We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Oustanding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilala Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ilala Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Oustanding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our first destination on our 2 week African trip and what a great start! The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the falls. There are many people trying to sell you things or even buy the shirt off your back but there are many tourist police around if you feel uncomfortable.

The hotel itself has an amazing staff that are eager to help you any way possible. My wife and I had to walk to the bank accross the street and one of the staff offered to walk us over himself. They will also plan any activity you want or restaurant reservation without any problems.

The rooms were very clean although some of the bathrooms are a little outdated but very decorative. I recomend the bottom floor because there are wildlife constantly walking outside. We had warthhogs several times and were even woken up by many baboons jumping outside of our door. A guest we talked to mentioned seeing an elephant a few nights before we arrived outside his room.

In the end a great place to stay at and many people we met complained about the hotels in the area. But you have plenty of activities to do while in Victoria Falls so take advantage of as many as you can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Ilala lodge hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments and reviews from you. We are very glad you had a wonderful stay with us here in Victoria falls.
We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    174
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
246
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Centrally located in the town of Victoria Falls. I would rate it as the best hotel on Zimbabwe side purely based on the location, the atmosphere and the dining experience.

The hotel itself does not have much to offer in the way of entertainment, but we booked all our trips through them and we had not one problem. Everything was planned in detail and happened on time. There are more than enough activities in the surrounds to keep you very busy for 4 days - so don't only go and stay for one night. We met far to many overseas tourist that left disappointing because they could not do everything they wanted.

The hotel is very well situated and has lovely views. I were woken up every night by either little antelopes or warthogs eating the grass in front of our room or porcupine eating the pot plants - nature right at your door.The dining area of Ilala Lodge is the best part of this hotel and it puts the other hotels to shame in this regard - the food, the service and the outside patio makes this one of the best dining experiences you can get. We got the dine around voucher which is really good value for money and lets you dine at all the hotels for a set fee.

The rooms are comfortable and clean but the bathrooms is starting to show its age(it is very clean though).

Down side of all this is that for South Africans this is a very expensive place(hotels, food, etc) but in the end it is really worth it. I can not wait till my daughters are old enough to appreciate it, because then we will be back - and we will stay in the Ilala Lodge again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom of the hotel you can walk straight out onto the lawn and into the nature reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for highly recommending Ilala hotel. We are excited that you had a wonderful experience with us making your stay a memorable one. We greatly appreciate your views and comments.
We will be very honored to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I arrived at Ilala Lodge after a 21 day camping trip across Southern Africa, so for me anything but a tent was paradise. That aside, the room was incredibly comfortable with a beautiful terrace outside. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good anf fairly priced. I especially recommend the breakfast.

The Lodge is a short walk from the falls (it's one of the closest hotels that I know of) and they also provide access to activities such as elephant back safaris and Falls Tours should you want.

All in all, an excellent experience and very fairly priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your views and comments and we are glad you had a marvelous experience with us
Hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location, very close to Vic Falls and the Victoria Bridge (in case you want to do bungee jumping or the flying fox). Also very close to the town center where you can access ATM's, pharmacies, restaurants and shops.
I stayed there for two nights and the hotel doesn't have much going on. It's very laid back and ideal for relaxing. They've got a great outdoor terrace with a beautiful garden and a wonderful view of the mist from the falls. The baboons can be a bit of a nuisance or entertainment depending on how you take it. They may steal the food from your plate. I frankly found it funny! But that doesn't happen often.
They hotel also arranges tours and excursions.
The rooms were great. I spotted a warthog and a woodpecker just outside the window. Since you're a bit in the 'wild' you'll have insects in your room. I had a spider and two cockroaches.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and always there to assist.
Definitely worth staying in as it close to everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. Its a pleasure to receive comments from our guests. We are happy you an awesome stay with us and we apologize for the insects and bugs. We do treat them occasionally but unfortunately because of flowers and summer season which is their breading time they get a bit out of hand .
However thank you very much and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very relaxing. Staff were friendly and courteous. Exciting to see baboons, warthog, buffalo and small antelope outside bedroom door.
Location is excellent in relation to Vic Falls township (about 2mins walk).
Th rooms were clean and bed was comfortable.
Hard to describe the atmosphere, but we felt as though we were home
Definitely stay there again on our next trip to Vic Falls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your valuable comments and we are glad you had a memorable stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Located just outside the village at no more than ten minutes from the entrance of the Victoria Falls Rain forest park.
Comfortable lodge in a great setting. Great idea to have the pool and pool bar located in the central part of the lodge. Great to have an appetizer there and then to make a few steps to your dinner table outside.
The Rrooms have all basic accommodation available.
We had to deal with a few cockroaches, however ....
No free WIFI, which is a shame.
Great breakfast setting with excellent buffet and warm extras available.
We had to be constantly on the look-out for stealing baboons. But then, this is part of the charm of Africa..
Good and friendly service.
Settling your account when leaving the lodge may be a problem if you do not carry cash (dollars). The credit card service link is not working in many cases, as we could witness.
Travel agency permanently available in the lodge, which is very convenient in a place like this.
Perfect transfer service to and from the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your views and comments and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you might have felt during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to host you again in the near future as your cases would have been resolved.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel ,situated only a short walk from the falls, provided all we wanted after long journey.The quality of the accommodation and service was first class . Food was also very good with a wide choice , reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to review IIala Lodge. It is a great honor and we appreciate your comments and reviews shared. We are glad you had wonderful experience with us. We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.