We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ilala Lodge to your Saves list
Ilala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 Night Package Special
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As two Scots who were brought up on stories of David Livingston, a trip to Victoria Falls was high on our bucket list and it didn't disappoint. After extensive research we decided that the Ilala Lodge met both our requirements and our budget and after 3 nights at the lodge we can state that it matched these perfectly. From the first moment that we arrived at reception we were treated like honoured guests by all the staff, everyone of whom was polite and courteous.
We had a standard room on the ground floor which opened out onto the gardens. The room was very clean, comfortable and well presented. The food and the service at the bar was superb and of a very high quality.
The hotel was only 10 minutes walk to the falls, although you do have to walk the gauntlet of locals trying to sell you very valuable memories of your trip. There are tourist police who should help keep this annoyance to a minimum but they seemed to spend a lot of time sheltering from the sun.
We took a helicopter flight over the falls, a sunset cuise on the hotel's boat the Ra-ikane and a night drive in the Victoria Falls reserve. We were very lucky to see Black Rhino in the reserve but the highlight of that trip for us after 8 visits to Africa was finally seeing a dung beetle :)
However, the highlight of our trip to Victoria Falls was to see Dr Livingston's wonderful discovery, oh that and a three night stay at the Ilala Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your reviews and comments. We are very happy and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your trip's expectations were met.
we hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    209
    36
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
292
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Travel issues on a recent holiday found us staying, unexpectedly at IIaIa Lodge for a weekend in mid-December. A car (air-conditioned!) and friendly driver arranged by the lodge, met us at Victoria Falls airport and quickly took us to the Lodge - we felt like special guests. And what a great place! Our comfortable rooms (with inter-leading door to our teenage daughter's room) opened out to beautiful lawns, complete with birds and animals incl. warthogs and the odd baboon. Meals were taken on the verandah restaurant outside, the food was good and the service was excellent. Excursions included an Elephant Ride and a breakfast cruise down the Zambezi, plus relaxing pedicures and back massage.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you are travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Ilala lodge hotel. It is a great pleasure to receive wonderful feedback from you and we trust you had a magnificent stay with us here in Victoria Falls.
We hope you return again soon.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were two couples spending three nights at Ilala Lodge, and we couldn't have asked for a more lovely and charming place to stay.

We thought that the rooms were well-designed and used wood as an attractive feature. All the amenities we needed were provided (they were super-generous with the soaps).
We had a patio with a view of the lush garden and the mist from the Victoria Falls, which is also the view from the hotel terrace - lovely to sit at all day, if you don't feel like doing anything!

The restaurant was very good with an excellent wine list (many Johannesburg restaurants could learn a thing or two from Ilala - and the wine prices are reasonable. Two of us live in the Cape winelands, by the way, and are used to comparing wine prices!).

We looked around, and ate at, the famous Victoria Falls Hotel (The Livingstone Room there is far too pricey for what you get - and the wine prices come as a shock after having eaten at The Palm Restaurant at Ilala).
The history is interesting, granted, but Ilala has so many old prints or reproductions of earlier times and travellers passing through, we were fascinated - and it creates a lovely atmosphere.

Add to all that the staff who were so helpful and friendly and natural - the result was, to us, an unbeatable pace to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay with us here at Ilala Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments we are glad you had a marvelous comfortable stay with us. we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ilala Lodge in Victoria Falls - Zimbabwe - is a very bautiful resort, Clean and ordered. I've been there during honeymoon on december 2012 for 2 night visiting the amazing Victoria Falls, wich are 10 minutes walking from the hotel as you cas ear waters falling down from your room, but it'not noisy, It's a kind of music. The lodge has a wonderful garden with tropical and multi colored flowers and green grass everywhere. There's also a large pool with bar. All the staff and Workers are very gentle and always available for every neccessity you have. The restaurant cucine is international and absolutely good. Food is very well done, full of flavours and with accurate presentation. The wine list is complete of yhe best southafrican wines and spirits. Also very good international breakfast in the morning. Credit cards are also accepted and Internet is for free in the hall for 1/2 hour per day or wi fi fior few money. Visiting Victoria falls Ilala was an amazing experience to suggest to all. Prices according with the quality of place and services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review and give a positive feedback on ilala hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are very excited that you shared and had a wonderful moment and time with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very friendly personnel. Close to the Victoria Falls. We stayed here for three days last September and enjoyed the old pictures and Victorian atmosphere in the hotel. Our room was close to the garden and clean. On the terrace we had a great view on the Falls. We had lovely diner in the restaurant. All in all good service, food and stay here in Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Ilala Lodge hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments from you. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back very soon.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ilala is a great lodge I was on my own but would recommend to couples though there maybe better options in Vic falls for families. Good food. Very central location and nice rooms. Priced fairly and not to big to be impersonal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We appreciate comments from our guests. We are very glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you return in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We flew into Victoria falls on a Wednesday and we were notified that there was a wedding on the next night and that there was a mix up as the rooms were booked out for the first two nights of our four night stay at Victoria falls.   This was not the greatest start as we had made reservations. However the staff were very helpful. Particularly Sipho who got us checked into Victoria falls safari lodge instead and also personally drove us there. After two lovely days at Victoria falls lodge we returned to ilala.

The rooms were perfect with a view of the mist from the falls and the whole surrounding was very relaxing. All the amenities were up to good standards.

The staff again were very friendly and also the food at the bar and restaurant was fantastic.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Ilala. We do however apologize for the misunderstanding concerning the wedding. All in all we are happy that you then came and had a wonderful stay with us. We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.