun.
We took a helicopter flight over the falls, a sunset cuise on the hotel's boat the Ra-ikane and a night drive in the Victoria Falls reserve. We were very lucky to see Black Rhino in the reserve but the highlight of that trip for us after 8 visits to Africa was finally seeing a dung beetle :)
However, the highlight of our trip to Victoria Falls was to see Dr Livingston's wonderful discovery, oh that and a three night stay at the Ilala Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your reviews and comments. We are very happy and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your trip's expectations were met.
we hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Travel issues on a recent holiday found us staying, unexpectedly at IIaIa Lodge for a weekend in mid-December. A car (air-conditioned!) and friendly driver arranged by the lodge, met us at Victoria Falls airport and quickly took us to the Lodge - we felt like special guests. And what a great place! Our comfortable rooms (with inter-leading door to our teenage daughter's room) opened out to beautiful lawns, complete with birds and animals incl. warthogs and the odd baboon. Meals were taken on the verandah restaurant outside, the food was good and the service was excellent. Excursions included an Elephant Ride and a breakfast cruise down the Zambezi, plus relaxing pedicures and back massage.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you are travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Ilala lodge hotel. It is a great pleasure to receive wonderful feedback from you and we trust you had a magnificent stay with us here in Victoria Falls.
We hope you return again soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were two couples spending three nights at Ilala Lodge, and we couldn't have asked for a more lovely and charming place to stay.

We thought that the rooms were well-designed and used wood as an attractive feature. All the amenities we needed were provided (they were super-generous with the soaps).
We had a patio with a view of the lush garden and the mist from the Victoria Falls, which is also the view from the hotel terrace - lovely to sit at all day, if you don't feel like doing anything!

The restaurant was very good with an excellent wine list (many Johannesburg restaurants could learn a thing or two from Ilala - and the wine prices are reasonable. Two of us live in the Cape winelands, by the way, and are used to comparing wine prices!).

We looked around, and ate at, the famous Victoria Falls Hotel (The Livingstone Room there is far too pricey for what you get - and the wine prices come as a shock after having eaten at The Palm Restaurant at Ilala).
The history is interesting, granted, but Ilala has so many old prints or reproductions of earlier times and travellers passing through, we were fascinated - and it creates a lovely atmosphere.

Add to all that the staff who were so helpful and friendly and natural - the result was, to us, an unbeatable pace to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay with us here at Ilala Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments we are glad you had a marvelous comfortable stay with us. we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ilala Lodge in Victoria Falls - Zimbabwe - is a very bautiful resort, Clean and ordered. I've been there during honeymoon on december 2012 for 2 night visiting the amazing Victoria Falls, wich are 10 minutes walking from the hotel as you cas ear waters falling down from your room, but it'not noisy, It's a kind of music. The lodge has a wonderful garden with tropical and multi colored flowers and green grass everywhere. There's also a large pool with bar. All the staff and Workers are very gentle and always available for every neccessity you have. The restaurant cucine is international and absolutely good. Food is very well done, full of flavours and with accurate presentation. The wine list is complete of yhe best southafrican wines and spirits. Also very good international breakfast in the morning. Credit cards are also accepted and Internet is for free in the hall for 1/2 hour per day or wi fi fior few money. Visiting Victoria falls Ilala was an amazing experience to suggest to all. Prices according with the quality of place and services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review and give a positive feedback on ilala hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are very excited that you shared and had a wonderful moment and time with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very friendly personnel. Close to the Victoria Falls. We stayed here for three days last September and enjoyed the old pictures and Victorian atmosphere in the hotel. Our room was close to the garden and clean. On the terrace we had a great view on the Falls. We had lovely diner in the restaurant. All in all good service, food and stay here in Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Ilala Lodge hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments from you. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back very soon.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.