We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate boutique hotel, superb food, friendly staff, wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ilala Lodge to your Saves list
Ilala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 Night Package Special
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Intimate boutique hotel, superb food, friendly staff, wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Ilala Lodge is staffed by the most gracious people. Service was consistently good and staff always had a smile on their faces. Every time one returned from a trip one was welcomed back verbally which was great.
The rooms were well appointed and furnished in line with the lodge's railway sleeper theme. They were serviced twice a day. The sleep quality was excellent.
The lodge is so close to the falls. When we opened our curtains at sunrise, the colours were simply spectacular with the rising sun making the "smoke" from the waterfall look like a bush fire. Absolutely amazing. Views from the restaurant/terrace area were wonderful and the roar of the waterfall was apparent all the time.
The food was excellent and of a good variety. Service was good. Alcohol was not exorbitantly priced which we have become accustomed to at other tourist destinations.
The only thing lacking was a table and chairs on our room's balcony. That would have been nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    209
    36
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
292
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Definately the best location in Vic Falls. The hotel is not supersized like its neighbour which allows for personalized service and real attention to detail. Rooms are beautiful and the most comfy beds ever. Only meals we ate at the restaurant was our breakfasts which was good, the only negative to it was that despite my best efforts I could not get toast during our whole stay that was not both burnt and arrived way into my meal (usually just about the time I finished my breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

If you are planning a trip to the falls this is the place to stay - it is walking distance from the falls as well as the town center.

Staff is friendly and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Ilala Lodge Hotel. We are grateful for your comment.
We hope you return soon

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Cold refresher towels on arrival were very welcome after queueing at Zim border control in the hot sun!

Rooms were spacious, air-conditioned and clean, but the best part was that it led out onto a lovely green lawn, where we could see baboons climbing through the fences in the morning (these baboons also know how to steal your breakfast though, so watch out for them while breakfasting!).
Bathroom was clean and had both bath and shower.

The hotel has a lovely pool area, where it was great just to sit and relax in the shade while waiting for the heat of the day to abate. It also has an activities desk, where you could book various activities during your stay, ranging from bungee jumping and white water rafting to riding with elephants or walking with lions.

The breakfast laid out each morning was delicious and had loads of variety (cooked breakfast, pancakes, pastries, cheese, cold meats, fruit, nuts and cereals) - one of our party had a seven course breakfast one day! We were here during high water and you could see the spray from the falls if you had breakfast outside. Beautiful!
Unfortunately, dinner was a bit hit and miss - some dishes were superb while others were merely average.
However, this did not mar my experience on this trip, which this hotel helped make my best trip ever!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is always much appreciated as it helps us strive to meet your expectations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights during my visit to Africa, had an all-inclusive rate.
Room is of adequate size, bathroom very big (I like that). Breakfasts were nice (bit crowded), but dinners were simply great. Ate a lot of weird things (like crocodile - something between fish and chicken, warthogs, impalas, kudus, ...), was very, very pleased with that.
Hotel is just a (long) walking distance from the Falls, but prepare to be harassed by locals if you go on foot. Can absolutely recommend the Lion Walk - worth every penny! Ask in the reception.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

we stayed for 5 days with my wife and son in december 2010. The accommodation is beautiful. The location is excellent with vic falls just a walk away and very close to town and banks. We have nothing to fault Illala Lodge because its one of the beautiful lodges/hotels we have stayed in. The service was good but mostly thanks to Bridget at the lodge & Bridget in South Africa and not forgetting Lucky and the front desk staff. We will definately go back again and we highly recommend anyone who appreciates quality and privacy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Visited Ilala Lodge for 3 nights in March 2011 to celebrate my 50th birthday.
This charming lodge within walking distance of the magnificent Vic Falls is truly a gem, well worth visiting.
The ambience is relaxed with comfortable accommodation, which is well serviced and spotlessly clean.
We took advantage of the Trip Advisor DBB special offer and enjoyed dinner every night on the beautiful vernadah. Our last night was xtra special as elephants wandered into the garden to say hi and leave us with wonderful memories to treasure forever.
All the staff @ Ilala are well trained, always helpful and keen to chat.
Well done Ilala, Zim should be proud of you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Ilala Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed you special birthday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.